Children's Fiction / General
Old School
Old School
Hardcover      ISBN: 1419717014

Life was better in the old days. Or was it?

That's the question Greg Heffley is asking as his town voluntarily unplugs and goes electronics-free. But modern life has its conveniences, and Greg isn't cut out for an old-fashioned world.

With tension building inside and outside the Heffley home, will Greg find a way to survive? Or is going "old school" just too hard for a kid like Greg?
Penguin and the Cupcake
Penguin and the Cupcake
School & Library      ISBN: 1927018455

Most penguins are happy to eat fish everyday, but not Penguin. He yearns for something sweet, something tasty, something covered in pink icing. So Penguin journeys to the Northern Hemisphere in search of a cupcake. Along the way he encounters Walrus and Polar Bear, who don't know anything about cupcakes, but sure have a think or two to say about Penguin's storytelling skills.

Pinkalicious and the Cupcake Calamity
Pinkalicious and the Cupcake Calamity
Paperback      ISBN: 0062187767

Readers can watch Pinkalicious and Peterrific on the funtastic PBS Kids TV series Pinkalicious & Peterrific

A fun Pinkalicious I Can Read story about a cupcake adventure from New York Times bestselling author Victoria Kann

Join Pinkalicious on a cupcake adventure Mr. Swizzle has a surprise for everyone in town: a brand-new cupcake machine Pinka-de-licious But when the cupcakes don't come out, Pinkalicious sneaks inside the machine to see what's going on. She ends up with an even bigger treat than she imagined

Pinkalicious and the Cupcake Calamity is a Level One I Can Read adventure and is carefully crafted using short sentences, familiar words, and simple concepts for children eager to read on their own.

Counting by 7s
Counting by 7s
Paperback      ISBN: 014242286x
A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

* "Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page."--School Library Journal starred review

* "A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet--but never cloying--lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss."--Booklist starred review

* "What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a "person of color"; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant."--The Horn Book starred review

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."--Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette
Rodrick Rules
Rodrick Rules
Hardcover      ISBN: 0810994739

The highly anticipated sequel to the #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling book

Secrets have a way of getting out, especially when a diary is involved.

Whatever you do, don't ask Greg Heffley how he spent his summer vacation, because he definitely doesn't want to talk about it.

As Greg enters the new school year, he's eager to put the past three months behind him . . . and one event in particular.

Unfortunately for Greg, his older brother, Rodrick, knows all about the incident Greg wants to keep under wraps. But secrets have a way of getting out . . . especially when a diary is involved.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules chronicles Greg's attempts to navigate the hazards of middle school, impress the girls, steer clear of the school talent show, and most important, keep his secret safe. F&P level: T
Oh, the Places You'll Go!
Oh, the Places You'll Go!
Hardcover      ISBN: 0679805273

Dr. Seuss's wonderfully wise Oh, the Places You'll Go is the perfect send-off for grads--from nursery school, high school, college, and beyond

From soaring to high heights and seeing great sights to being left in a Lurch on a prickle-ly perch, Dr. Seuss addresses life's ups and downs with his trademark humorous verse and illustrations, while encouraging readers to find the success that lies within. In a starred review, Booklist notes, "Seuss's message is simple but never sappy: life may be a 'Great Balancing Act, ' but through it all 'There's fun to be done.'" A perennial favorite and a perfect gift for anyone starting a new phase in their life

A Bear's Year
A Bear's Year
Hardcover      ISBN: 0385370113

In this gorgeous, lyrical celebration about the passing of seasons, readers will follow a mother bear and her cubs through the course of a year.

Deep in her den under a snowflake blanket, Mama snuggles her newborn babies. When spring arrives, the bears awaken and emerge from their lair, and as the weather warms to summer, Mama teaches her young ones to fish, gather berries, and dig for roots. Then, in fall, the leaves turn gold, food grows scarce, and the family prepares for hibernation and the coming winter.

With spare, accessible text and charming illustrations, here is a sweet, gentle introduction to how bears experience the changing seasons, perfect for the youngest readers and listeners.
Julián Is a Mermaid
Julián Is a Mermaid
School & Library      ISBN: 0763690457
Winner of a 2019 Stonewall Book Award

In an exuberant picture book, a glimpse of costumed mermaids leaves one boy flooded with wonder and ready to dazzle the world.

While riding the subway home from the pool with his abuela one day, Juli n notices three women spectacularly dressed up. Their hair billows in brilliant hues, their dresses end in fishtails, and their joy fills the train car. When Juli n gets home, daydreaming of the magic he's seen, all he can think about is dressing up just like the ladies in his own fabulous mermaid costume: a butter-yellow curtain for his tail, the fronds of a potted fern for his headdress. But what will Abuela think about the mess he makes -- and even more importantly, what will she think about how Juli n sees himself? Mesmerizing and full of heart, Jessica Love's author-illustrator debut is a jubilant picture of self-love and a radiant celebration of individuality.
Octo-Man and the Headless Monster
Octo-Man and the Headless Monster
Paperback      ISBN: 0448487535
Zing, zong, zing. Brain flash A pirate hook. Underground tunnels. Brains in jars. It's time for an Escapade

Clint McCool always has a lot of great ideas. That's what makes him such a great hero. But sometimes he has too many great ideas. Armed with his super-powered cap, his brain flashes, and his two best friends, Clint is ready to solve any problem and find adventure anywhere. When he runs onto a film set, he gets into trouble. A lot of trouble. Can Clint McCool still save the day?

This easy-to-read, highly-illustrated book is a perfect first chapter book, printed in black and blue to help readers transition from full-color picture books to black-and-white chapter books. Exciting adventures, relatable characters, and engaging art--early readers will love joining Clint McCool for his Escapades.

"Filled with outrageous situations and graphiclike illustrations, this chapter book is fast-paced and fun... ideal for reluctant readers"--School Library Journal

"Relatable, likable Clint... could be a great role model for readers who struggle with focus, as he learns that sometimes it is better to be the boss of one idea at a time... This quirky, fast-paced series starter should easily get kids laughing"--Booklist
The Giving Tree
The Giving Tree
Hardcover      ISBN: 0060256656

The Giving Tree, a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein, has been a classic favorite for generations.

Since it was first published fifty years ago, Shel Silverstein's poignant picture book for readers of all ages has offered a touching interpretation of the gift of giving and a serene acceptance of another's capacity to love in return.

Shel Silverstein's incomparable career as a bestselling children's book author and illustrator began with Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back. He is also the creator of picture books including A Giraffe and a Half, Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros?, The Missing Piece, The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, and the perennial favorite The Giving Tree, and of classic poetry collections such as Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, Every Thing On It, Don't Bump the Glump , and Runny Babbit.

And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein