Children's Fiction / General
Sulwe
Sulwe
School & Library      ISBN: 1534425365
A New York Times bestseller
Recipient of a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award
Recipient of an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Children's Literary Work

From Academy Award-winning actress Lupita Nyong'o comes a powerful, moving picture book about colorism, self-esteem, and learning that true beauty comes from within.

Sulwe has skin the color of midnight. She is darker than everyone in her family. She is darker than anyone in her school. Sulwe just wants to be beautiful and bright, like her mother and sister. Then a magical journey in the night sky opens her eyes and changes everything.

In this stunning debut picture book, actress Lupita Nyong'o creates a whimsical and heartwarming story to inspire children to see their own unique beauty.
Bowwow Powwow
Bowwow Powwow
Hardcover      ISBN: 1681340771

Windy Girl is blessed with a vivid imagination. From Uncle she gathers stories of long-ago traditions, about dances and sharing and gratitude. Windy can tell such stories herself-about her dog, Itchy Boy, and the way he dances to request a treat and how he wriggles with joy in response to, well, just about everything.

When Uncle and Windy Girl and Itchy Boy attend a powwow, Windy watches the dancers in their jingle dresses and listens to the singers. She eats tasty food and joins family and friends around the campfire. Later, Windy falls asleep under the stars. Now Uncle's stories inspire other visions in her head: a bowwow powwow, where all the dancers are dogs. In these magical scenes, Windy sees veterans in a Grand Entry, and a visiting drum group, and traditional dancers, grass dancers, and jingle-dress dancers-all with telltale ears and paws and tails. All celebrating in song and dance. All attesting to the wonder of the powwow.

This playful story by Brenda Child is accompanied by a companion retelling in Ojibwe by Gordon Jourdain and brought to life by Jonathan Thunder's vibrant dreamscapes. The result is a powwow tale for the ages.

The Day You Begin
The Day You Begin
School & Library      ISBN: 0399246533
Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature

A #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson and two-time Pura Belpr Illustrator Award winner Rafael L pez have teamed up to create a poignant, yet heartening book about finding courage to connect, even when you feel scared and alone.

There will be times when you walk into a room
and no one there is quite like you.

There are many reasons to feel different. Maybe it's how you look or talk, or where you're from; maybe it's what you eat, or something just as random. It's not easy to take those first steps into a place where nobody really knows you yet, but somehow you do it.

Jacqueline Woodson's lyrical text and Rafael L pez's dazzling art reminds us that we all feel like outsiders sometimes-and how brave it is that we go forth anyway. And that sometimes, when we reach out and begin to share our stories, others will be happy to meet us halfway.

(This book is also available in Spanish, as El D a En Que Descubres Qui n Eres )
Julián Is a Mermaid
Julián Is a Mermaid
School & Library      ISBN: 0763690457
Winner of a 2019 Stonewall Book Award

In an exuberant picture book, a glimpse of costumed mermaids leaves one boy flooded with wonder and ready to dazzle the world.

While riding the subway home from the pool with his abuela one day, Juli n notices three women spectacularly dressed up. Their hair billows in brilliant hues, their dresses end in fishtails, and their joy fills the train car. When Juli n gets home, daydreaming of the magic he's seen, all he can think about is dressing up just like the ladies in his own fabulous mermaid costume: a butter-yellow curtain for his tail, the fronds of a potted fern for his headdress. But what will Abuela think about the mess he makes -- and even more importantly, what will she think about how Juli n sees himself? Mesmerizing and full of heart, Jessica Love's author-illustrator debut is a jubilant picture of self-love and a radiant celebration of individuality.
Wee Gillis
Wee Gillis
Hardcover      ISBN: 159017206x

A Caldecott Honor Book by the creators of the beloved Story of Ferdinand

Wee Gillis lives in Scotland. He is an orphan, and he spends half of each year with his mother's people in the lowlands, while the other half finds him in the highlands with his father's kin. Both sides of Gillis's family are eager for him to settle down and adopt their ways. In the lowlands, he is taught to herd cattle, learning how to call them to him in even the heaviest of evening fogs. In the rocky highlands, he stalks stags from outcrop to outcrop, holding his breath so as not to make a sound. Wee Gillis is a quick study, and he soon picks up what his elders can teach him. And yet he is unprepared when the day comes for him to decide, once and for all, whether it will be the lowlands or the highlands that he will call his home.

