Cook Ing Herbs Spices Oils Peppers
Featured Items
Herbs
Herbs
Hardcover      ISBN: 1564584976
Spices of Life: A Cookbook of Simple and Delicious Recipes for Great Health
Spices of Life
A Cookbook of Simple and Delicious Recipes for Great Health
Hardcover      ISBN: 0375411607

In this groundbreaking cookbook, Nina Simonds offers us more than 175 luscious recipes, along with practical tips for a sensible lifestyle, that demonstrate that health-giving foods not only provide pleasure but can make a huge difference in our lives.

With her emphasis on the tonic properties of a wide variety of foods, herbs, and spices, this book also brings us up to date on the latest scientific research. In every recipe-gathered from cultures around the world in which good eating is a way of life-Simonds gives us dishes that are both irresistible and have a positive effect on one's well-being. For example:

-Cardamom, a key digestive, subtly seasons her Steamed Asparagus with Cardamom Butter.

-Cinnamon, which strengthens the heart and alleviates nervous tension, adds spice to her Fragrant Cinnamon Pork with Sweet Potatoes.

-Basil has long been used as a healing salve and in teas. So who wouldn't feel rejuvenated by a delicious bowlful of Sun-Dried Tomato Soup with Fresh Basil?

-Peanuts, which fortify the immune system and lower cholesterol, provide a tasty, crunchy accent in Sichuan Kung Pao Chicken.

-Mint, which has many healing properties, from taming muscle spasms to dissolving gallstones, can be relished in Minty Snap Peas accompanying Pan-Roasted Salmon or in a Pineapple Salsa served with Jerk Pork Cutlets.

-And peaches give us vitamin C, beta carotene, and fiber. So enjoy them in a wonderful Gingery Peach-a-Berry Cobbler.

To help us understand what part these health-restoring foods can play in our lives, Simonds peppers Spices of Life with lively interviews with a variety of experts, including Dr. Jim Duke, who offers anti-aging advice from his Herbal Farmacy; Dr. Andrew Weil, who discusses his latest nutritional findings; and Dr. U. K. Krishna, who explains basic Ayurvedic practices for healthy living. And more.

With its delicious, easy-to-prepare recipes and concise health information, this delightful book opens up a whole new world of tastes for us to enjoy every day and to share with family and friends.

The Big Book of Healthy Cooking Oils: Recipes Using Coconut Oil and Other Unprocessed and Unrefined Oils - Including Avocado, Flaxseed, Walnut & Others--Paleo-Friendly & Gluten-Free
The Big Book of Healthy Cooking Oils
Recipes Using Coconut Oil and Other Unprocessed and Unrefined Oils - Including Avocado, Flaxseed, Walnut & Others--Paleo-Friendly & Gluten-Free
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 162414148x

Wondering the Best Uses For Coconut, Flaxseed or Walnut Oil?

With the rise of delicious and beneficial unprocessed oils such as coconut oil, avocado oil, flaxseed oil and more, unhealthy refined oils are a thing of the past. Still, with so many fresh oils on grocery store shelves, you might be wondering how to choose and use them. That's where The Big Book of Healthy Cooking Oils comes in.

This gluten-free and Paleo-friendly collection of over 85 recipes showcases the different attributes of each oil's distinct flavor, ideal cooking temperature and beneficial nutrients. You'll be able to create delicious and healthy meals, snacks and desserts, such as Brazil Nut Pesto Chicken with Toasted Wild Rice and Coconut (featuring coconut oil), Roasted Peppers, Olives, Lamb and Mixed Greens (featuring almond oil), and Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Scandinavian Beet, Carrot and Apple Slaw (featuring flaxseed oil).

If you want to know how to incorporate healthy unprocessed oils into your daily meals, The Big Book of Healthy Cooking Oils has all of the answers and recipes you need.

Blotto Botany: A Lesson in Healing Cordials and Plant Magic
Blotto Botany
A Lesson in Healing Cordials and Plant Magic
Hardcover      ISBN: 006274061x

From talented herbalist and writer Spencre McGowan comes this book of cordial recipes that use the power of plants to heal (and also make some delicious cocktails).

Blotto Botany is a gorgeous little book of medicinal cordials created by herbalist and witchy healing expert Spencre McGowan. Blotto Botany was originally a zine that swept the indie circuit, and we are now turning it into a full-length book with nods to the original design. Inside, readers and herbalism practitioners will find 40 cordial recipes organized by season, each with their own healing properties. Soothe Yourself Tonic, for instance, soothes the nerves after a hard day with gentle lemon balm and rose petals. Lovers' Lip, by contrast, contains stimulating damiana and elderflower, the perfect recipe for "one, two, or few." Other recipes include:

  • Lilac Wine
  • Douglas Fir Tipsy
  • Oh, Mary (Bloody Mary)
  • Champagne Strawberries
  • Tulsi Me Tulsi
  • Dandelion Swag
  • Blackberry Ginger
  • Carmelite Water
  • Drunk in Love
  • Sommarvatten

Blotto Botany also comes with recipes for medicinal shrubs and syrups, as well as details on plant lore, wild crafting, crystals, and the use of red wine vs. white wine in infusions.

The design and package of Blotto Botany also sets it apart as a truly unique work--each page is a four color collage and some photography, all created by the author, and all the recipes are written in her own handwriting. This is one of the most special packages on the market place--our goal was to capture the look and feel of the bespoke original zine, and in so doing, we have created a cocktail book that whispers of homespun plant magic.

World Spice at Home: New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes
World Spice at Home
New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1570619077
Fans of Yotam Ottolenghi's Plenty and Jerusalem will be thrilled with the exciting new spice profiles in these 75 recipes

World Spice at Home brings the world's exotic spices to your home kitchen to breathe new life into favorite, familiar, and traditional dishes with wonderful new flavors. Transform a grilled ribeye steak using an Arabic baharat spice blend; add drama to your carrot cake using Kashmiri garam masala. Spices add gratifying dimension to foods, and while the spice blends come from around the world, these recipes are friendly and familiar.
The Sriracha Cookbook: 50
The Sriracha Cookbook
50 "rooster Sauce" Recipes That Pack a Punch
Hardcover      ISBN: 1607740036
"This book is a perfect example that Sriracha tastes great on everything "
--David Chang, chef/owner of Momofuku

You've drizzled the addictively spicy chili sauce over your breakfast eggs, noodles, and French fries, but now it's time to take your Sriracha obsession to bold, new heights. Food writer and trained chef Randy Clemens presents 50 palate-expanding recipes that make the most of Sriracha's savory punch, such as: Spicy Ceviche, Honey-Sriracha Glazed Buffalo Wings, Bacon-Sriracha Cornbread, the Ultimate Sriracha Burger, Peach-Sriracha Sorbet, and more.

Named Bon App tit's Ingredient of the Year for 2010, the piquant pure of chili peppers is one of the few kitchen standbys adored by adventurous cooks of all stripes--from star chefs to college freshmen--who appreciate its vibrant, versatile balance of ketchup-like sweetness, garlicky pungency, and just the right amount of spice. Whether you're a die-hard fan or a recent convert to the revered "rooster sauce," you'll love adding heat, depth, and an intriguing Southeast Asian twist to your dishes beyond just a tableside squeeze.
The Kosmic Kitchen Cookbook: Everyday Herbalism and Recipes for Radical Wellness
The Kosmic Kitchen Cookbook
Everyday Herbalism and Recipes for Radical Wellness
Paperback      ISBN: 161180714x
With over 75 nourishing recipes and herbal remedies, this cookbook and seasonal guide to wellness pays homage to the ancient wisdom of the elements.

Turn your kitchen into a healing sanctuary This cookbook will help you identify your unique constitution based on the five elements--earth, water, fire, wind, and ether. Use that insight to design an everyday wellness practice with nourishing meals, healing herbs, and self-care rituals. Tapping into these elements is at the heart of all traditional medicines--Ayurveda, Western Herbalism, and Chinese Medicine--and it is the key to discovering your most vibrant self.

Discover the power of herbalism and the elements to feel balanced and well from season-to-season. With simple spices and healing herbs, you'll feel confident creating remedies that support mental clarity, enhanced digestion, a relaxed nervous system, and promote an overall radiance. From cleansing tonics like Roasted Dandelion Chai or Hibiscus Punch with Schisandra Salt to rejuvenating classics like Kitchari with Golden Ghee or Tumeric Congee, you'll find transformative recipes and uses for adaptogenic herbs to restore and find balance every day.
Vielfalt Geniessen
Vielfalt Geniessen
German    Hardcover      ISBN: 390175332x

This work presents delicious recipes plus solid information on the biosphere reserve concept.

Honey: From Flower to Table
Honey
From Flower to Table
Hardcover      ISBN: 0811832384

The author of The Lavender Garden traces the myth, magic, science, and literature behind honey, documenting its manufacture from flower nectar to table food while chronicling the product's history and symbolism and providing additional recipes and craft suggestions.

Acid Trip: Travels in the World of Vinegar: With Recipes from Leading Chefs, Insights from Top Producers, and Step-By-Step Instructions on How to Make
Acid Trip: Travels in the World of Vinegar
With Recipes from Leading Chefs, Insights from Top Producers, and Step-By-Step Instructions on How to Make
Hardcover      ISBN: 1419724177
Winner of the IACP Cookbook Award for Culinary Travel

In Acid Trip, Michael Harlan Turkell takes readers on a fascinating journey through the world of vinegar. An avid maker of vinegars at home, Turkell traveled throughout North America, France, Italy, Austria, and Japan to learn about vinegar-making practices in places where the art has evolved over centuries. This richly narrated cookbook includes recipes from leading chefs including Daniel Boulud, Barbara Lynch, Michael Anthony, April Bloomfield, Massimo Bottura, Sean Brock, and many others. Dishes range from simple to sophisticated and include Fried Eggs with a Spoonful of Vinegar, Sweet & Sour Peppers, Balsamic Barbecued Ribs, Poulet au Vinaigre, Tomato Tarragon Shrub, and even Vinegar Pie. Turkell also details methods for making your own vinegars with bases as varied as wine, rice, apple cider, and honey. Featuring lush color photographs by the author, Acid Trip is a captivating story of an obsession and an indispensable reference for any food lover who aspires to make and cook with the best ingredients.