Music Business
Featured Items
The Beginners Guide To Computer-Based Music Production
The Beginners Guide To Computer-Based Music Production
Paperback      ISBN: 1575605643
Now there's an easy way to learn how to record tracks on your home computer, create MIDI files, and master your own CDs. This book demystifies the recording process. It provides simple, easy-to-follow instructions on: choosing and setting up computer and audio equipment, MIDI recording and editing, selecting and using microphones, audio recording and editing, effects, EQ, working with virtual instrument and beat-slicing software, mastering, CD production and much more! The book contains 88 diagrams, tables, photos, and screenshots.
How to Be a Hit Songwriter: Polishing and Marketing Your Lyrics and Music
How to Be a Hit Songwriter
Polishing and Marketing Your Lyrics and Music
Paperback      ISBN: 063405001x
You've written what you think is a great melody, what you hope is a strong lyric, and you've cut what sounds to you like a killer track. But how do you know if it's a hit? And what do you do with it if it is? Your only option is How to Be a Hit Songwriter, essential reading for advanced songwriters. Molly-Ann Leikin is the award-winning songwriter/songwriting consultant who helps good songwriters all over the world become hit songwriters. Whether your work just needs a little rewriting, polishing or some strong connections, Leikin will guide you step by step to the top of the charts. In How to Be a Hit Songwriter she offers expert advice and exercises, including "Seven Easy Steps to Writing Hit Lyrics." The book features inside information that can turn your song into a potential hit. What's more, she's interviewed music industry power players who share tips that are essential to all developing artists.
Home Recording Made Easy: Professional Recording on a Demo Budget
Home Recording Made Easy
Professional Recording on a Demo Budget
Paperback      ISBN: 1860743501
Fully updated to explain digital editing, computer maintenance, system enhancement, CD burning and mastering, this book covers the whole range of home recording techniques, from acoustically treating your studio to arriving at a completed master. Illustrated throughout with easy-to-follow diagrams and screen shots, this second edition is an indispensable handbook for every aspiring home-studio owner.
Crank It Up: Live Sound Secrets of the Top Tour Engineers
Crank It Up
Live Sound Secrets of the Top Tour Engineers
Paperback      ISBN: 0879307781
The live concert business is exploding; hundreds of acts are hitting the road every year, and whatever style music they play, they need to sound great. How can you be at the controls for these show? Learn from this book! Meet 72 of the world's finest front-of-house and monitor engineers, and listen as they reveal what gear they use and how, how they make top acts always sound amazing, and what it takes to survive the climb to the big time. Get the inside scoop straight from concert engineers on the road with stars such as Aerosmith, KISS, Billy Joel, Paul McCartney, the Rolling Stones, Bruce Springsteen, U2, the Dixie Chicks, Blondie, Madonna, Norah Jones, Elton John, the Red Hot Chili Peppers and many others!
Sonic Alchemy: Visionary Music Producers and Their Maverick Recordings
Sonic Alchemy
Visionary Music Producers and Their Maverick Recordings
Paperback      ISBN: 0634055607
You may not have heard of them, but you have certainly heard their songs! From the lo-fidelity origins of early pioneers to today's dazzling technocrats, the role of the music producer is as murkily undefined as it is wholly essential. Sonic Alchemy: Visionary Music Producers and Their Maverick Recordings is an exploration of the influence of the often colorful, idiosyncratic and visionary music producers through popular music and the fascinatingly crucial role they have played in shaping the way we hear pop music today. Sonic Alchemy is nothing short of the secret history of the music producer.
Love for Three Oranges: The Glyndebourne Version
Love for Three Oranges
The Glyndebourne Version
Hardcover      ISBN: 0374192863
This account of Corsaro's and Sendak's creation of a new production of Prokofiev's opera details their frustrations and their unique methods of working together

No jacket, as issued.

Sonic Cool: The Life and Death of Rock N Roll
Sonic Cool
The Life and Death of Rock N Roll
Paperback      ISBN: 0634028618
In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine "myth" in the modern world, and it is the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock. Immense, fierce, opinionated and hilarious, Joe Harrington masterfully presents rock as a movement of near-religious proportions, against a backdrop of social factors and important events such as the invention of the guitar, the jukebox, LSD, the 12-inch phonograph record, the '70s recession, the Reagan Revolution, and the Internet. This is the history of rock as it's never been told, as the legend of a massive cultural movement, one that had meaning, but ultimately failed because it sold its soul. Radically egalitarian in its assessments - towering figures such as Lennon, Dylan and Cobain stand along side lesser-known but equally influential artists like the MC5, the Misfits and Joy Division - Sonic Cool is gripping reading for anyone who ever believed in the music. Includes a 16-page black-and-white photo insert. Joe S. Harrington began writing at the age of 10, an act that provoked a rejection slip from Mad magazine. He has written about music for the Boston Globe, Boston Phoenix, New York Press, Seattle Stranger, Lowell Sun, Wired, Reflex, Raygun, High Times, Seconds, Rollerderby and numerous fanzines. He is currently employed as an on-line jazz critic at Amazon, and lives in Portland, Maine. Softcover.
Spillville
Spillville
Paperback      ISBN: 0915943174
Hurdy-Gurdy
Hurdy-Gurdy
Hardcover      ISBN: 0715378880
Papa, Play for Me: The Autobiography of Mickey Katz
Papa, Play for Me
The Autobiography of Mickey Katz
Paperback      ISBN: 0819564338
Mickey Katz (1909-1985), Jewish comedian and musician, is best known for his parodies - "Theme from Moulin Rouge, (Where is My Heart)" became "Where is My Pants," "(How Much is that) Doggie in the Window" became "Pickle in the Window"- incorporating Yiddish words and accents. His very first English-Yiddish recording, "Haim afen Range," was an instant hit and he went on to record ninety singles and ten albums for RCA and Capitol. Father of performer Joel Grey and grandfather of actress Jennifer Grey, Mickey Katz's irreverent blend of Jewish story-telling, vaudeville routines, African-American jazz, Jewish klezmer and popular dance band music have had a lasting impact on American culture. In this rollicking autobiography, first published in 1977 and reissued here with a new introduction, the King of the Borscht Capades talks frankly about politics, music, family, identity and show business.