Robert Lawson and Munro Leaf's classic picture book is a tribute to the powers of the imagination and a triumph of the storyteller's and illustrator's art.
Ada Twist, Scientist
Ada Twist, Scientist
School & Library      ISBN: 1419721372
A #1 New York Times Bestseller
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
A USA Today Bestseller

Inspired by real-life makers Ada Lovelace and Marie Curie, this beloved #1 bestseller champions STEM, girl power and women scientists in a rollicking celebration of curiosity, the power perseverance, and the importance of asking "Why?"


Don't miss Ada's further adventures--with her friends Iggy Peck and Rosie Revere--in the instant New York Times bestseller Rosie Revere and the Raucous Riveters, the first all-new chapter book starring The Questioneers

Ada Twist's head is full of questions. Like her classmates Iggy and Rosie--stars of their own New York Times bestselling picture books Iggy Peck, Architect and Rosie Revere, Engineer--Ada has always been endlessly curious. Even when her fact-finding missions and elaborate scientific experiments don't go as planned, Ada learns the value of thinking her way through problems and continuing to stay curious.

Collect them all Add these other STEM favorites from #1 New York Times bestselling team Andrea Beaty and David Roberts to your family library today

Rosie Revere, Engineer
Iggy Peck, Architect
Rosie Revere and the Raucous Riveters
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants
Ada Twist's Big Project Book for Stellar Scientists
Iggy Peck's Big Project Book for Amazing Architects
Rosie Revere's Big Project Book for Bold Engineers
Questioneers Family Calendar
The Curse of the Cheese Pyramid (Geronimo Stilton #2)
The Curse of the Cheese Pyramid (Geronimo Stilton #2)
Paperback      ISBN: 0439559642

I'm off to Egypt I climbed onboard a crabby old camel that would take me across the desert to the Great Cheese Pyramid. There, among mummies and hieroglyphics, I would learn the secret of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient Mouse World....

Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye
Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye
Paperback      ISBN: 0439559634
Re-enter the world of Geronimo Stilton, where another funny adventure is always right around the corner. Each book is a fast-paced adventure with lively art and a unique format kids 7-10 will love
Who Is Geronimo Stilton?
That's me I run a newspaper, but my true passion is writing tales of adventure. Here on Mouse Island, my books are all best-sellers What's that? You've never read one? Well, my books are full of fun. They are whisker-licking good stories, and that's a promise

Lost Treasure of the Emerald Eye
It all started when my sister, Thea, discovered a mysterious map. It showed a secret treasure on a faraway island. And before I could let out a squeak of protest, Thea dragged me into her treasure hunt In no time at all, we'd set sail for the island. It was an adventure I'd never forget....
Imagine a City
Imagine a City
Hardcover      ISBN: 1101934573

You are invited into a stunning and dreamlike voyage into the imagination--ideal for fans of Chris Van Allsburg and the Caldecott Honor Book Journey by Aaron Becker.

Imagine a world without edges . . . where bunnies and bears ride bicycles, lions read books, and buses are fish that fly through the clouds. In the city of imagination, anything is possible, and an outing with their mother brings a world of adventure to two lucky children.

With simple, evocative, rhyming text and page after page of unusual and mystical details to explore, this is a story that encourages readers to open their minds and dream of magical places filled with the unexpected. Enter a world of the past, present, and future, where wonders exist that we never thought possible. . . .

"Who could resist hanging out with gargoyles while sipping tea?"--Kirkus

"Hurst's sweeping pen-and-ink illustrations suggest a combination of midtown Manhattan and Hogwarts. . . . Her] engrossing mashups of the urban and the fantastical present no shortage of fuel for readers' own imaginations."--Publishers Weekly


"Imagination reigns in this flight of fantasy . . . Rabbits read newspapers, fish fly, and trees grow out of pictures. Readers will have tea with gargoyles and float on lily pad rafts, see books and umbrellas float by, walk among lions and bears, or ride on a fish bus with a bear conductor."--Booklist
The Six Swans
The Six Swans
Hardcover      ISBN: 0735841721

A classic Grimm's fairy tale about the power of sisterly love

When six unfortunate brothers are turned into swans by an evil witch, their heart-broken sister vows to break the spell by sewing six shirts from starflowers and promising not to utter a word, or make a sound--not even a laugh--for six long years.

This beautiful story was popular long before Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm put it into print. The captivating illustrations by Gerda Raidt will make this beloved classic a story time favorite.