World Cuisine
Featured Items
Spice: Flavors of the Eastern Mediterranean
Spice
Flavors of the Eastern Mediterranean
Hardcover      ISBN: 0060792280

On a trip to Turkey as a young woman, chef Ana Sortun fell in love with the food and learned the traditions of Turkish cooking from local women. Inspired beyond measure, Sortun opened her own restaurant in Cambridge, Massachusetts, the award-winning Oleana, where she creates her own interpretations of dishes incorporating the incredible array of delicious spices and herbs used in eastern regions of the Mediterranean.

In this gorgeously photographed book, Sortun shows readers how to use this philosophy of spice to create wonderful dishes in their own homes. She reveals how the artful use of spices and herbs rather than fat and cream is key to the full, rich flavors of Mediterranean cuisine -- and the way it leaves you feeling satisfied afterward. The book is organized by spice, detailing the ways certain spices complement one another and how they flavor other foods and creating in home cooks a kind of sense-memory that allows for a more intuitive use of spice in their own dishes. The more than one hundred tantalizing spice categories and recipes include:

  • Beef Shish Kabobs with Sumac Onions and Parsley Butter
  • Chickpea and Potato Terrine Stuffed with Pine Nuts, Spinach, Onion, and Tahini
  • Crispy Lemon Chicken with Za'atar
  • Golden Gazpacho with Condiments
  • Fried Haloumi Cheese with Pear and Spiced Dates

Absolutely alive with spices and herbs, Ana Sortun's recipes will intrigue and inspire readers everywhere.

--Los Angeles Times
The Adventurous Vegetarian: Around the World in 30 Meals
The Adventurous Vegetarian
Around the World in 30 Meals
Paperback      ISBN: 1780261241

Thirty countries, thirty sumptuous menus offering everything you need to give your friends and family a taste of how vegetarians eat all around the world.

Working with many vegetarian groups, societies, and chefs, Jane Hughes has brought together favorite meals and personal stories from Belgium to China, Cuba to Palestine.

An inspiration for dinner clubs, themed parties, or simply the appetite to try something new, The Adventurous Vegetarian encompasses both traditional and modern--from African stews and Asian curries to veggie/vegan twists on classic "new world" recipes, such as macaroni cheese and blueberry cheesecake (both without the cheese )

All recipes are illustrated with tantalising color photography, do not involve complicated techniques, and suggest alternative ingredients should some be hard to source.

Each country's chapter is introduced with personal stories and insights into what it's like to be vegetarian, from those with a rich history, such as India, to those where to be veggie can sometimes be an uphill, but satisfying, struggle.

Jane Hughes has twenty years' experience of working as food writer, production manager, and publisher. She has worked with The Vegetarian Society since the 1980s and edits their quarterly magazine. A vegetarian since her teens, she has a passion for sharing great food, and believes that fresh, delicious vegetarian and vegan dishes are the perfect way to bring everybody together around the dinner table. Interviews, food and cookery course reviews, features, and recipes can be found at veggiefoodwriter.co.uk.

The Nordic Cookbook
The Nordic Cookbook
Hardcover      ISBN: 0714868728

The Nordic Cookbook offers an unprecedented look at the rich culinary offerings of the Nordic region with 700 recipes collected by the acclaimed Swedish chef Magnus Nilsson featured in the Emmy-Award winning US PBS series The Mind of a Chef and the Netflix docuseries Chef's Table.

The Nordic Cookbook, richly illustrated with the personal photography of internationally acclaimed chef Magnus Nilsson, unravels the mysteries of Nordic ingredients and introduces the region's culinary history and cooking techniques.

Included in this beautiful book are more than 700 authentic recipes Magnus collected while travelling extensively throughout the Nordic countries - Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden - enhanced by atmospheric photographs of its landscapes and people. His beautiful photographs feature in the book alongside images of the finished dishes by Erik Olsson, the photographer behind F viken.

With Magnus as a guide, everyone can prepare classic Nordic dishes and also explore new ones.The Nordic Cookbook introduces readers to the familiar (gravlax, meatballs and lingonberry jam) and the lesser-known aspects of Nordic cuisine (rose-hip soup, pork roasted with prunes, and juniper beer).

Organized by food type, The Nordic Cookbook covers every type of Nordic dish including meat, fish, vegetables, breads, pastries and desserts. These recipes are achievable for home cooks of all abilities and are accompanied by narrative texts on Nordic culinary history, ingredients and techniques including smoking and home preserving. Additional essays explore classic dishes made for special occasions and key seasonal events, such as the Midsummer feast.

The Nordic Cookbook joins Phaidon's national cuisine series, which includes Mexico, India, Thailand, Peru and others, and is the most comprehensive source on home cooking from the Nordic countries.

The BBQ Companion: 180+ Barbeque Recipes from Around the World
The BBQ Companion
180+ Barbeque Recipes from Around the World
Paperback      ISBN: 1742709362

In this ultimate barbecue cookbook, the humble backyard barbecue is a force to be reckoned with.

