Fish and Sea Life
Featured Items
The Reef Aquarium: A Comprehensive Guide to the Identification and Care of Tropical Marine Invertebrates
The Reef Aquarium
A Comprehensive Guide to the Identification and Care of Tropical Marine Invertebrates
Hardcover      ISBN: 1883693128
Reef Life: A Guide to Tropical Marine Life
Reef Life
A Guide to Tropical Marine Life
Paperback      ISBN: 1770851909

A practical, up-to-date, comprehensive guidebook for divers, naturalists and students, featuring more than 1000 color photographs of 800 species of ocean life.

From tide pools to coral reefs and the open ocean beyond lies a world abounding with an assortment of colorful fish and fascinating creatures. The lure of the life that inhabits the ocean's reefs and open water is no secret to scuba enthusiasts and snorkelers who enjoy the opportunity to gaze upon this wonderful world through their dive masks. Reef Life identifies the most-likely encountered underwater life in the tropical marine environment, featuring more than 800 beautiful color photographs that provide the keys to this magnificent world.

A gallery of more than 400 species offers readers an extensive identification guide to the most-likely encountered fishes and features each in detail: name, species, habitat, range and a description particular to the animal covered. With sections on invertebrates and algae, this guide reveals much about the range of animals and plants in the undersea ecosystem. Included is behavioral information on feeding, mimicry, and symbiosis, providing insights into natural survival strategies taking place among animals beneath the ocean surface.

The clear, concise descriptions of the myriad of animals in the tropical oceans are collected in this handy, portable and comprehensive reference for use in the field or at the desk. The surveys of the tropical ocean regions and sea life around the world include:

  • The Caribbean
  • The Hawaiian Islands
  • French Polynesia
  • The Fijian Islands
  • The Philippines and South China Sea
  • Micronesia
  • The Indonesian Archipelago
  • Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands
  • The Great Barrier Reef
  • Western Thailand and Andaman Sea
  • The Maldives and Western Indian Ocean
  • The Red Sea
  • Tropical Eastern Pacific.
By the Shore: Explore the Pacific Northwest Coast Like a Local
By the Shore
Explore the Pacific Northwest Coast Like a Local
Paperback      ISBN: 1632171430
From whale watching to squid jigging to making your own sea salt, this adventure guide to the iconic Pacific Northwest coast has something for vacationers and locals alike

Celebrate the wild beauty of the Northwest Coast as you learn how to catch and cook seasonal seafood, including recipes that can be prepared over a driftwood fire, enjoy beach activities for adults and kids, learn the basics of water sports including kayaking and paddleboarding, and get ideas for outdoor adventure opportunities and travel itineraries from paddle camping to beach hikes to road trips. Also includes wildlife ID guides and seasonal natural events like meteor showers and the solstice and oceanside festivals. The book covers the coastal areas of Oregon (from Astoria to Florence); Washington (including Puget Sound and the Olympic Peninsula); and British Columbia, Canada (including Vancouver Island). Gorgeously illustrated with line drawings and color photographs, this book is a visual treat for the armchair adventurer, as well as a practical guide to take with you on your next outing.
Spying on Whales: The Past, Present, and Future of Earth's Most Awesome Creatures
Spying on Whales
The Past, Present, and Future of Earth's Most Awesome Creatures
Paperback      ISBN: 0735224587
"A palaeontological howdunnit... Spying on Whales] captures the excitement of...seeking answers to deep questions in cetacean science." --Nature

Called "the best of science writing" (Edward O. Wilson) and named a best book by Popular Science, a dive into the secret lives of whales, from their four-legged past to their perilous present.

Whales are among the largest, most intelligent, deepest diving species to have ever lived on our planet. They evolved from land-roaming, dog-sized creatures into animals that move like fish, breathe like us, can grow to 300,000 pounds, live 200 years and travel entire ocean basins. Whales fill us with terror, awe, and affection--yet there is still so much we don't know about them. Why did it take whales over 50 million years to evolve to such big sizes, and how do they eat enough to stay that big? How did their ancestors return from land to the sea--and what can their lives tell us about evolution as a whole? Importantly, in the sweepstakes of human-driven habitat and climate change, will whales survive?

Nick Pyenson's research has given us the answers to some of our biggest questions about whales. He takes us deep inside the Smithsonian's unparalleled fossil collections, to frigid Antarctic waters, and to the arid desert in Chile, where scientists race against time to document the largest fossil whale site ever found. Full of rich storytelling and scientific discovery, Spying on Whales spans the ancient past to an uncertain future--all to better understand the most enigmatic creatures on Earth.
Florida's Fabulous Seashells: And Other Seashore Life
Florida's Fabulous Seashells
And Other Seashore Life
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0911977058
Tuna: A Love Story
Tuna
A Love Story
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0307267156

