Children's Fiction / General
Imagine a City
Imagine a City
Hardcover      ISBN: 1101934573

You are invited into a stunning and dreamlike voyage into the imagination--ideal for fans of Chris Van Allsburg and the Caldecott Honor Book Journey by Aaron Becker.

Imagine a world without edges . . . where bunnies and bears ride bicycles, lions read books, and buses are fish that fly through the clouds. In the city of imagination, anything is possible, and an outing with their mother brings a world of adventure to two lucky children.

With simple, evocative, rhyming text and page after page of unusual and mystical details to explore, this is a story that encourages readers to open their minds and dream of magical places filled with the unexpected. Enter a world of the past, present, and future, where wonders exist that we never thought possible. . . .

"Who could resist hanging out with gargoyles while sipping tea?"--Kirkus

"Hurst's sweeping pen-and-ink illustrations suggest a combination of midtown Manhattan and Hogwarts. . . . Her] engrossing mashups of the urban and the fantastical present no shortage of fuel for readers' own imaginations."--Publishers Weekly


"Imagination reigns in this flight of fantasy . . . Rabbits read newspapers, fish fly, and trees grow out of pictures. Readers will have tea with gargoyles and float on lily pad rafts, see books and umbrellas float by, walk among lions and bears, or ride on a fish bus with a bear conductor."--Booklist
The Six Swans
The Six Swans
Hardcover      ISBN: 0735841721

A classic Grimm's fairy tale about the power of sisterly love

When six unfortunate brothers are turned into swans by an evil witch, their heart-broken sister vows to break the spell by sewing six shirts from starflowers and promising not to utter a word, or make a sound--not even a laugh--for six long years.

This beautiful story was popular long before Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm put it into print. The captivating illustrations by Gerda Raidt will make this beloved classic a story time favorite.
Dork Diaries 2: Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl
Dork Diaries 2
Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 1416980083

Rachel Renee Russell's sequel to Dork Diaries is packed with adorable art and tons of laughs.

Recipe for disaster:
4 parties.
Add 2 friends and 1 crush.
Divide by 1 mean girl out to RUIN Nikki.
Mix well, put fingers over eyes, and CRINGE

Settled in at her new school and flanked by awesome friends Chloe and Zoey, life is looking up for Nikki Maxwell, especially since her crush, Brandon, asked her to be his lab partner--a seriously awesome development. However, when Nikki overhears mean girl MacKenzie bragging that Brandon's taking her to the Halloween dance, a bummed Nikki signs on to spend Halloween at a kids' party with her little sister, Brianna, instead. After she finds out Mackenzie was lying and her dream of going to the party with Brandon could be a reality, Nikki has two events to juggle . . . plus plenty of other entertaining trials and tribulations along the way
Tales from a Not-So-Glam TV Star
Tales from a Not-So-Glam TV Star
Hardcover      ISBN: 1442487674

Everyone's been rooting for Nikki Maxwell and her crush, Brandon--and fans will finally learn if they had their first kiss in this seventh book of the New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series

Nikki's juggling a lot this month. A reality TV crew is following Nikki and her friends as they record their hit song together, plus there are voice lessons, dance practice, and little sister Brianna's latest wacky hijinks. Nikki's sure she can handle everything, but will all the excitement cause new problems for Nikki and Brandon, now that cameras are everywhere Nikki goes?

The Dork Diaries series has more than 13 million copies in print worldwide
The Elephant Who Liked to Smash Small Cars
The Elephant Who Liked to Smash Small Cars
Hardcover      ISBN: 1590178726

What is your favorite thing to do in the whole world? Whatever it is, odds are that you don't like doing it as much as the elephant in this book enjoys smashing small cars. He'll smash any small car that drives down his road. He smashes yellow cars, he smashes blue cars, he smashes red cars, all the while singing a special car-smashing song. Then one day a man comes to town and opens a small-car store right on the elephant's road. You can probably guess what the elephant does next, but the real fun starts when the man turns the tables on the elephant--and his plan is a smashing success.