Ben's recipes offer up everything from juicy meats like Mexican suckling pig and Indian spice-crusted fish, to Caribbean jerked chicken and Singapore chilli crab, barbecued spice-crusted tuna with tahini dressing to succulent vegetarian dishes like artichokes with lemon, honey, thyme and almond or grilled haloumi with lemon and mint - you'll have your friends talking about your barbecue for years.

In this compendium you'll also find the best drinks and desserts to accompany your meal, along with recipes for all the rubs and marinades, breads, salads and vegetables you'll ever need to make your barbecues the best in the neighbourhood.

Whether your pride and joy is a wire rack over an open fire, a sturdy kettle barbecue or a deluxe gas-fired hotplate, The BBQ Companion is full of easy recipes that get the home fires burning.
New German Cooking: Recipes for Classics Revisited
New German Cooking
Recipes for Classics Revisited
Hardcover      ISBN: 1452128065

Bright flavors. Fresh and healthful. These are not words we typically associate with German cuisine. But this beautifully packaged cookbook is not quite traditional. Featuring 100 recipes for familiar food re-envisioned to reflect the way we eat now, German Cooking Now celebrates fresh vegetables, grains, herbs, and spices as obsessively as it does pork, pretzels, and beer. Chefs Jeremy and Jessica Nolen share recipes from their family table, inspired by their travels in Germany. Slow-braised meats, homemade pickles and preserves, hand-cut noodles, and vegetables every which way--the recipes in German Cooking Now are entirely true to their roots, yet utterly unique. More than 40 full-color photographs and creative recipes for every meal occasion will satisfy food lovers far and wide.

Make Your Own Rules Cookbook: More Than 100 Simple, Healthy Recipes Inspired by Family and Friends Around the World
Make Your Own Rules Cookbook
More Than 100 Simple, Healthy Recipes Inspired by Family and Friends Around the World
Hardcover      ISBN: 1401944361

"You know that old saying If you can eat, you can cook? I truly believe that. I also believe that if you can imagine, you can create. That's what making your own rules in the kitchen is about. That's what this book is about. It's about you. It's about the food you eat. It's about what you choose to put in your body on any given day. It's about how easy it is to have a life in the kitchen that doesn't take over your life elsewhere. It's also about having fun. So, are you in or are you out?" In Make Your Own Rules Cookbook, Strala Yoga founder, fashion designer, and entrepreneur Tara Stiles presents more than 100 mouthwatering recipes inspired by her international travels, her Midwestern roots, and her daily life in NYC. Offering up a delightful helping of plant-based meals, juices, smoothies, salads, sides, and desserts, she shares healthy spins on not-sohealthy classics, including such dishes as Spaghetti Uh-Ohs, Fit Elvis, and Twinkie Cake. Tara prides herself on making healthy living easy and effortless for all people, and this cookbook holds the same philosophy. With full-color photos throughout, the Make Your Own Rules Cookbook takes you by the hand and shows you how fun it can be to make your own rules in the kitchen.

Vielfalt Geniessen
Vielfalt Geniessen
German    Hardcover      ISBN: 390175332x

This work presents delicious recipes plus solid information on the biosphere reserve concept.

World Spice at Home: New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes
World Spice at Home
New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1570619077

Fans of Yotam Ottolenghi's Plenty and Jerusalem will be thrilled with the exciting new spice profiles in these 75 recipes. This book brings the world's exotic spices to your home kitchen to breath new life into favorite, familiar, and traditional dishes with wonderful new flavors. Transform a grilled ribeye steak using an Arabic baharat spice blend; add drama to your carrot cake using Kashmiri garam masala. Spices add gratifying dimension to foods, and while the spice blends come from around the world, these recipes are friendly and familiar.

Soup for Syria: Recipes to Celebrate Our Shared Humanity
Soup for Syria
Recipes to Celebrate Our Shared Humanity
Hardcover      ISBN: 1566560896
Marcus Off Duty: The Recipes I Cook at Home
Marcus Off Duty
The Recipes I Cook at Home
Hardcover      ISBN: 0470940581
The award-winning celebrity chef and New York Times best-selling author unwinds at home, sharing 150 relaxed, multicultural dishes For two decades, Marcus Samuelsson has captivated food lovers with his brilliant culinary interpretations. Born in Ethiopia, raised in Sweden, and trained in European kitchens, he is a world citizen turned American success story. Not only was Samuelsson the youngest chef ever to receive three stars from the New York Times, he is also a five-time James Beard Award recipient, a winner of Top Chef Masters, and a judge on Chopped. Chosen by President Obama to cook the first state dinner, he is now a charismatic TV host.

In this book, the chef who former President Bill Clinton says "has reinvigorated and reimagined what it means to be American" serves up the dishes he makes at his Harlem home for his wife and friends. The recipes blend a rainbow of the flavors he experienced in his travels--Ethiopian, Swedish, Mexican, Caribbean, Italian, and Southern soul. His eclectic, casual food includes dill-spiced salmon; coconut-lime curried chicken; mac, cheese, and greens; chocolate pie spiced with Indian garam masala; and for kids, peanut noodles with slaw. This is an inside glimpse into how one of the world's top chefs cooks in his home kitchen for those nearest and dearest to him.