World Cuisine
Featured Items
The Splendid Table's How to Eat Weekends: New Recipes, Stories, and Opinions from Public Radio's AwardWinning Food Show
The Splendid Table's How to Eat Weekends
New Recipes, Stories, and Opinions from Public Radio's AwardWinning Food Show
Hardcover      ISBN: 0307590550
The creators of public radio's The Splendid Table counsel home cooks of any experience level on how to slow down on the weekends and enjoy themselves in the kitchen, providing 100 new recipes that are complemented by stories and historical tidbits. Radio tie-in.
Sweet and Savory Swedish Baking
Sweet and Savory Swedish Baking
Hardcover      ISBN: 1602397988
A book with 160 color photos offers 200 new and traditional Swedish recipes for cookies, cupcakes, crumbles, birthday cakes, hearty loaves, Swedish crisp bread (and the jams to spread on them), and more, and features such treats as Strawberry Flan with Toffee Cream and Almond Cake with Elderflower and Fresh Berries.
Picasso Bon Vivant
Picasso Bon Vivant
Hardcover      ISBN: 0847819698
Food mixed with art for Picasso - he created ceramic plates with fish on them; he drew with wine on cafe table paper; he captured portraits of himself and the people around him in cafe settings; and he and his friends designed special menus and wall art for their favorite gathering places. Picasso, Bon Vivant tells the fascinating stories behind the artist's favorite meals, from the game he cooked as a youth in the Catalan hills, to the specialties of Els Quatre Gats in Barcelona, to the dinners made by his wife Jacqueline in the South of France. Over 50 recipes present the foods that inspired Picasso, while 140 photographs and drawings present his art, and evoke the spirit of his boisterous gatherings and valued friendships with artistic and intellectual luminaries of the twentieth century, including Gertrude Stein, Georges Braque, and Guillaume Apollinaire.
Unichef: Top Chefs Unite in Support of the World's Children
Unichef
Top Chefs Unite in Support of the World's Children
Hardcover      ISBN: 0991341953
Collects international recipes from celebrity chefs accompanied by profiles examining their relationship to food, providing the instructions for such offerings as Swedish pancakes, vegetable parmesan, and eight-treasure rice.
Medieval Cuisine of the Islamic World: A Concise History With 174 Recipes
Medieval Cuisine of the Islamic World
A Concise History With 174 Recipes
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0520247833
Vinegar and sugar, dried fruit, rose water, spices from India and China, sweet wine made from raisins and dates--these are the flavors of the golden age of Arab cuisine. This book, a delightful culinary adventure that is part history and part cookbook, surveys the gastronomical art that developed at the Caliph's sumptuous palaces in ninth-and tenth-century Baghdad, drew inspiration from Persian, Greco-Roman, and Turkish cooking, and rapidly spread across the Mediterranean. In a charming narrative, Lilia Zaouali brings to life Islam's vibrant culinary heritage. The second half of the book gathers an extensive selection of original recipes drawn from medieval culinary sources along with thirty-one contemporary recipes that evoke the flavors of the Middle Ages. Featuring dishes such as Chicken with Walnuts and Pomegranate, Beef with Pistachios, Bazergan Couscous, Lamb Stew with Fresh Apricots, Tuna and Eggplant Purée with Vinegar and Caraway, and Stuffed Dates, the book also discusses topics such as cookware, utensils, aromatic substances, and condiments, making it both an entertaining read and an informative resource for anyone who enjoys the fine art of cooking.
The Locavore's Handbook: The Busy Person's Guide to Eating Local on a Budget
The Locavore's Handbook
The Busy Person's Guide to Eating Local on a Budget
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0762755482
These days, nearly everyone wants to eat green and local, but tight schedules and even tighter budgets can make it seem like an unattainable goal. The Locavore's Handbook: A Busy Person's Guide to Eating Local on a Budget is here to help, as author Leda Meredith guides readers to incorporate locally grown foods into their own meals with practical, down-to-earth advice.
Under the Shade of Olive Trees: Recipes from Jerusalem to Marrakech and Beyond
Under the Shade of Olive Trees
Recipes from Jerusalem to Marrakech and Beyond
Hardcover      ISBN: 1617691089
Dutch writers and cooks Nadia Zerouali and Merijn Tol are in love with the culture and foods of the Mediterranean-Arabian world. They set out on a journey that took them across Morocco and Tunisia, Syria and Lebanon, Sicily and Spain, to experience the rich, exotic flavors of the Middle East. Here, they unpack the secrets to the region’s healthful and intensely flavorful food. They teach the reader about the ingredients?from orange blossom and honey to coriander and argan oil?and how to use them to maximize taste. The region’s food is alive with color, as illustrated by the luscious photographs that accompany the more than 100 recipes. But it is the taste and texture of the foods that will win readers’ hearts: creamy labne, sweet pomegranate, flaky filo pastry, silky hummus. There are whole grains, such as simple summer bulgur salads and vegetable couscous, and tricks for preparing meat to be as flavorful as possible. Easy enough for cooking novices, Under the Shade of Olive Trees will transport readers to a magical, delicious region of the world.
World Spice at Home: New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes
World Spice at Home
New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1570619077
Fans of Yotam Ottolenghi's Plenty and Jerusalem will be thrilled with the exciting new spice profiles in these 75 recipes.This book brings the world's exotic spices to your home kitchen to breath new life into favorite, familiar, and traditional dishes with wonderful new flavors. Transform a grilled ribeye steak using an Arabic baharat spice blend; add drama to your carrot cake using Kashmiri garam masala. Spices add gratifying dimension to foods, and while the spice blends come from around the world, these recipes are friendly and familiar.
Ottolenghi: The Cookbook
Ottolenghi
The Cookbook
Hardcover      ISBN: 160774418x
Available for the first time in an American edition, this debut cookbook, from bestselling authors Yotam Ottoloenghi and Sami Tamimi of Plenty and Jerusalem, features 140 recipes culled from the popular Ottolenghi restaurants and inspired by the diverse culinary traditions of the Mediterranean. Yotam Ottolenghi's four restaurants–each a patisserie, deli, restaurant, and bakery rolled into one– are among London's most popular culinary destinations. Now readers who can't travel to one of the pristine food shops can re-create its famous dishes at home with recipes like Harissa-Marinated Chicken with Red Grapefruit Salad, and Cauliflower and Cumin Fritters with Lime Yogurt. The recipes reflect the authors' upbringings in Jerusalem yet also incorporate culinary traditions from California, Italy, and North Africa, among others. Featuring abundant produce, a full chapter devoted to the "mighty eggplant," and numerous fish and meat dishes, as well as Ottolenghi's famed cakes and breads, Ottolenghi invites readers into a world of inventive flavors and fresh, vibrant cooking.
Favorite Swedish Recipes
Favorite Swedish Recipes
Paperback      ISBN: 0486231569
200 of the best Swedish dishes, from typical smorgasbord items — pickled herring, creamed lobster — to classic main dishes — roast lamb, baked eel — to traditional breads and pastries.