Air Combat
Military Ballooning During the Early Civil War
Military Ballooning During the Early Civil War
Paperback      ISBN: 0801864429

Over half a century after its initial publication, F. Stansbury Haydon's well-researched book remains the definitive work on the creation of the United States Balloon Corps during the Civil War. Haydon explores his topic down to the last detail, from the amount of fabric used to manufacture every balloon that saw federal service, to the formula for varnish used to seal the envelopes. He explains the technical operation of mobile gas generators that T. S. C. Lowe designed to inflate balloons in the field and provides the precise cost of each rubber hose used in their construction.

Military Ballooning during the Early Civil War raises large and important questions about technological change within a military bureaucracy. The book begins with an introduction to the history of military ballooning since the wars of the French Revolution, with special attention to discussions of military aeronautics in the United States since the time of the Seminole Wars. Haydon also demonstrates the complicated maneuvering among American balloonists who sought to aid the army before the Battle of Bull Run and shows how the attitudes of various officers toward the balloons changed during the ensuing months of 1861-62.

First published in 1941 as Aeronautics in the Union and Confederate Armies, this volume received compliments in the London Times Literary Supplement for its exploration of "the attitude of soldiers toward innovations." A reviewer in the Military Engineer praised the book both for its extensive scholarship and "as a lesson to all military men of the difficulties and misunderstandings which arise whenever a new means of conducting war is introduced into army circles." This edition includes a new foreword by Tom D. Crouch, senior curator of the Aeronautics Division at the National Air and Space Museum.

The Millionaires' Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power
The Millionaires' Unit
The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power
Paperback      ISBN: 1586484443
The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockefeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags Of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.
Mission Transition: Navigating the Opportunities and Obstacles to Your Post-Military Career
Mission Transition
Navigating the Opportunities and Obstacles to Your Post-Military Career
Hardcover      ISBN: 1400214750

Mission Transition is an essential career-change guide for any transitioning veteran that wants to avoid false starts and make optimal career choices following active duty.

Every year, about a quarter of a million veterans leave the military - most of whom are grossly unprepared for the transition. These servicemembers have developed incredible leadership, problem-solving, and practical skills that are underutilized once they reach the civilian world, a detriment to both themselves and society.

Well-intentioned Transition Assistance Programs and other support structures within the armed forces often leave veterans fending for themselves. And the mission-first culture of the military results in servicemembers focusing on their active duty roles in the year leading up to their separation, leaving them little time to adequately prepare to join the civilian world.

Mission Transition guides military personnel through the entire process of making a successful move into civilian professional life. This book will:

  • Guide you through the process of discovering what path you want to take going forward
  • Teach you the strategies that will make your r sum stand out
  • Provide suggestions to help you prepare for and ace the interview
  • Discuss ways to acclimate to your new organization's culture and pay it forward to other veterans

Each chapter includes advice from other veterans, illustrations of key concepts, summaries, and suggested resources.

Mustang At War
Mustang At War
Hardcover      ISBN: 0385066449
None Braver: U.S. Air Force Pararescuemen in the War on Terrorism
None Braver
U.S. Air Force Pararescuemen in the War on Terrorism
Paperback      ISBN: 0451212959
From award-winning journalist and combat veteran Michael Hirsh comes the thrilling inside story of the Air Force's pararescue operations in Afghanistan.

The first journalist to be embedded with an Air Force combat unit in the War on Terrorism, Hirsh flew from Moody Air Force Base, Georgia, with the 71st Rescue Squadron to their expeditionary headquarters at a secret location in Central Asia. Unparalleled access to the PJs, as well as to the courageous men and women who fly them where they have to go, often under enemy fire, allowed Hirsh to uncover incredible stories of courage.
North American F-107A
North American F-107A
Paperback      ISBN: 0942612981

North American's often-forgotten F-107A remains perhaps the most enigmatic of the famous early Century Series fighters. The enigma stems from the fact that it was an outstanding and extraordinarily effective war-plane and was, perhaps, the best airplane in the world for its particular job at the time of its late 1956 first flight. Mysteriously, it was never to go into production, even in light of its superior capabilities. The F-107A scored several firsts. Among them were a truly unique flight control system, an advanced inlet system, and the incorporation of a semi-submerged store. It was also the last of a long line of North American fighters to be built.

