World Cuisine
Featured Items
Under the Shade of Olive Trees: Recipes from Jerusalem to Marrakech and Beyond
Under the Shade of Olive Trees
Recipes from Jerusalem to Marrakech and Beyond
Hardcover      ISBN: 1617691089
Dutch writers and cooks Nadia Zerouali and Merijn Tol are in love with the culture and foods of the Mediterranean-Arabian world. They set out on a journey that took them across Morocco and Tunisia, Syria and Lebanon, Sicily and Spain, to experience the rich, exotic flavors of the Middle East. Here, they unpack the secrets to the region’s healthful and intensely flavorful food. They teach the reader about the ingredients?from orange blossom and honey to coriander and argan oil?and how to use them to maximize taste. The region’s food is alive with color, as illustrated by the luscious photographs that accompany the more than 100 recipes. But it is the taste and texture of the foods that will win readers’ hearts: creamy labne, sweet pomegranate, flaky filo pastry, silky hummus. There are whole grains, such as simple summer bulgur salads and vegetable couscous, and tricks for preparing meat to be as flavorful as possible. Easy enough for cooking novices, Under the Shade of Olive Trees will transport readers to a magical, delicious region of the world.
A Day at Elbulli
A Day at Elbulli
Paperback      ISBN: 0714856746
For the first time, A Day at elBulli: An Insight into the Ideas, Methods and Creativity of Ferran Adria allows unprecedented access to one of the world's most famous, sought-after and mysterious restaurants. Having held three Michelin stars since 1997, and regularly voted 'Best Restaurant in the World' by a panel of 500 industry professionals, elBulli has been at the very forefront of the restaurant scene since Ferran Adria became sole head chef in 1987. Aimed at food enthusiasts as well as industry professionals, the book documents all the activities and processes that make up just one day of service with stunning colour photography of the kitchens, staff, creative workshop, dishes, the restaurant itself and its striking surroundings near the town of Roses, north east of Barcelona. The book starts with daybreak at 6.15 am, then shows visits to the local markets to source ingredients from 7.00 am, Ferran's arrival at the workshop, his morning creative experimentation session, the arrival of the rest of the brigade at 2.3 0 pm to begin the mise-en-place for the evening, the preparations of each guest's menu, the daily tasks of the front of house team, and the arrival of the first guests for dinner from 7.45 pm until the last guests' departure by 2.00 am. The menu is fully explained with detailed and technical recipes that reveal the full extent of the chefs' artistry. Innovative text inserts open the lid on the history of elBulli and Ferran Adria, the creative methods, the secret workshops, the technical processes behind the creation of a dish, the network of sensations and interactions that take place between a restaurant and its guests and the sensory experiences of eating, as well as the formidable reservations procedure and the structure of a meal into four theatrical 'acts'. A Day at elBulli: An Insight into the Ideas, Methods and Creativity of Ferran Adria allows all lovers of good food to experience this spectacular restaurant to the full.
World Spice at Home: New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes
World Spice at Home
New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1570619077
Fans of Yotam Ottolenghi's Plenty and Jerusalem will be thrilled with the exciting new spice profiles in these 75 recipes.This book brings the world's exotic spices to your home kitchen to breath new life into favorite, familiar, and traditional dishes with wonderful new flavors. Transform a grilled ribeye steak using an Arabic baharat spice blend; add drama to your carrot cake using Kashmiri garam masala. Spices add gratifying dimension to foods, and while the spice blends come from around the world, these recipes are friendly and familiar.
The International Meat Book
The International Meat Book
Hardcover      ISBN: 0060742836
A collection of sixty European, Asian, and American recipes for beef, pork, and lamb, collected by a former editor for Food & Wine, offers a wide variety of international options for high-protein, low-carbohydrate cooks and is complemented by lavish, full-color photography. By the author of The International Soup Book.
Unichef: Top Chefs Unite in Support of the World's Children
Unichef
Top Chefs Unite in Support of the World's Children
Hardcover      ISBN: 0991341953
Collects international recipes from celebrity chefs accompanied by profiles examining their relationship to food, providing the instructions for such offerings as Swedish pancakes, vegetable parmesan, and eight-treasure rice.
Mad Hungry Cravings
Mad Hungry Cravings
Hardcover      ISBN: 157965438x
173 Recipes for the Food You Want to Eat Right Now
Ottolenghi: The Cookbook
Ottolenghi
The Cookbook
Hardcover      ISBN: 160774418x
Available for the first time in an American edition, this debut cookbook, from bestselling authors Yotam Ottoloenghi and Sami Tamimi of Plenty and Jerusalem, features 140 recipes culled from the popular Ottolenghi restaurants and inspired by the diverse culinary traditions of the Mediterranean. Yotam Ottolenghi's four restaurants–each a patisserie, deli, restaurant, and bakery rolled into one– are among London's most popular culinary destinations. Now readers who can't travel to one of the pristine food shops can re-create its famous dishes at home with recipes like Harissa-Marinated Chicken with Red Grapefruit Salad, and Cauliflower and Cumin Fritters with Lime Yogurt. The recipes reflect the authors' upbringings in Jerusalem yet also incorporate culinary traditions from California, Italy, and North Africa, among others. Featuring abundant produce, a full chapter devoted to the "mighty eggplant," and numerous fish and meat dishes, as well as Ottolenghi's famed cakes and breads, Ottolenghi invites readers into a world of inventive flavors and fresh, vibrant cooking.
The Dean & Deluca Cookbook
The Dean & Deluca Cookbook
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0679770038
Accompanied by tips on adapting a variety of new and traditional ingredients to the needs of the modern kitchen, a collection of four hundred taste-tempting recipes emphasizes fresh, wholesome, and stylish foods. Simultaneous. 50,000 first printing.
The New Middle Eastern Vegetarian: Modern Recipes from Veggiestan
The New Middle Eastern Vegetarian
Modern Recipes from Veggiestan
Paperback      ISBN: 156656901x
Fiori di Zucca
Fiori di Zucca
Hardcover      ISBN: 1848990855
Blends the history of chef Valentina Harris's family with recipes for eighty-five dishes that have personal meaning for her, in a work that highlights Italian cooking while also drawing inspiration from international cuisines.