European History, General
Featured Items
The Last Apocalypse: Europe at the Year 10000 A.D.
The Last Apocalypse
Europe at the Year 10000 A.D.
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0385483260

For fans of A Distant Mirror and A World Lit Only by Fire, a rich popular history of the last millennium, when Vikings, Moors, and barbarians battled kings and popes for the soul of Europe.

James Reston, Jr.'s enthralling saga of how the Christian kingdoms converted, conquered, and slaughtered their way to dominance brings life to unforgettable historical characters who embodied the struggle for the soul of Europe. From the righteous fury of the Viking Queen Sigrid the Strong-Minded, who burned unwanted suitors alive, to the brilliant but too-cunning Moor al-Mansur the Illustrious Victor, to the aptly named English King Ethelred the Unready, to the abiding genius of the age, Pope Sylvester II, warrior kings and concubine empresses, maniacal warriors and religious zealots bring this stirring period to life.

As the year 1000 A.D. approached, Europeans feared the world would end. The old order was crumbling, and terrifying, confusing new ideas were gaining hold in the populace. Random and horrible violence seemed to sprout everywhere, without warning and without apparent remedy. And, in fact, when the millennium arrived, the apocalypse did take place; a world did end, and a new world arose from the ruins.

In 950 Ireland, England, and France were helpless against the ravages of the seagoing Vikings; the fierce and strange Hungarian Magyars laid waste to Germany and Italy; the legions of the Moors ruled Spain and threatened the remnants of Charlemagne's vast domain. The papacy was corrupt and decrepit, overshadowed by glorious Byzantium. Yet a mere fifty, years later, the gods of the Vikings were dethroned, the shamans of the Magyars were massacred, the glorious Moorish caliphatedisintegrated, and the sign of the cross held sway from Spain to Russia.

"The Last Apocalypse" is a book rich in historical detail flavored with the nearly magical sensibility of an extraordinary age.

Voices from the Peninsula: Eyewitness Accounts by Soldiers of Wellington's Army, 1808-1814
Voices from the Peninsula
Eyewitness Accounts by Soldiers of Wellington's Army, 1808-1814
Hardcover      ISBN: 1853674591

The Peninsular War was one of the most successful campaigns ever fought by the British Army. Between 1808, when British troops landed in Portugal, and 1814, when Wellington's Army advanced into the south of France, British soldiers were involved in countless battles and sieges against Napoleon's vaunted French veterans. Drawing on rare letters, diaries and memoirs, Ian Fletcher presents a superb insight into the daily lives of British soldiers in this momentous period and evokes such key battles and sieges as Vimiero, Talavera, Badajoz, Salamanca, Vittoria and San Sebastian. Ian Fletcher's skillful compilation of accounts, placed in context by important background detail, make this the story of the Peninsular War in the words of the men who marched, fought and triumphed with Wellington. Although there have been many accounts of soldiering in Wellington's army, Voices from the Peninsula throws new light on the experience of Napoleonic warfare and brings to life what Wellington called 'the finest military machine in existence'.

Hell Riders: The True Story of the Charge of the Light Brigade
Hell Riders
The True Story of the Charge of the Light Brigade
Hardcover      ISBN: 0805077227

On the 150th anniversary of the world's most famous cavalry charge comes a revisionist retelling of the battle based on firsthand accounts from the soldiers who fought there
In October 1854, with the Crimean War just under way and British and French troops pushing the tsar's forces back from the Black Sea, seven hundred intrepid English horsemen charged a mile and a half into the most heavily fortified Russian position. In the seven minutes it took the cavalry to cross this distance, more than five hundred of them were killed. Celebrated in poetry and legend, the charge of the Light Brigade has stood for a century and a half as a pure example of military dash and daring. Until now, historical accounts of this cavalry charge have relied upon politically motivated press reports and diaries kept by the aristocratic British generals who commanded the action.
In "Hell Riders," noted historian and Crimean War expert Terry Brighton looks, for the first time, to the journals recorded by survivors-the soldiers who did the fighting. His riveting firsthand narrative reveals the tragically inept leadership on the part of the British commander in chief, Lord Raglan, whose orders for the charge were poorly communicated and misinterpreted, and an unfathomable indifference on the part of British officers to the men who survived the battle and were left to tend their wounds and bury the dead in the freezing cold. While the charge overran the Russians, it gained nothing and the war continued for another two years. In finally capturing the truth behind the charge of the Light Brigade, Brighton offers a stirring portrait of incredible bravery in the service of a misguided endeavor.

