Children's Biography / Literary
A Poem for Peter: The Story of Ezra Jack Keats and the Creation of the Snowy Day
A Poem for Peter
The Story of Ezra Jack Keats and the Creation of the Snowy Day
Hardcover      ISBN: 0425287688
A celebration of the extraordinary life of Ezra Jack Keats, creator of The Snowy Day.

The story of The Snowy Day begins more than one hundred years ago, when Ezra Jack Keats was born in Brooklyn, N.Y. The family were struggling Polish immigrants, and despite Keats's obvious talent, his father worried that Ezra's dream of being an artist was an unrealistic one. But Ezra was determined. By high school he was winning prizes and scholarships. Later, jobs followed with the WPA and Marvel comics. But it was many years before Keats's greatest dream was realized and he had the opportunity to write and illustrate his own book.

For more than two decades, Ezra had kept pinned to his wall a series of photographs of an adorable African American child. In Keats's hands, the boy morphed into Peter, a boy in a red snowsuit, out enjoying the pristine snow; the book became The Snowy Day, winner of the Caldecott Medal, the first mainstream book to feature an African American child. It was also the first of many books featuring Peter and the children of his -- and Keats's -- neighborhood.

Andrea Davis Pinkney's lyrical narrative tells the inspiring story of a boy who pursued a dream, and who, in turn, inspired generations of other dreamers.
The Important Thing about Margaret Wise Brown
The Important Thing about Margaret Wise Brown
School & Library      ISBN: 0062393448

An exceptional picture book biography of Margaret Wise Brown, the legendary author of Goodnight Moon, The Runaway Bunny, and other beloved children's classics, that's as groundbreaking as the icon herself was--from award-winning, bestselling author Mac Barnett and acclaimed illustrator Sarah Jacoby.

What is important about Margaret Wise Brown?

In forty-two inspired pages, this biography artfully plays with form and language to vivdly bring to life one of greatest children's book creators who ever lived: Margaret Wise Brown.

Illustrated with sumptuous art by rising star Sarah Jacoby, this is essential reading for book lovers of every age.

--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
Knucklehead: Tall Tales and Mostly True Stories of Growing Up Scieszka
Knucklehead
Tall Tales and Mostly True Stories of Growing Up Scieszka
Paperback      ISBN: 067001138x

How did Jon Scieszka get so funny, anyway? Growing up as one of six brothers was a good start, but that was just the beginning. Throw in Catholic school, lots of comic books, lazy summers at the lake with time to kill, babysitting misadventures, TV shows, jokes told at family dinner, and the result is Knucklehead. Part memoir, part scrapbook, this hilarious trip down memory lane provides a unique glimpse into the formation of a creative mind and a free spirit.

Watch a QuickTime trailer for this book.
Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. White
Some Writer!
The Story of E. B. White
Hardcover      ISBN: 0544319591
6 Starred Reviews New York Times Bestseller A People Magazine Best Children's Book A Washington Post Best Book A Publishers Weekly Best Book Boston Globe-Horn Book Nonfiction Award Honor recipient

Caldecott Honor winner Sweet mixes White's personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell the story of this American literary icon. Readers young and old will be fascinated and inspired by the journalist, New Yorker contributor, and children's book author who loved words his whole life. This authorized tribute, a New York Times bestseller, includes an afterword by Martha White, his granddaughter.
A Girl from Yamhill
A Girl from Yamhill
Paperback      ISBN: 0380727404

Told in her own words, A Girl from Yamhill is Newbery Medal-winning author Beverly Cleary's heartfelt and relatable memoir--now with a beautifully redesigned cover

Generations of children have read Beverly Cleary's books. From Ramona Quimby to Henry Huggins, Ralph S. Mouse to Ellen Tebbits, she has created an evergreen body of work based on the humorous tales and heartfelt anxieties of middle graders. But in A Girl from Yamhill, Beverly Cleary tells a more personal story--her story--of what adolescence was like. In warm but honest detail, Beverly describes life in Oregon during the Great Depression, including her difficulties in learning to read, and offers a slew of anecdotes that were, perhaps, the inspiration for some of her beloved stories.