Jean Merrill's story of gleeful destruction, revenge, and conciliation is accompanied by Ronni Solbert's colorful crayon drawings. Rarely has property damage looked so adorable.
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
Paperback      ISBN: 0763680907
A classic tale by Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo, America's beloved storyteller.

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who adored him completely. And then, one day, he was lost. . . . Kate DiCamillo takes us on an extraordinary journey, from the depths of the ocean to the net of a fisherman, from the bedside of an ailing child to the bustling streets of Memphis. Along the way, we are shown a miracle -- that even a heart of the most breakable kind can learn to love, to lose, and to love again.
Featuring black-and-white illustrations and a refreshed cover by Bagram Ibatoulline.
Sulwe
Sulwe
School & Library      ISBN: 1534425365
A New York Times bestseller
Recipient of a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award
Recipient of an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Children's Literary Work

From Academy Award-winning actress Lupita Nyong'o comes a powerful, moving picture book about colorism, self-esteem, and learning that true beauty comes from within.

Sulwe has skin the color of midnight. She is darker than everyone in her family. She is darker than anyone in her school. Sulwe just wants to be beautiful and bright, like her mother and sister. Then a magical journey in the night sky opens her eyes and changes everything.

In this stunning debut picture book, actress Lupita Nyong'o creates a whimsical and heartwarming story to inspire children to see their own unique beauty.
The Best Man
The Best Man
Paperback      ISBN: 0147515793
Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos.

Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth--Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.

But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.

In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

Boston Globe Horn Honor Book
Amazon Editors' Picks for Fall (Ages 9-12)
New York Times Notable Children's Book
Horn Book Fanfare
School Library Journal Best Books of 2016
Kirkus Best Books of 2016
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2016
The Day You Begin
The Day You Begin
School & Library      ISBN: 0399246533
Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature

A #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson and two-time Pura Belpr Illustrator Award winner Rafael L pez have teamed up to create a poignant, yet heartening book about finding courage to connect, even when you feel scared and alone.

There will be times when you walk into a room
and no one there is quite like you.

There are many reasons to feel different. Maybe it's how you look or talk, or where you're from; maybe it's what you eat, or something just as random. It's not easy to take those first steps into a place where nobody really knows you yet, but somehow you do it.

Jacqueline Woodson's lyrical text and Rafael L pez's dazzling art reminds us that we all feel like outsiders sometimes-and how brave it is that we go forth anyway. And that sometimes, when we reach out and begin to share our stories, others will be happy to meet us halfway.

(This book is also available in Spanish, as El D a En Que Descubres Qui n Eres )
The First Rule of Punk
The First Rule of Punk
Paperback      ISBN: 0425290425
A 2018 Pura Belpr Author Honor Book

The First Rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one's watching.

There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school--you can't fix it with duct tape like you would your Chuck Taylors. On Day One, twelve-year-old Mal (Mar a Luisa, if you want to annoy her) inadvertently upsets Posada Middle School's queen bee, violates the school's dress code with her punk rock look, and disappoints her college-professor mom in the process. Her dad, who now lives a thousand miles away, says things will get better as long as she remembers the first rule of punk: be yourself.

The real Mal loves rock music, skateboarding, zines, and Soyrizo (hold the cilantro, please). And when she assembles a group of like-minded misfits at school and starts a band, Mal finally begins to feel at home. She'll do anything to preserve this, which includes standing up to an anti-punk school administration to fight for her right to express herself

Black and white illustrations and collage art throughout make The First Rule of Punk a perfect pick for fans of books like Roller Girl and online magazines like Rookie.

"Armed with a microphone and a pair of scissors, this book is all about creating something new and awesome in the world. Mal rocks " --Victoria Jamieson, author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling and Newbery Honor-winning Roller Girl