Rock and Pop, General
Featured Items
Greatest Hits, Level 1: Recordings, Broadway, Movies
Greatest Hits, Level 1
Recordings, Broadway, Movies
Paperback      ISBN: 0739002813
This series answers the often-expressed need for a variety of supplementary material in many different popular styles. What could be more fun for an adult than to play the music that everybody knows and loves? When the books in the Greatest Hits series are assigned in conjunction with the Lesson Books, these appealing pieces reinforce new concepts as they are introduced. In addition, the motivation the music provides could not be better. The emotional satisfaction students receive from mastering each popular song increases their enthusiasm to begin the next one. With the popular music available in the Greatest Hits series (Levels 1 and 2), the use of both books will significantly increase every adult's interest in piano study. Two selections from this book are featured on the Royal Conservatory of Music Popular Selection List (2007 Ed.): The Rainbow Connection * Nadia's Theme.
The Beatles Anthology
The Beatles Anthology
Hardcover      ISBN: 0811826848
Created in cooperation with the surviving Beatles and Yoko Ono, this anthology of personal memorabilia, documents, photographs, and other items from personal archives chronicles the band's Liverpool origins, rise to fame, and breakup.
Early Rock 'N' Roll: Complete Lyrics for 200 Songs
Early Rock 'N' Roll
Complete Lyrics for 200 Songs
Paperback      ISBN: 0634044834
Lyrics to 200 super songs that started the rock revolution, including: All I Have to Do Is Dream * All Shook Up * At the Hop * Baby Love * Barbara Ann * Be-Bop-A-Lula * Big Girls Don't Cry * Blue Suede Shoes * Bo Diddley * Book of Love * Calendar Girl * Chantilly Lace * Charlie Brown * Crying * Dancing in the Street * Do Wah Diddy Diddy * Don't Be Cruel (To a Heart That's True) * Earth Angel * Fun, Fun, Fun * Great Balls of Fire * He's a Rebel * Heatwave (Love Is like a Heatwave) * Hello Mary Lou * Hound Dog * I Walk the Line * It's My Party * Kansas City * The Loco-Motion * My Boyfriend's Back * My Guy * Oh, Pretty Woman * Peggy Sue * Rock and Roll Is Here to Stay * Sixteen Candles * Splish Splash * Stand by Me * Stupid Cupid * Surfin' U.S.A. * Teen Angel * A Teenager in Love * Twist and Shout * Walk like a Man * Where the Boys Are * Why Do Fools Fall in Love * Willie and the Hand Jive * and more.
Guitare Rock Shop 1
Guitare Rock Shop 1
Paperback      ISBN: 0898987318
A complete, stand-alone method for rock guitar which builds musicianship and encourages creativity. It has the same attributes as the core method, and the two correlate. Covers rock and blues riffs, power chords, lead scales, and classic rhythm and lead guitar patterns as played by the greats. In standard notation and tablature. With a play-along recording. Book 1 includes power chords, eighth note rhythms, the blues form, minor pentatonic scales, rhythm riffs, music theory, boogie patterns, and lead guitar riffs and techniques. Includes riffs in the style of Led Zeppelin, ZZ Top®, The Rolling Stones and Eric Clapton.
On the Road With Bob Dylan
On the Road With Bob Dylan
Paperback      ISBN: 1400045967
Featuring a new introduction by renowned author Kinky Friedman, a new edition of the classic study of 1970s rock music chronicles a legendary era in rock history as it describes the Rolling Thunder Revue, the tour that supported Bob Dylan's Desire album, detailing the backstage antics, all-night revels, impromtu jam sessions, personalities, and more. Reprint. 15,000 first printing.
Bowie: Loving the Alien
Bowie
Loving the Alien
Paperback      ISBN: 0306808544
"Based on interviews with family members, colleagues, lovers, and the previously silent William Burroughs, this unsparing yet evenhanded biography guides the reader through the many personas, crises, a"
Electro Shock: Groundbreakers of Synth Music
Electro Shock
Groundbreakers of Synth Music
Paperback      ISBN: 0879305827
Offers interviews with the artists and groups behind electronica music, including Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, Bjork, Kraftwerk, and others, along with background and technical details on the equipment they use.
Sonic Cool: The Life and Death of Rock N Roll
Sonic Cool
The Life and Death of Rock N Roll
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0634028618
In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine "myth" in the modern world, and it is the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock. Immense, fierce, opinionated and hilarious, Joe Harrington masterfully presents rock as a movement of near-religious proportions, against a backdrop of social factors and important events such as the invention of the guitar, the jukebox, LSD, the 12-inch phonograph record, the '70s recession, the Reagan Revolution, and the Internet. This is the history of rock as it's never been told, as the legend of a massive cultural movement, one that had meaning, but ultimately failed because it sold its soul. Radically egalitarian in its assessments - towering figures such as Lennon, Dylan and Cobain stand along side lesser-known but equally influential artists like the MC5, the Misfits and Joy Division - Sonic Cool is gripping reading for anyone who ever believed in the music. Includes a 16-page black-and-white photo insert. Joe S. Harrington began writing at the age of 10, an act that provoked a rejection slip from Mad magazine. He has written about music for the Boston Globe, Boston Phoenix, New York Press, Seattle Stranger, Lowell Sun, Wired, Reflex, Raygun, High Times, Seconds, Rollerderby and numerous fanzines. He is currently employed as an on-line jazz critic at Amazon, and lives in Portland, Maine. Softcover.
The Hornes: An American Family
The Hornes
An American Family
Paperback      ISBN: 1557835640
An inspired, intimate history of musical legend Lena Horne and her family, written by Lena's daughter, Gail Lumet Buckley. More than a loving biography of a true show business legend, Lumet Buckley traces Lena's, as well as her own, roots as the latest in a long family line of America's Black elite.
The Pianist: The Extraordinary True Story of One Man's Survival in Warsaw, 1939-1945
The Pianist
The Extraordinary True Story of One Man's Survival in Warsaw, 1939-1945
Paperback      ISBN: 0312311354
A long-suppressed and moving true testament to the strength of the human spirit and the power of music recounts the World War II experiences of a professional Warsaw pianist who, though losing his family, survives the Holocaust in hiding. Reissue. (A new film, directed by Roman Polanski, winner of the Cannes Film Festival Palme d'Or, starring Adrien Brody) (History)