Children's History
The Untold History of the United States, Volume 1: Young Readers Edition, 1898-1945
The Untold History of the United States, Volume 1
Young Readers Edition, 1898-1945
Paperback      ISBN: 1481421743

The truth about America is revealed in this first of four volumes of the young readers' edition of The Untold History of the United States, from Academy Award-winning director Oliver Stone and Peter Kuznick, adapted by Susan Campbell Bartoletti.

There is history as we know it. And there is history we should have known.

Complete with photos, illustrations, and little-known documents, this first of four volumes covers crucial moments in American history from the late nineteenth century to the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

This is not the kind of history taught in schools or normally presented on television or in popular movies. This riveting young readers' edition challenges prevailing orthodoxies to reveal the dark reality about the rise and fall of the American empire for curious, budding historians who are hungry for the truth. Based on the latest archival findings and recently declassified information, this book will come as a surprise to the vast majority of students and their teachers--and that's precisely why this edition is such a crucial counterpoint to today's history textbooks.

Adapted by Newbery Honor recipient Susan Campbell Bartoletti from the bestselling book and companion to the documentary The Untold History of the United States by Academy Award-winning director Oliver Stone and renowned historian Peter Kuznick, this volume presents young readers with a powerful and provocative look at the past century of American imperialism.
The Untold History of the United States, Volume 2: Young Readers Edition, 1945-1962
The Untold History of the United States, Volume 2
Young Readers Edition, 1945-1962
Hardcover      ISBN: 148142176x
Discover America's secrets in this second of two volumes of the young readers' edition of The Untold History of the United States, from Academy Award-winning director Oliver Stone and Peter Kuznick, adapted by Eric Singer.

There is history as we know it. And there is history we should have known.

Complete with poignant photos and little-known but vitally important stories, this second of two volumes traces how people around the world responded to the United States's rise as a superpower from the end of World War II through an increasingly tense Cold War and, eventually, to the brink of nuclear annihilation during the Cuban Missile Crisis.

This is not the kind of history taught in schools or normally presented on television or in popular movies. This riveting young readers volume challenges prevailing orthodoxies to reveal uncomfortable realities about the US role in heightening Cold War tensions. It also humanizes the experiences of diverse people, at home and abroad, who yearned for a more just, equal, and compassionate world. This volume will come as a breath of fresh air for students, teachers, and budding young historians hungry for different perspectives--which makes it a crucial counterpoint to today's history textbooks.

Adapted by high school and university educator Eric S. Singer from the bestselling book and companion to the documentary The Untold History of the United States by Academy Award-winning director Oliver Stone and renowned historian Peter Kuznick, this volume gives young readers a powerful and provocative look at the US role in the Cold War. It also provides a blueprint for those concerned with shaping a better and more equitable future for people across the world.
V Is for Voting
V Is for Voting
School & Library      ISBN: 1250231256

This playful, though powerful book engages little readers in the tenants of democracy and activism through rhyming text and colorful works of art. --PBS Kids for Parents

An ideal starting point in helping kids to understand elections and voting. --Today.com

V Is for Voting
is an ABC book that introduces progressive families to concepts like social justice and civil rights and reminds readers that every vote counts

A is for active participation.
B is for building a more equal nation.
C is for citizens' rights and our duty.
D is for difference, our strength and our beauty.

An engaging introduction to the tenets of democracy, V Is for Voting is a playful, poetic, and powerful primer about the importance of voting and activism. Featuring Kate Farrell's rhyming text and Caitlin Kuhwald's bold art, plus thoughtful back matter, the book is a gorgeous, and crucial, addition to every young reader's library. It makes the perfect gift for fans of A Is for Activist, Woke Baby, and Feminist Baby.