North American F-86f Sabre: The Birth of a Modern Air Force
North American F-86f Sabre
The Birth of a Modern Air Force
Paperback      ISBN: 0764347586

The XP-86F took to the skies for the first time in October 1947. Essentially, it was the result of incorporating swept wings into North American Aviation's design for the NA-140. This is a detailed look at the Sabre and its use by the Spanish Air Force over its lifetime.

Once a Fighter Pilot
Once a Fighter Pilot
Paperback      ISBN: 0071399208
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product.


CLIMB ABOARD A JET FIGHTER FOR THE MOST HAIR-RAISING RIDE OF YOUR LIFE

Once a fighter pilot, always a fighter pilot. The old adage epitomizes Jerry Cook, who spent 28 years at the controls of Air Force jets, including some 400 hours flying F-4 Phantoms on combat missions over Vietnam. Here is an unflinching account of his experiences--alternately poignant and side-splitting, always extraordinarily honest and compelling.

Cook gives you a rare insider's glimpse into the world of flying's elite, describing the rigorous training required to become an Air Force fighter pilot and revealing the true nature of men thought of as swaggering, larger-than-life top guns. You'll meet flesh-and-blood human beings who feel all the fears and misgivings you would expect of people facing death almost daily.

Cook also whisks you along on heart-stopping combat missions. Fly with him in Air Force F-4 Phantoms over enemy territory dodging shrapnel, missiles, and other aircraft.

Along the way, you'll get an eye-opening look at one of the most tumultous eras in U.S. history--as seen through the eyes of men who risked their lives for a cause that threatened to tear a nation apart.

P-61 Black Widow Units of World War 2
P-61 Black Widow Units of World War 2
Paperback      ISBN: 1855327252

The first aircraft to be purposely designed as a radar-equipped nightfigher, Northrop's P-61 Black Widow was heavily influenced by early RAF combat experience with radar-equipped aircraft in the years 1940/41 of World War II (1939-1945). Built essentially around the bulky Radiation Laboratory SCR-720 radar, which was mounted in the aircraft's nose, the P-61 proved to be the largest fighter ever produced for frontline service by the USAAF. Twin-engined and twin-boomed, the Black Widow was armed with a dorsal barbette of four 0.50-in Browning machine guns and two ventrally-mounted 20 mm cannon. This volume features all the frontline users of the mighty P-61, and includes many first-hand accounts from pilots and gunners who saw action in the Pacific, Mediterranean and Western Europe.

The Piasecki H-21 Helicopter: An Illustrated History of the H-21 Helicopter and Its Designer, Frank N. Piasecki
The Piasecki H-21 Helicopter
An Illustrated History of the H-21 Helicopter and Its Designer, Frank N. Piasecki
Paperback      ISBN: 1425137075

The only comprehensive illustrated history of Frank N. Piasecki and his H-21 advanced technology helicopter. The Piasecki H-21 became the first successful tandem-rotor cargo helicopter to enter mass production. Its innovative and unique design became the basis for the development of both the CH-46 and CH-47 helicopters, which remain in service to this day. The book covers the early life of Frank N. Piasecki and the development of his first helicopter, the single-rotor PV-2. Soon the XHRP-1 (Experimental, Helicopter, Transport, Piasecki, Model One) would appear and it was this helicopter which successfully demonstrated the feasibility of the tandem-rotor helicopter design. Successive improvements soon led to the HRP-1 and the more advanced HRP-2 which were flown by the US Marine Corps and US Coast Guard. The US Air Force expressed a need for a rescue helicopter that could operate in the extreme cold environment of the Arctic and issued a request for proposal. Frank Piasecki responded to this request with his H-21 tandem-rotor helicopter design. The Air Force liked what it saw and soon the H-21A "Workhorse" was in production for the US Air Force and the Royal Canadian Air Force. The rapidly expanding US Army Aviation Program saw the H-21 as a solution to meet its requirement for a helicopter capable of carrying an infantry squad. Soon the H-21C, now named "Shawnee" following the Army tradition of naming its helicopters after American Indian Tribes. The H-21 was soon in service with France, Germany, Sweden, Japan, and Burma. The H-21, now know as the Vertol 44, entered civil airline service with New York Airways. Five US Army helicopter companies, flying H-21 helicopters were deployed to Vietnam during 1961-62. These pioneering US Army helicopter companies proved that helicopters were capable of operating successfully combat. This success soon led to the rapid expansion and use of helicopters in Vietnam. The Frank N. Piasecki and his H-21, both long overlooked, are nevertheless true pioneers in the history of rotary-wing flight.