The author of The Book of Sharks, Imagining Atlantis, and Encyclopedia of the Sea turns his gaze to the tuna--one of the biggest, fastest, and most highly evolved marine animals and the source of some of the world's most popular delicacies--now hovering on the brink of extinction. In recent years, the tuna's place on our palates has come under scrutiny, as we grow increasingly aware of our own health and the health of our planet. Here, Ellis explains how a fish that was once able to thrive has become a commodity, in a book that shows how the natural world and the global economy converge on our plates. The longest migrator of any fish species, an Atlantic northern bluefin can travel from New England to the Mediterranean, then turn around and swim back; in the Pacific, the northern bluefin can make a round-trip journey from California to Japan. The fish can weigh in at 1,500 pounds and, in an instant, pick up speed to fifty-five miles per hour. But today the fish is the target of the insatiable sushi market, particularly in Japan, where an individual piece can go for seventy-five dollars. Ellis introduces us to the high-stakes world of tuna ranches, where large schools of half-grown tuna are caught in floating corrals and held in pens before being fattened, killed, gutted, frozen, and shipped to the Asian market. Once on the brink of bankruptcy, the world's tuna ranches--in Australia, Spain, France, Italy, Greece, Turkey, and North Africa--have become multimillion-dollar enterprises. Experts warn that the fish are dying out and environmentalists lobby for stricter controls, while entire coastal ecosystems are under threat. The extinction of the tuna would mean not onlythe end of several species but dangerous consequences for the earth as a whole. In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod, John Cole's Striper, John Hersey's Blues--and of course, Ellis's own Great White Shark--this book will forever change the way we think about fish and fishing.

Among Whales
Among Whales
Hardcover      ISBN: 0684802104

Documenting his life among whales, a field biologist addresses a wide range of subjects--from the purpose of the brain to peaceful cohabitation among the world's creatures--and offers information and stories about the ocean world

The Breath of a Whale: The Science and Spirit of Pacific Ocean Giants
The Breath of a Whale
The Science and Spirit of Pacific Ocean Giants
Paperback      ISBN: 1632171864
From the author of The Hidden Lives of Owls, an exploration of the elusive lives of whales in the Pacific Ocean, home to orcas, humpbacks, sperm, blue, and gray whales.

Leigh Calvez has spent a dozen years researching, observing, and probing the lives of the giants of the deep. Here, she relates the stories of nature's most remarkable creatures, including the familial orcas in the waters of Washington State and British Columbia; the migratory humpbacks; the ancient, deep-diving blue whales, the largest animals on the planet. The lives of these whales are conveyed through the work of dedicated researchers who have spent decades tracking them along their secretive routes that extend for thousands of miles, gleaning their habits and sounds and distinguishing peculiarities. The author invites the reader onto a small research catamaran maneuvering among 100-foot long blue whales off the coast of California; or to join the task of monitoring patterns of humpback whale movements at the ocean surface: tail throw, flipper slap, fluke up, or blow. To experience whales is breathtaking. To understand their lives deepens our connection with the natural world.
The Wave: In Pursuit of the Rogues, Freaks, and Giants of the Ocean
The Wave
In Pursuit of the Rogues, Freaks, and Giants of the Ocean
Paperback      ISBN: 0767928857

A New York Times Notable Book
A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year

In her astonishing new book Susan Casey captures colossal, ship-swallowing waves, and the surfers and scientists who seek them out.

For legendary surfer Laird Hamilton, hundred foot waves represent the ultimate challenge. As Susan Casey travels the globe, hunting these monsters of the ocean with Hamilton's crew, she witnesses first-hand the life or death stakes, the glory, and the mystery of impossibly mammoth waves. Yet for the scientists who study them, these waves represent something truly scary brewing in the planet's waters. With inexorable verve, The Wave brilliantly portrays human beings confronting nature at its most ferocious.
Resurrection Science: Conservation, De-Extinction and the Precarious Future of Wild Things
Resurrection Science
Conservation, De-Extinction and the Precarious Future of Wild Things
Hardcover      ISBN: 113727929x

**A Library Journal Best Book of 2015 **
**A Christian Science Monitor Top Ten Book of September**

In a world dominated by people and rapid climate change, species large and small are increasingly vulnerable to extinction. In Resurrection Science, journalist M. R. O'Connor explores the extreme measures scientists are taking to try and save them, from captive breeding and genetic management to de-extinction. Paradoxically, the more we intervene to save species, the less wild they often become. In stories of sixteenth-century galleon excavations, panther-tracking in Florida swamps, ancient African rainforests, Neanderthal tool-making, and cryogenic DNA banks, O'Connor investigates the philosophical questions of an age in which we "play god" with earth's biodiversity.

Each chapter in this beautifully written book focuses on a unique species--from the charismatic northern white rhinoceros to the infamous passenger pigeon--and the people entwined in the animals' fates. Incorporating natural history and evolutionary biology with conversations with eminent ethicists, O'Connor's narrative goes to the heart of the human enterprise: What should we preserve of wilderness as we hurtle toward a future in which technology is present in nearly every aspect of our lives? How can we co-exist with species when our existence and their survival appear to be pitted against one another?