Children's Fiction / General
Tomorrow I'll Be Brave
Tomorrow I'll Be Brave
Hardcover      ISBN: 1524787027
Journey through the beautifully hand-lettered messages by award-winning illustrator Jessica Hische. This uplifting and positive book - now a New York Times best seller - encourages kids to promise that tomorrow, they will try new things, do their best, and be brave.

Tomorrow I'll be all the things I tried to be today:
Adventurous, Strong, Smart, Curious, Creative, Confident, & Brave.
And if I wasn't one of them, I know that it's OK.

Journey through a world filled with positive and beautifully hand-lettered words of widsom, inspiration, and motivation. As this book reminds readers, tomorrow is another day, full of endless opportunities--all you have to do is decide to make the day yours.

"Jessica Hische, one of the great designers and typographers, now shows herself equally adept at creating gorgeous and immersive images for young readers. This is a joyous burst of color."--Dave Eggers, author of Her Right Foot
Judy Moody Goes to College
Judy Moody Goes to College
Paperback      ISBN: 0763648558
It's her funniest adventure yet A few sessions with a college-age math tutor turn Judy into a jargon-spouting polygon princess. Crucial

Judy Moody is in a mood. Not a good mood. And definitely NOT a math mood. The substitute teacher in Class 3T thinks Judy's math skills need improving. So Judy has to start meeting with a math tutor. Does this mean flash cards? Does this mean baby games? Does this mean school on weekends? But when Judy meets her tutor -- a sick-awesome college student with an uber-funky sense of style -- and gets a glimpse of college life, Judy's bad math-i-tude turns into a radical glad-i-tude. Pretty soon, Judy's not only acing her math class; she's owning it. Time to say good-bye to Judy Moody, old skool third-grader, and say hello to Miss College Small-tall upside-down backward non-fat capp with extra whip, anyone?
Julián Is a Mermaid
Julián Is a Mermaid
School & Library      ISBN: 0763690457
Winner of a 2019 Stonewall Book Award

In an exuberant picture book, a glimpse of costumed mermaids leaves one boy flooded with wonder and ready to dazzle the world.

While riding the subway home from the pool with his abuela one day, Juli n notices three women spectacularly dressed up. Their hair billows in brilliant hues, their dresses end in fishtails, and their joy fills the train car. When Juli n gets home, daydreaming of the magic he's seen, all he can think about is dressing up just like the ladies in his own fabulous mermaid costume: a butter-yellow curtain for his tail, the fronds of a potted fern for his headdress. But what will Abuela think about the mess he makes -- and even more importantly, what will she think about how Juli n sees himself? Mesmerizing and full of heart, Jessica Love's author-illustrator debut is a jubilant picture of self-love and a radiant celebration of individuality.
Pass It on
Pass It on
School & Library      ISBN: 0399547754
Here's a fun idea: When you laugh or smile--pass it on A story about giving, sharing, and joy.

When you see something terrific, smile a smile and pass it on If you chance upon a chuckle, hee hee hee and pass it on. Should you spot a thing of wonder, jump for joy and pass it on

So begins Sophy Henn's ode to the excitement of sharing happiness with others. With a refrain that begs to be uttered before every turn of the page, children will eagerly read alongside their parents as they discover how wonderful--and fun --it is to share the good things in life. After all, if you spread happiness to others, even on a gray, rainy day, when you least expect it, like a bolt out of the blue, a smile or a chuckle might be passed right back to you This heartwarming, upbeat book is the perfect way to bring a warm ray of sunshine into every reader's life.

Praise for Pass It On

"A bright message of the power of positive emotion is conveyed in this lovely title . . . A wonderful storytime offering that will inspire little ones to connect gleefully with those around them. Be sure to read this book aloud and pass it on."--School Library Journal

"The adorable cast of multicultural kids get up to all kinds of fun . . . This celebratory, feel-good story sends a sweet reminder to young audiences about the importance of finding joy in small things and sharing it with others."--Booklist
Song for a Whale
Song for a Whale
Paperback      ISBN: 1524770264
In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the Schneider Family Book Award-winning story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.

From fixing the class computer to repairing old radios, twelve-year-old Iris is a tech genius. But she's the only deaf person in her school, so people often treat her like she's not very smart. If you've ever felt like no one was listening to you, then you know how hard that can be.

