Kids Nf Nature
Featured Items
Natural History Collector: Hunt, Discover, Learn!: Expert Tips on How to Care for and Display Your Collections and Turn Your Room Into a Cabinet of Cu
Natural History Collector: Hunt, Discover, Learn!
Expert Tips on How to Care for and Display Your Collections and Turn Your Room Into a Cabinet of Cu
Paperback      ISBN: 1631593676
Loaded with hands-on, kid-friendly projects, Natural History Collector: Hunt, Discover, Learn will teach budding nature collectors techniques for cleaning, caring for, and displaying discovered treasures.

Coming home from the beach or a walk in the woods with a fine collection of rocks, shells, pine cones, and seed pods is easy. The trick is knowing what to do with them once you get them back to your room. The real fun comes from identifying, preserving, and displaying your treasures

Natural History Collector: Hunt, Discover, Learn is full of hands-on, kid-friendly projects for the budding naturalist. The opening chapter introduces kids to different ways of creating their personal field guides for keeping track of what they see, when and where they see it, and what makes it interesting. They'll move on to techniques for cleaning and caringfor treasures, such as drying flowers, pressing leaves, and desalinizing rocks and shells.

The book's drawings and photographs will help kids discover what to look for when they examine feathers, seeds, and minerals (and recognize the difference between sedimentary, igneous, and metamorphic). Extra projects focus on display; making shadow boxes, creating collectors' cases from egg cartons and candy boxes, labeling, hanging, and mounting collections.
My Mighty Journey: A Waterfall's Story
My Mighty Journey
A Waterfall's Story
Hardcover      ISBN: 1681340089
I am
a powerful
waterfall.
I listen.
I pay attention.
I have a long memory.
You might find it hard to believe,
but I have moved through time.

My Mighty Journey is the story of the only major waterfall on the Mississippi River--and the changes it has witnessed over twelve thousand years. Written from the perspective of the waterfall, the narrative considers the people who lived nearby, the ways they lived, and how the area around the waterfall changed drastically in the past two centuries.
Internationally acclaimed artist Gaylord Schanilec created stunning visual images featuring material collected along the riverbank to show the progression of the waterfall--eventually known as St. Anthony Falls--as it moved fifteen miles upriver from present-day St. Paul to its current location in downtown Minneapolis.
Many are surprised to learn that the falls has not always been locked in place. Perhaps more thought-provoking is that Europeans and their descendants have resided near the falls for less than three percent of the time people have lived here. My Mighty Journey helps readers realize that many of us are newcomers to this region and that there is so much to learn about the waterfall, this land, and our place in it
Icebergs & Glaciers: Revised Edition
Icebergs & Glaciers
Revised Edition
Paperback      ISBN: 0062470388

In this updated and revised edition of Icebergs & Glaciers, award-winning science writer Seymour Simon gives readers an in-depth look at how icebergs and glaciers have shaped our rivers, mountains, and earth, as well as the effect climate change is having on them and our planet. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 6 to 8. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

With fascinating facts and breathtaking full-color photographs, readers will learn all about how these huge masses of ice are formed, how they move, and why they are essential to our planet.

This updated edition includes:

  • author's note

  • stunning full-color photographs

  • glossary
  • index
  • a list of websites and additional reading sources

Supports the Common Core Learning Standards, Next Generation Science Standards and the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) standards.

Flowerpot Farm: A First Gardening Activity Book
Flowerpot Farm
A First Gardening Activity Book
by Unknown
Hardcover      ISBN: 1782400818

Takes young ones through sowing and growing delicious fruit, vegetables and edible flowers on their very own Flowerpot Farm. This book offers a mix of projects that are suitable for gardening spaces of any size, from large gardens to small window ledges.

Dkfindout! Forest
Dkfindout! Forest
by DK
Paperback      ISBN: 1465462325

Explore the flora and fauna from all around the world with this exciting book full of amazing images, fun quizzes, and incredible information.

Discover all types of forests--from rain forests to boreal forests--and where they are found, learn about the different animals that make their homes there, explore how forests change through the seasons, and find out about forest conservation.

Filled with colorful images and quirky facts, DK findout Forest is engaging and educational. Pull out the special cover flaps to see extra information and take a quiz on everything covered in the book.

Learn more about forests--or anything else--at www.dkfindout.com, a free educational website for kids to have fun with information and expand their knowledge.

Series Overview: From the creators of DK findout , the free online resource for kids, comes an exciting book series full of amazing images, incredible quizzes, and cutting-edge information kids need to know. The DK findout series helps kids become experts on their favorite subjects--from dinosaurs to space. Learning doesn't get more fun.

Most of the Better Natural Things in the World
Most of the Better Natural Things in the World
School & Library      ISBN: 1452162824

A tiger carries a dining room chair on her back. But why? Where is she going? With just one word per page, in lush, color-rich landscapes, we learn about the features that make up our world: an archipelago, a dune, an isthmus, a lagoon. Across them all, the tiger roams. An enigmatic investigation of our world's most beautiful places from bestselling author Dave Eggers, beautifully illustrated by debut artist Angel Chang.

