3-D and Industrial Design
Featured Items
Designing the New: Charles Rennie Mackintosh and the Glasgow Style
Designing the New
Charles Rennie Mackintosh and the Glasgow Style
Hardcover      ISBN: 3791359185
A celebration of the achievements and transformative power of Charles Rennie Mackintosh's work that has inspired generations of artists and designers.

In the final decades of the 19th century, the Glasgow Style introduced Art Nouveau in Britain and helped transform an industrial city into Scotland's premier cultural capital. The predominant force behind the Glasgow Style was Charles Rennie Mackintosh, an architect and designer who personified the movement's intellectual freedom, sensuality, and spirit of collaboration. This lively and informative book showcases the work of Mackintosh and contextualizes it in relation to a larger circle of designers and craftspeople with which he shared sources, stylistic features, and patrons. Filled with color illustrations, archival materials, and essays, this volume explores every aspect of the Glasgow Style--from beautifully appointed homes and restaurants to everyday works of needlepoint, cups and saucers, stained glass windows, magazine illustrations, and textiles. It traces the birth of the Glasgow Style to The Glasgow School of Art, where Mackintosh met fellow students, including his future wife, who would form an influential circle nicknamed the "Immortals." It also reveals how the rise of the Glasgow Style went hand-in-hand with the founding of the city's Technical Arts School, where students trained in both industrial and artistic crafts, which helped establish a talented and creative workforce. Far-reaching and influential, the Glasgow Style improved nearly every facet of daily life. This book celebrates the immense achievements of Mackintosh and his fellow designers and highlights their impact in the United States and beyond.

Published with American Federation of the Arts
Living 2016/2017
Living 2016/2017
Hardcover      ISBN: 3899391853
"Living" is a must-have for anyone looking to stay on top of the most current trends in the international product design.
Delete: A Design History of Computer Vapourware
Delete
A Design History of Computer Vapourware
Paperback      ISBN: 0857853473

While most historical accounts of the development of computer design focus on specific computers or manufacturers, examining the success stories of hardware and operating systems, Delete: A Design History of Computer Vapourware creates a completely new narrative by investigating the machines that didn't make it.

Fascinating, full-colour images of computer designs, many of them previously unpublished, are accompanied by the hitherto untold stories of their planning and development, the pitfalls and successes in their creation, the market and competition at the time and the reasons why they never finally appeared for sale.

Appealing both to a broad audience and to a more specialist one of designers and computer historians, Delete, with its unique collection of prototypes that never made it to the market, depicts a technological world that might have been.

European Design Since 1985: Shaping the New Century
European Design Since 1985
Shaping the New Century
Paperback      ISBN: 1858944570
Lettering for Planners: A Step-By-Step Guide to Hand Lettering and Modern Calligraphy for Bullet Journals and Beyond
Lettering for Planners
A Step-By-Step Guide to Hand Lettering and Modern Calligraphy for Bullet Journals and Beyond
Paperback      ISBN: 1633539253
#1 Best Seller in Calligraphy ─ An easy guide to modern calligraphy and hand lettering

Fans of Creative Lettering and Beyond and The Complete Book of Lettering will love Lettering for Planners

Calligraphy for your journal aesthetic: Beautiful "bullet journals" are popping up all over Instagram and Pinterest. The joys of decorating the pages with drawings and lettering are many. If you want to start your own bullet journal or if you want to improve your journal aesthetic, this book is for you. This book is an informational workbook that teaches lettering styles to help people organize and beautify everyday life.

Easily learn lettering: Learn from a step-by-step guide to creating a basic hand-lettered alphabet for beginners. Then learn five additional alphabet examples in various styles, explore letter variations and choose your favorites that best fit your style.

Hand lettering workbook: You'll learn how to build words using common word examples like days of the week, months of the year, and other words commonly found in planners. After learning the script styles, you'll learn concepts of composition by teaching how to mix and match styles of lettering in creative ways.

Learn all the components of lettering: You'll also learn some key "don'ts" of lettering to avoid. Then there will be step-by-step instructions on how to draw decorations to embellish lettering including shadows, borders, banners, and flourishes.