When she learns about Blue 55, a real whale who is unable to speak to other whales, Iris understands how he must feel. Then she has an idea: she should invent a way to "sing" to him But he's three thousand miles away. How will she play her song for him?

Full of heart and poignancy, this affecting story by sign language interpreter Lynne Kelly shows how a little determination can make big waves.

"Fascinating, brave, and tender...a triumph." --Katherine Applegate, Newbery Award-winning author of The One and Only Ivan
The Three Questions
The Three Questions
1st Edition    School & Library      ISBN: 0439199964

A perfect gift for graduation--or any occasion--by a Caldecott Honor Book Artist

"Quietly life changing..."
--The New York Times

Young Nikolai is searching for the answers to his three questions:
When is the best time to do things?
Who is the most important one?
What is the right thing to do?
But it is his own response to a stranger's cry for help that leads him directly to the answers he is looking for.
This profound and inspiring book is about compassion and being engaged in each moment.
With his stunning watercolors -- and text that resounds with universal truths, Jon J Muth has transformed a story by Leo Tolstoy into a timeless fable for readers of every age
Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #9: Amelia Bedelia on the Job
Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #9
Amelia Bedelia on the Job
Paperback      ISBN: 0062334123

In the ninth chapter book in the New York Times-bestselling series, Amelia Bedelia and her friends at school explore different jobs and careers and think about what they want to be when they grow up Amelia Bedelia is especially curious about her own father's line of work. If he spends the day pitching to a client, does that mean he plays a lot of baseball?

The Amelia Bedelia chapter books star Amelia Bedelia as a young girl and feature funny family and friendship stories just right for fans of Judy Moody and Ivy + Bean. The Amelia Bedelia books have sold more than 35 million copies since we first met the iconic character in 1963

--Kirkus Reviews
The Giving Tree
The Giving Tree
Hardcover      ISBN: 0060256656

The Giving Tree, a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein, has been a classic favorite for generations.

Since it was first published fifty years ago, Shel Silverstein's poignant picture book for readers of all ages has offered a touching interpretation of the gift of giving and a serene acceptance of another's capacity to love in return.

Shel Silverstein's incomparable career as a bestselling children's book author and illustrator began with Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back. He is also the creator of picture books including A Giraffe and a Half, Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros?, The Missing Piece, The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, and the perennial favorite The Giving Tree, and of classic poetry collections such as Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, Every Thing On It, Don't Bump the Glump , and Runny Babbit.

And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein

Bowwow Powwow
Bowwow Powwow
Hardcover      ISBN: 1681340771

Windy Girl is blessed with a vivid imagination. From Uncle she gathers stories of long-ago traditions, about dances and sharing and gratitude. Windy can tell such stories herself-about her dog, Itchy Boy, and the way he dances to request a treat and how he wriggles with joy in response to, well, just about everything.

When Uncle and Windy Girl and Itchy Boy attend a powwow, Windy watches the dancers in their jingle dresses and listens to the singers. She eats tasty food and joins family and friends around the campfire. Later, Windy falls asleep under the stars. Now Uncle's stories inspire other visions in her head: a bowwow powwow, where all the dancers are dogs. In these magical scenes, Windy sees veterans in a Grand Entry, and a visiting drum group, and traditional dancers, grass dancers, and jingle-dress dancers-all with telltale ears and paws and tails. All celebrating in song and dance. All attesting to the wonder of the powwow.

This playful story by Brenda Child is accompanied by a companion retelling in Ojibwe by Gordon Jourdain and brought to life by Jonathan Thunder's vibrant dreamscapes. The result is a powwow tale for the ages.

Max Makes a Million
Max Makes a Million
Hardcover      ISBN: 1681371707

Max's dream is to live in Paris and be a poet. But do you think it is easy for a dog to pack a small brown suitcase, put on a beret, and hop on a plane? Ha No one will buy Max's poems, so without money he must stay put. But living in New York City isn't so bad. Where else could he have friends like Bruno, with his invisible paintings, or Marcello, who builds upside down houses? And where else could he drop in at Baby Henry's Candy Shop? It's all possible in New York, a jumping jazzy city. And for Max, it's a dog's life that only Maira Kalman could invent.