Marketing
Featured Items
Punk Marketing: Get Off Your Ass and Join the Revolution
Punk Marketing
Get Off Your Ass and Join the Revolution
Hardcover      ISBN: 0061151106

The marketing revolution is here, so get on the right side of the barricade and become a part of it Let's thank Mr. and Mrs. Consumer and their little Consumerlings who have seized power from the corporations and are now firmly in control.

In Punk Marketing, Laermer and Simmons take an irreverent, penetrating look at the seismic change in the relationship between the people who sell stuff--products, services, entertainment--and those who purchase it. They demonstrate that to survive in business, a revolutionary approach is needed--one they have branded "Punk Marketing"--and it's one we all need to understand, for the traditional divisions among commerce, content, and consumers are continuing to blur ever more rapidly.

Never dull, sometimes controversial, but always a helluva lot of fun, Punk Marketing presents a manifesto for any businessperson needing to engage consumers--or any consumer seeking to understand and employ their newfound power. And here's the good news: It's based on principles that have existed forever. In an age of digital video recorders, "branded" entertainment, cell-phone TV, multiplayer online games, and never-ending social networking, a coherent approach to marketing has never been more vital. With Punk Marketing, there's a built-in plan to equip you with tools to make all this change work out just fine, thanks.

Punk Marketing is the first shot--soon to be heard 'round the world--of a long-awaited and breathless uprising that businesses want, deserve, and desperately need.

Brand Warfare: 10 Rules for Building the Killer Brand : Lessons for New and Old Economy Players
Brand Warfare
10 Rules for Building the Killer Brand : Lessons for New and Old Economy Players
Hardcover      ISBN: 0071362932

Branding has developed into one of the business world's hottest concepts, and for good reason. Branding is cited as the secret ingredient behind the tremendous corporate gains realized in recent years by companies ranging from FedEx, Rolex, Starbuck, Volvo, and most interestingly, John Hancock.

The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable
The Big Moo
Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable
Hardcover      ISBN: 1591841038

Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they're petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they've always done.

In 2003, Seth Godin's Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable--to drive growth by standing out in a world full of brown cows. It struck a huge chord and stayed on the Business-Week bestseller list for nearly two years. You can hear countless brainstorming meetings where people refer to purple cows and say things like, "That's not good enough. We need to create a big moo "

But how do you create a big moo--an insight so astounding that people can't help but remark on it, like digital TV recording (TiVo) or overnight shipping (FedEx), or the world's best vacuum cleaner (Dyson)? Godin worked with thirty-two of the world's smartest thinkers to answer this critical question. And the team--with the likes of Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban, Robyn Waters, Dave Balter, Red Maxwell, and Randall Rothenberg on board--created an incredibly useful book that's fun to read and perfect for groups to share, discuss, and apply.

The Big Moo is a simple book in the tradition of Fish and Don't Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.

Creating Customer Connections
Creating Customer Connections
Paperback      ISBN: 1563431491

This book offers business people a practical guide to improving their customer service functions-whether that entails a bank of representatives or a couple of partners answering their own phones. Jack Burke points out that, as important as customer service is, it's a discipline that's often overlooked by smaller companies. Drawing on more than 20 years of doing business in the customer-contact field, he provides excellent case studies and interviews.

The Drive-In, the Supermarket, and the Transformation of Commercial Space in Los Angeles, 1914-1941
The Drive-In, the Supermarket, and the Transformation of Commercial Space in Los Angeles, 1914-1941
Hardcover      ISBN: 0262122146

Longstreth explores the early development of two kinds of retail space that have become ubiquitous in the United States in the second half of the twentieth century.

Richard Longstreth is one of the few historians to focus on ordinary commercial buildings--buildings usually associated with commercial builders and real estate developers rather than architects and thus generally overlooked by historians of high architecture.

Here Longstreth explores the early development of two kinds of retail space that have become ubiquitous in the United States in the second half of the twentieth century. One, external, is devoted to the circulation and parking of automobiles on retail premises. Longstreth analyzes the origins of this development in the 1910s and 1920s, with the super service station and then the drive-in market. The other type of space, internal, was introduced soon thereafter with the single-story supermarket. The most innovative aspect of the supermarket was how its interior was designed for high-volume turnover of a large selection of goods with a minimum of staff assistance. Longstreth focuses on Los Angeles, the principal center for the development of both kinds of space, during the period from the mid-1910s to the early 1940s. This richly illustrated study integrates architectural, cultural, economic, and urban factors to describe the evolution of retailing and how it has affected the urban landscape.

Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions
Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition
The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions
Paperback      ISBN: 0061353248

A marvelous book... thought provoking and highly entertaining. --Jerome Groopman, New York Times bestselling author of How Doctors Think

"An important book. Full of valuable and entertaining insights that will make an impact on your business, professional, and personal life." -- Jack M Greenberg, Chairman, Western Union Company, Retired Chairman and CEO, McDonald's Corporation

Why do our headaches persist after we take a one-cent aspirin but disappear when we take a fifty-cent aspirin? Why do we splurge on a lavish meal but cut coupons to save twenty-five cents on a can of soup?

When it comes to making decisions in our lives, we think we're making smart, rational choices. But are we? In this newly revised and expanded edition of the groundbreaking New York Times bestseller, Dan Ariely refutes the common assumption that we behave in fundamentally rational ways. From drinking coffee to losing weight, from buying a car to choosing a romantic partner, we consistently overpay, underestimate, and procrastinate. Yet these misguided behaviors are neither random nor senseless. They're systematic and predictable--making us predictably irrational.

Buyology: Truth and Lies about Why We Buy
Buyology
Truth and Lies about Why We Buy
Paperback      ISBN: 0385523890
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - "A fascinating look at how consumers perceive logos, ads, commercials, brands, and products."--Time

How much do we know about why we buy? What truly influences our decisions in today's message-cluttered world? In Buyology, Martin Lindstrom presents the astonishing findings from his groundbreaking three-year, seven-million-dollar neuromarketing study--a cutting-edge experiment that peered inside the brains of 2,000 volunteers from all around the world as they encountered various ads, logos, commercials, brands, and products. His startling results shatter much of what we have long believed about what captures our interest--and drives us to buy. Among the questions he explores:

- Does sex actually sell?
- Does subliminal advertising still surround us?
- Can "cool" brands trigger our mating instincts?
- Can our other senses--smell, touch, and sound--be aroused when we see a product?

Buyology is a fascinating and shocking journey into the mind of today's consumer that will captivate anyone who's been seduced--or turned off--by marketers' relentless attempts to win our loyalty, our money, and our minds.
Clued in: How to Keep Customers Coming Back Again and Again
Clued in
How to Keep Customers Coming Back Again and Again
Paperback      ISBN: 0137071124

Good, bad, or indifferent, every customer has an experience with your company and the products or services you provide. But few businesses really manage that customer experience, so they lose the chance to transform customers into lifetime customers. In this book, Lou Carbone shows exactly how to engineer world-class customer experiences, one clue at a time.

Carbone draws on the latest neuroscientific research to show how customers transform physical and emotional sensations into powerful perceptions of your business... perceptions that crystallize into attitudes that dictate everything from satisfaction to loyalty. And he explains how to assess and audit existing customer experiences, design and implement new ones... and "steward" them over time, to ensure that they remain outstanding, no matter how your customers change.
Cheap: The High Cost of Discount Culture
Cheap
The High Cost of Discount Culture
Paperback      ISBN: 0143117637
A myth-shattering investigation of the true cost of America's passion for finding a better bargain

From the shuttered factories of the Rust Belt to the strip malls of the Sun Belt-and almost everywhere in between-America has been transformed by its relentless fixation on low price. This pervasive yet little- examined obsession with bargains is arguably the most powerful and devastating market force of our time, having fueled an excess of consumerism that blights our land-scapes, escalates personal debt, lowers our standard of living, and even skews of our concept of time.

Spotlighting the peculiar forces that drove Americans away from quality, durability, and craftsmanship and towards quantity, quantity, and more quantity, Ellen Ruppel Shell traces the rise of the bargain through our current big-box profusion to expose the astronomically high cost of cheap.
Case Studies in Merchandising Apparel and Soft Goods
Case Studies in Merchandising Apparel and Soft Goods
Paperback      ISBN: 1563670852

This book asks readers to act as business consultants in a variety of hypothetical work settings, from apparel and soft goods manufacturing to retail sales. Presenting real-life business situations, the cases encourage readers to offer original ideas for problem-solving and troubleshooting. Brief narratives introduce case studies in each chapter. An interdisciplinary approach examines the clothing, textiles and soft goods industries.