Readers will learn:

  • Five lowercase and capital stylistic alphabets
  • How to find their own lettering style
  • What not to do when lettering
  • Lettering composition, shading, and flourishes

Create fabulous, share worthy calligraphy and lettering

Art in Industry: The Silver of Paul Storr
Art in Industry
The Silver of Paul Storr
Paperback      ISBN: 1898565147

The first book on Paul Storr for more than fifty yearsBicentenary of the Battle of Waterloo, so Regency period in the newsPaul Storr (1770-1844), acknowledged to be the greatest silversmith of the Regency period, holds a special place in the history of English silver. The workshops he directed, first for the Royal Goldsmiths Rundell, Bridge & Rundell, and later on his own account, wrought some of the greatest silver of the first half of the nineteenth century. The designs were provided by well-known Regency names such as John Flaxman, William Theed, Edward Hodges Baily, and Thomas Stothard. Storr numbered among his clients not only British royalty and aristocracy, but continental European nobility and prominent Americans. The year 2015 marks the bicentennial of the Battle of Waterloo, which saw Britain emerge as the dominant power in Europe. Military campaigns on land and sea, a more international outlook, newly fashionable foods, changes in table settings, and above all the creation of great wealth for Britain resulted in a revolution in silverware.

Ingenious Mechanisms for Designers and Inventors, 1930-67.
Ingenious Mechanisms for Designers and Inventors, 1930-67.
Hardcover      ISBN: 0831110317

Each of the four volumes of Ingenious Mechanisms is an independent treatise on the subject of mechanisms. The books are similar in size and general character, but the contents are different. The mechanisms described are grouped into chapters according to general types. Together with the complete index, this arrangement by function makes it easy to find the class of movement desired, and enables you to compare mechanisms which are similar in purpose but different in design.

  • The descriptions and illustrations are confined to the important and fundamental elements, so that time is not wasted reading a lot of useless or irrelevant detail.
  • Readers are told plainly and briefly what each mechanism consists of, how it operates, and the features which make it of special interest.
  • The particular mechanisms have been selected because they have stood the test of actual practice.
  • Among the mechanisms described and illustrated by working diagrams are: cam applications and special cam designs; intermittent motions from gears and cams; interlocking devices; valve diagrams; reversing mechanisms of special design; tripping or stop mechanisms; drives of crank type for reciprocating driven members; feeding mechanisms and auxiliary devices; feeding and ejecting mechanisms; and many, many more.
Biennale Interieur 2012
Biennale Interieur 2012
Paperback      ISBN: 9058564347
'The Design Biennial INTERIEUR 2012', is an uncompromising international selection of contemporary design.
The Art of Folding: Creative Forms in Design and Architecture
The Art of Folding
Creative Forms in Design and Architecture
Hardcover      ISBN: 8492810661

A gorgeous book that showcases the multiple possibilities folding techniques offer nowadays. It illustrates how folded materials such as paper, plastic and textiles can be applied to very different areas of creation such as fashion, jewellery, interior design or architecture. This insightful and beautifully illustrated volume reveals how folding presents many intriguing challenges for designers, not to mention end results that will wow those who love innovative design. The Art of Folding goes far beyond the boundaries of origami and folded paper, shedding light on a whole range of possibilities and materials.

The book has ten free templates to cut out.

Charles Trebbi is an urban architect, designer, and artist specialized in the infinite possibilities of folding, cutting and assembling all sorts of materials.


If Product Design Award Yearbook 2011
If Product Design Award Yearbook 2011
Hardcover      ISBN: 3942776014

The iF product design award 2011 yearbook presents the creme de la creme of international product design in two large volumes. The documentation of the 2011 iF Product Design award winners, one of the most important design awards in the world, takes the reader on a journey into the world of well-designed objects. In total. Hundreds of products that have received the iF label for their excellent design are spectacularly presented. The products in the 16 catedories - automobiles, computers, mobile phones, textiles, furniture, bathroom equipment, medical devices, industrial machines, style items, bicycles and many more - are a source of inspiration both for amateurs and professionals. The iF product design award 2011 yearbook is a benchmark in the form of a comprehensive reference book and information archive for manufacturers, designers and distributors in the field of economy, media and politics. The opinions of the jury members that precede each category provide a current picture of the corresponding sector.



2 vol set