Byzantine Empresses: Women and Power in Byzantium, Ad 527-1204
Byzantine Empresses
Women and Power in Byzantium, Ad 527-1204
Hardcover      ISBN: 0415146887

This text provides a series of biographical portraits of the most significant Byzantine women who ruled or shared the throne between 527 and 1204. It presents and analyzes the available historical data in order to outline what these empresses did, what the sources thought they did and what they wanted to do.

Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea: Why the Greeks Matter
Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea
Why the Greeks Matter
Paperback      ISBN: 0385495544

In Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea, his fourth volume to explore "the hinges of history," Thomas Cahill escorts the reader on another entertaining--and historically unassailable--journey through the landmarks of art and bloodshed that defined Greek culture nearly three millennia ago.

In the city-states of Athens and Sparta and throughout the Greek islands, honors could be won in making love and war, and lives were rife with contradictions. By developing the alphabet, the Greeks empowered the reader, demystified experience, and opened the way for civil discussion and experimentation--yet they kept slaves. The glorious verses of the Iliad recount a conflict in which rage and outrage spur men to action and suggest that their "bellicose society of gleaming metals and rattling weapons" is not so very distant from more recent campaigns of "shock and awe." And, centuries before Zorba, Greece was a land where music, dance, and freely flowing wine were essential to the high life. Granting equal time to the sacred and the profane, Cahill rivets our attention to the legacies of an ancient and enduring worldview.
Barcelona
Barcelona
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0394580273

The author of The Fatal Shore links 1,500 years of Catalan history with the architecture, painting, sculpture, music, and poetry of Barcelona to pay tribute to the intense accomplishments of the Catalunya culture. 50,000 first printing. $50,000 ad/promo. Tour.

Paris 1919: Six Months That Changed the World
Paris 1919
Six Months That Changed the World
Paperback      ISBN: 0375760520
National Bestseller

New York Times Editors' Choice

Winner of the PEN Hessell Tiltman Prize

Winner of the Duff Cooper Prize

Silver Medalist for the Arthur Ross Book Award
of the Council on Foreign Relations

Finalist for the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award

For six months in 1919, after the end of "the war to end all wars," the Big Three--President Woodrow Wilson, British prime minister David Lloyd George, and French premier Georges Clemenceau--met in Paris to shape a lasting peace. In this landmark work of narrative history, Margaret MacMillan gives a dramatic and intimate view of those fateful days, which saw new political entities--Iraq, Yugoslavia, and Palestine, among them--born out of the ruins of bankrupt empires, and the borders of the modern world redrawn.
Mediterranean and the Mediterranean World in the Age of Philip Second
Mediterranean and the Mediterranean World in the Age of Philip Second
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0060905662

Researches the evolution of Mediterranean empires, cultural developments, and political events during the sixteenth century

The Sound and the Story: Npr and the Art of Radio
The Sound and the Story
Npr and the Art of Radio
Hardcover      ISBN: 0395674395

An inside look at a popular radio network analyzes its size in relation to its following, introduces the personalities behind such programs as "Morning Edition" and "All Things Considered," and weighs the effects of television on radio broadcasting

The Last Apocalypse: Europe at the Year 1000 A.D. [With Photograph Inserts]
The Last Apocalypse
Europe at the Year 1000 A.D. [With Photograph Inserts]
Paperback      ISBN: 0385483368

Accomplished historical author James Reston, Jr., presents the enthralling saga of how the Christian kingdoms converted, conquered, and slaughtered their way to dominance in Europe as the year 1000 approached.

Through Reston's brilliant narrative and engaging portraits of the unforgettable historical characters who embodied the struggle for the soul of Europe, students are introduced to a pivotal period in history during which an old order was crumbling, and terrifying, confusing new ideas were gaining hold in the populace. From the righteous fury of the Viking queen Sigrid the Strong-Minded, who burned unwanted suitors alive; to the brilliant but too-cunning Moor, al-Mansur the Illustrious Victor; to the aptly named English king Ethelred the Unready; to the abiding genius of the age, Pope Sylvester II--warrior kings and concubine empresses, maniacal warriors and religious zealots bring this stirring period to life.