- Each page introduces young readers to a different geographic element--from archipelagos to lagoons to gorges
- Universal story of a mother's arduous journey back to her family
- Quirky and enigmatic story with hipster appeal

Fans of Symphony City, Goodbye Summer, Hello Autumn, Curiousitree, and Natural Wonders of the World will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
- Parents and grandparents
- Teachers
- Fans of Dave Eggers or McSweeney's
- Fans of wildlife or animal lovers
- Art book lovers
Trees, Leaves, Flowers and Seeds: A Visual Encyclopedia of the Plant Kingdom
Trees, Leaves, Flowers and Seeds
A Visual Encyclopedia of the Plant Kingdom
by DK
Hardcover      ISBN: 1465482423
A unique guide to the extraordinary world of plants, from the smallest seeds to the tallest trees.

Packed with more than 1,000 incredible images and full of fascinating facts, this beautiful children's book takes you on an exciting adventure through the wonders of the plant kingdom.

Explore the incredible world of plants, from the smallest seeds to the tallest trees. Find out about the weirdest, smelliest, and deadliest flowers. Which plants eat insects? How do cacti store water? What flower looks like a bee? Where is the tallest tree in the world? Trees, Leaves, Flowers & Seeds explores the mysterious world of plants to find the answers to these and many more questions.

Each type of plant - such as a flowering plant, a tree, a grass, or cactus - is examined close-up, with examples shown from all angles and in cross-section. Picture-filled galleries also show the wonderful variety of plants on different themes, from the habitats they grow in to the plants that supply us with our staple foods. But Trees, Leaves, Flowers & Seeds also takes a fun, more sideways look at some truly strange plants, such as trees with fruit like gigantic fingers, orchids that look like a monkey's face, seeds that spin like helicopters, and trees that drip poison.

So open this amazing book and find out more about the world of trees, leaves, flowers, and seeds.
Can You Hear the Trees Talking?: Discovering the Hidden Life of the Forest
Can You Hear the Trees Talking?
Discovering the Hidden Life of the Forest
Hardcover      ISBN: 1771644346

Based on the New York Times bestseller The Hidden Life of Trees, this interactive, illustrated book for ages 8-10 introduces kids to the forest through outdoor activities, quizzes, fun facts, photographs, and more

Discover the secret life of trees with this nature and science book for kids: Can You Hear the Trees Talking? shares the mysteries and magic of the forest with young readers, revealing what trees feel, how they communicate, and the ways trees take care of their families. The author of The Hidden Life of Trees, Peter Wohlleben, tells kids about the forest internet, aphids who keep ants as pets, nature's water filters, and more fascinating things that happen under the canopy.

Featuring simple activities kids can try on their own or with parents, along with quizzes, photographs, and more, Can You Hear the Trees Talking? covers a range of amazing topics including: :

  • How trees talk to each other (hint: through the wood wide web )
  • Why trees are important in the city
  • How trees make us healthy and strong
  • How trees get sick, and how we can help them get better

This engaging and visually stunning book encourages at-home learning and fun as kids discover the wonder of the natural world outside their windows.

"Lush full-color photos and pictures create an immersive experience and the layout facilitates engaged, delighted learning. ...this book may prompt frequent family visits to, and a new appreciation for, neighborhood trees and local forests."
--
Washington Parent

Our Planet: The One Place We All Call Home
Our Planet
The One Place We All Call Home
Hardcover      ISBN: 0008378312

The official children's book to the Netflix original documentary series, Our Planet, with a foreword by Sir David Attenborough.

This glorious visual celebration of the natural world combines extraordinary photography from the series with stunning illustrations from acclaimed artist, Richard Jones. Lose yourself in icy landscapes, dense jungles and endless oceans. Learn how our fascinating habitats, and the plants and creatures living there, interconnect to create the one place we all call home - Our Planet.

This beautifully written and informative book for children has an uplifting message of hope that will strike a chord with all the family. The perfect gift for families the world over to treasure forever.

'You will be among the next characters who can, if they wish, tell the most extraordinary story of all - how human beings in the twenty-first century came to their senses and started to protect Planet Earth' Sir David Attenborough

Seed to Sunflower
Seed to Sunflower
Paperback      ISBN: 1682970310

How do sunflowers begin? What do sunflowers need to grow? When do the flowers open?

Packed with fascinating facts about life cycles, amazing photographs of every stage, and labelled diagrams to explain growth and development.

Discover the amazing stages of different life cycles and learn all about your favorite species with this stunning series. From plants and birds to garden animals, readers will soon learn how different species are born, grow up, and reproduce. Each book has amazing photographs, easy-to-understand text, and discussion points for further learning.