This ABC-style children's book reinforces every element from A to Z of just how powerful one vote can be. --Romper
The Very First Americans
The Very First Americans
Paperback      ISBN: 0448401681

Long before Columbus landed in America, hundreds of groups of people had already made their homes here. You may have heard of some of them--like the Sioux, Hopi, and Seminole. But where did they live? What did they eat? How did they have fun? And where are they today? From coast to coast, learn all about these very first Americans

Viking Times
Viking Times
Hardcover      ISBN: 0689811985

The Simon & Schuster reference line continues to expand with another book in the If You Were There series, begun in Fall 1996, with Biblical Times and Medieval Times. This title, Viking Times, takes readers back to ancient Scandinavia in a quest to discover what life was like with exciting Norse heroes and heroines. Spreads -- complete with vibrant, full-color art and intriguing text -- cover aspects of Viking life, from spending epic, frozen winters in a longhouse to building the ships that carried warriors to conquests in distant lands. And the back cover folds out into an exciting game board. Readers play the roles of Vikings in their travels across Europe and beyond to raid, trade, or settle in the new lands they discover. A fantastic way to introduce children to an intriguing ancient culture, If You Were There in Viking Times is a strong addition to the ever-growing group of S&S reference books.

The Vikings (english)
The Vikings (english)
Hardcover      ISBN: 8204066430
Vikings in 30 Seconds
Vikings in 30 Seconds
Paperback      ISBN: 1782405313

With fast facts, mini missions, and engaging artwork, Vikings in 30 Seconds is the perfect introduction to one of the world's most fascinating cultures.

Children will discover all about these amazing warriors, including where they came from, their incredible skill as boat builders and seafarers, and how they traded with and settled in distant lands.

Each topic is presented in a concise 30-second summary, supported by a 3-second flash soundbite, and full-color artwork. Extra activities for kids to explore support the topics, encouraging them to explore on their own and discover more.
Vision of Beauty: Candlewick Biographies: The Story of Sarah Breedlove Walker
Vision of Beauty: Candlewick Biographies
The Story of Sarah Breedlove Walker
Paperback      ISBN: 0763660922
This impressive picture book will delight young readers as it gives a sense of this remarkable woman and the times in which she lived. -- School Library Journal (starred review)

An inspiring biography of a woman who rose from a bleak world of poverty and discrimination to unprecedented success as an influential businesswoman and philanthropist. Born December 23, 1867, Sarah Breedlove Walker was the youngest and first freeborn child in her family. As sharecroppers, their lives were hard, but slavery had ended, and the Breedlove family was free. And if you were free, you could dream.
Back matter includes an epilogue, an illustrator's note, sources, and an index.
Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer: The Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement
Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer
The Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement
School & Library      ISBN: 0763665312
A 2016 Caldecott Honor Book
A 2016 Robert F. Sibert Honor Book
A 2016 John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award Winner

Stirring poems and stunning collage illustrations combine to celebrate the life of Fannie Lou Hamer, a champion of equal voting rights.

"I am sick and tired of being sick and tired."

Despite fierce prejudice and abuse, even being beaten to within an inch of her life, Fannie Lou Hamer was a champion of civil rights from the 1950s until her death in 1977. Integral to the Freedom Summer of 1964, Ms. Hamer gave a speech at the Democratic National Convention that, despite President Johnson's interference, aired on national TV news and spurred the nation to support the Freedom Democrats. Featuring vibrant mixed-media art full of intricate detail, Voice of Freedom celebrates Fannie Lou Hamer's life and legacy with a message of hope, determination, and strength.
A Voice of Her Own: Candlewick Biographies: The Story of Phillis Wheatley, Slave Poet
A Voice of Her Own: Candlewick Biographies
The Story of Phillis Wheatley, Slave Poet
Paperback      ISBN: 0763660914
Lasky shows not only the facts of Wheatley's life but also the pain of being an accomplished black woman in a segregated world. -- Booklist

In 1761, a young girl was sold to the Wheatley family in Boston, who named her Phillis after the slave schooner that had carried her. Kidnapped from her home in Africa and shipped to America, she'd had everything taken from her-her family, her name, and her language. But Phillis had a passion to learn. Amid the tumult of the Revolutionary War, Phillis Wheatley became a poet and ultimately had a book of verse published, establishing herself as the first African- American woman poet this country had ever known.
Back matter includes an author's note, an illustrator's note, sources, and an index.