Children's History / U. S. / 20th Century
Rocket to the Moon!
Rocket to the Moon!
Hardcover      ISBN: 1419734040

On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong took "one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind" when the Apollo 11 landed on the moon. But it wasn't just one man who got us to the moon. Rocket to the Moon explores the people and technology that made the moon landing possible. Instead of examining one person's life, it focuses on the moon landing itself, showing the events leading up to it and how it changed the world. The book takes readers through the history of rocket building: from ancient Chinese rockets, to "bombs bursting in air" during the War of 1812, to Russia's Sputnik program, to the moon landing. Beautifully illustrated and well-researched, this book is the perfect resource for curious readers and tomorrow's scientists. It includes a timeline of space travel, a bibliography, and an index.

The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation): The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics
The Boys in the Boat (Young Readers Adaptation)
The True Story of an American Team's Epic Journey to Win Gold at the 1936 Olympics
Paperback      ISBN: 0147516854
The #1 New York Times bestseller freshly adapted for the next generation, now with brand new content including an author Q&A and never-before-seen photographs

Inspiration for the PBS American Experience Documentary 'The Boys of '36'

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Great Depression comes the astonishing tale of nine working-class boys from the American West who at the 1936 Olympics showed the world what true grit really meant. With rowers who were the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew was never expected to defeat the elite East Coast teams, yet they did, going on to shock the world by challenging the German boat rowing for Adolf Hitler.

At the center of the tale is Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, whose personal quest captures the spirit of his generation--the generation that would prove in the coming years that the Nazis could not prevail over American determination and optimism.

This deeply emotional yet easily accessible young readers adaptation of the award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller features never-before-seen photographs, highly visual back matter, and an exclusive new introduction.
Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II
Code Girls
The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II
Paperback      ISBN: 0316353779
The bestselling, long-secret, and page-turning story of the young American women who cracked codes during World War II, perfectly adapted for young readers.

More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation's capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking.
Through their work, the "code girls" helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story--until now.
Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital tale of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.
The Edmund Fitzgerald: Song of
The Edmund Fitzgerald
Song of
School & Library      ISBN: 1585361267

Leaving port from Superior, Wisconsin on a sunny November day, the crew of the Edmund Fitzgerald is looking forward to a routine crossing of deep Lake Superior. Heading for a port in Cleveland, the giant transport ship is loaded with ore that will be used to build cars. But disaster is building in the wind as a gale storm begins to track after the great ship. This suspenseful retelling of the last hours of the doomed vessel pays homage to all sailors who traverse deep waters, in fair skies and foul. Atmospheric paintings from award-winning artist Gijsbert van Frankenhuyzen bring the story to life.The author of the best-selling books The Legend of Sleeping Bear and The Legend of Mackinac Island, Kathy-jo Wargin aims to help young readers notice the most intricate details of a story by adding the nuances that create magic and wonder in a good tale. She lives in the woods of northern Michigan with her family. The Edmund Fitzgerald is her 10th book with Sleeping Bear Press. Born in the Netherlands, Gijsbert van Frankenhuyzen, or Nick as he prefers to be known, studied at the Royal Academy of Arts in Holland. He immigrated to the United States in 1976. The Edmund Fitzgerald is Nick's 13th children's book with Sleeping Bear Press. The Legend of Sleeping Bear was Nick's first book and has sold more than 200,000 copies.

Freedom Walkers: The Story of the Montgomery Bus Boycott
Freedom Walkers
The Story of the Montgomery Bus Boycott
Paperback      ISBN: 0823421953
A riveting account of the civil rights boycott that changed history by the foremost author of history for young people.

Now a classic, Freedman's book tells the dramatic stories of the heroes who stood up against segregation and Jim Crow laws in 1950s Alabama. A master of succinct historical narratives, Freeman explains the contributions of and sacrifices made by Rosa Parks and Claudette Colvin, who refused give up their seats, to Jo Ann Robinson, who began the boycott, to Martin Luther King, Jr., whose leadership was instrumental is carrying it through, and others.

Full of eye-witness reports, iconic photographs from the era, and crucial primary sources, this work brings the narratives alive for contemporary readers. A map, source notes, a bibliography, and other backmatter make is a valuable classroom resource.

Recipient of an Orbis Pictus Honor, the Flora Stieglitz Straus Award, and the Jane Addams Peace Association Honor Book Award, Freedom Walkers received five starred reviews.
Stonewall Riots: Coming Out in the Streets
Stonewall Riots
Coming Out in the Streets
Hardcover      ISBN: 1419737201

This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of spontaneous, often violent demonstrations by members of the gay (LGBTQ+) community in reaction to a police raid that took place in the early morning hours of June 28, 1969, at the Stonewall Inn in the Greenwich Village neighborhood of Manhattan, New York City. The Riots are attributed as the spark that ignited the LGBTQ+ movement. The author describes American gay history leading up to the Riots, the Riots themselves, and the aftermath, and includes her interviews of people involved or witnesses, including a woman who was ten at the time. Profusely illustrated, the book includes contemporary photos, newspaper clippings, and other period objects. A timely and necessary read, The Stonewall Riots helps readers to understand the history and legacy of the LGBTQ+ movement.

The Cart That Carried Martin
The Cart That Carried Martin
School & Library      ISBN: 1580893872

The strength and spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. permeates this picture book about the funeral of Dr. King in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1968. Quiet, yet affecting, THE CART THAT CARRIED MARTIN is a unique tribute to the life of a man known world-wide for his outstanding efforts as a leader of the African-American Civil Rights Movement.

Eve Bunting focuses on the funeral procession of Dr. King, beginning with the two men who found the cart to carry him through the streets of Atlanta. After painting it green, two mules named Belle and Ada are hitched to the cart where Dr. King's coffin is placed. Tens of thousands of mourners gather as the cart makes its way to Ebenezer Baptist Church, and then past the Georgia state capitol to Morehouse College. All the while, crowds of people pay their respects by singing songs of hope.

Bunting's thoughtful, well-chosen words, coupled with Don Tate's soft colors provide the reader with a sense of hope and reverence, rather than the grief and despair one might expect.

Back matter includes a brief introduction to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s work, assassination, and funeral, accompanied by a full-color historical photograph of the real cart, drawn by Belle and Ada.
Draw What You See: The Life and Art of Benny Andrews
Draw What You See
The Life and Art of Benny Andrews
School & Library      ISBN: 0544104870

Benny Andrews loved to draw. He drew his nine brothers and sisters, and his parents. He drew the red earth of the fields where they all worked, the hot sun that beat down, and the rows and rows of crops. As Benny hauled buckets of water, he made pictures in his head. And he dreamed of a better life--something beyond the segregation, the backbreaking labor, and the limited opportunities of his world. Benny's dreams took him far from the rural Georgia of his childhood. He became one of the most important African American painters of the twentieth century, and he opened doors for other artists of color. His story will inspire budding young artists to work hard and follow their dreams.

The Attack on Pearl Harbor
The Attack on Pearl Harbor
Paperback      ISBN: 0531186857

- One of few series that covers a broad range of major events throughout U.S. history
- Primary source quotes are included
- Includes expanded subject coverage, subheadings, informative sidebars, glossary terms, timelines, and additional resources, as well as an attractive new design and dramatic photographs
- Core-curriculum subjects

Amelia Earhart: Flying Solo
Amelia Earhart
Flying Solo
Paperback      ISBN: 0760354383

One of the most famous aviators of all time, Amelia Earhart took the golden age of flying by storm Taking her first flight lesson in 1920, Earhart would go on to set the world altitude record, be the first woman to fly across the Atlantic Ocean alone, and many more feats. Who knows what she could have accomplished if not for her mysterious disappearance while attempting to fly around the entire world in 1937.

This incredible history of Amelia Earhart is written especially for young adult readers. It is loaded with full color illustrations, comprehensive timelines, fascinating sidebars, and info on key figures in Earhart's story. Perfect for any kid interested in flying, or strong, important women in history