For everyone who has enjoyed the pranks and schemes, embarrassing moments, and all of the other poignant and colorful images of childhood brought to life in Beverly Cleary's books, here is the fascinating true story of the remarkable woman who created them.

Fantastic Mr. Dahl
Fantastic Mr. Dahl
Paperback      ISBN: 0141322136

Just how did Roald Dahl get into writing? Where did he get his ideas from? What ingredients in his life turned him into the kind of writer he was? Michael Rosen - poet, broadcaster and former Children's Laureate, comes up with some of the answers to these key questions in his lively biography of the world's No.1 storyteller. Full of stories and funny anecdotes from Roald Dahl's school days and family life, Michael Rosen's fascinating observations creates a vivid picture of one of the most famous writers of all time.

The Prehistoric Masters of Literature
The Prehistoric Masters of Literature
Hardcover      ISBN: 1633220982

Discover literary history with a prehistoric twist The dinos of Jurassic Classics: The Prehistoric Masters of Literature show off Shakespeare, Mark Twin, Jane Austin and more

Deep underground, a mysterious cave filled with stone tablets has been discovered, and researchers are working frantically to translate a treasury of prehistoric literature. In this collection, you'll learn what made the greatest dinosaur writers so very great, uncover the real story behind our modern classics, and be introduced to masterpieces including:

  • Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeareasaurus, a timeless play about forbidden romance.
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontesaurus, the tortured tale of doomed dinosaur love.
  • The Raven by Edgar Allan Pterodactyl, a ghoulish poem with a haunting ending.
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twainceratops, the story of a mischievous young dinosaur growing up in the Cretaceous age.
  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickensodocus, a prehistoric epic about love, war, and sacrifice.
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austenlovenator, a clever critique of dinosaur manners disguised as a love story.

These tales are sure to become instant Jurassic Classics

16 Words: William Carlos Williams &
16 Words
William Carlos Williams & "the Red Wheelbarrow"
Library      ISBN: 1524720178
This simple nonfiction picture book about the beloved American poet William Carlos Williams is also about how being mindful can result in the creation of a great poem like "The Red Wheelbarrow"--which is only sixteen words long.

"Look out the window. What do you see? If you are Dr. William Carlos Williams, you see a wheelbarrow. A drizzle of rain. Chickens scratching in the damp earth." The wheelbarrow belongs to Thaddeus Marshall, a street vendor, who every day goes to work selling vegetables on the streets of Rutherford, New Jersey. That simple action inspires poet and doctor Williams to pick up some of his own tools--a pen and paper--and write his most famous poem.

In this lovely picture book, young listeners will see how paying attention to the simplest everyday things can inspire the greatest art, as they learn about a great American poet.
16 Words: William Carlos Williams &
16 Words
William Carlos Williams & "the Red Wheelbarrow"
Hardcover      ISBN: 152472016x
This simple nonfiction picture book about the beloved American poet William Carlos Williams is also about how being mindful can result in the creation of a great poem like "The Red Wheelbarrow"--which is only sixteen words long.

"Look out the window. What do you see? If you are Dr. William Carlos Williams, you see a wheelbarrow. A drizzle of rain. Chickens scratching in the damp earth." The wheelbarrow belongs to Thaddeus Marshall, a street vendor, who every day goes to work selling vegetables on the streets of Rutherford, New Jersey. That simple action inspires poet and doctor Williams to pick up some of his own tools--a pen and paper--and write his most famous poem.

In this lovely picture book, young listeners will see how paying attention to the simplest everyday things can inspire the greatest art, as they learn about a great American poet.
Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and to Kill a Mockingbird
Alabama Spitfire
The Story of Harper Lee and to Kill a Mockingbird
School & Library      ISBN: 0062456709

The inspiring true story of Harper Lee, the girl who grew up to write To Kill a Mockingbird, from Bethany Hegedus and Erin McGuire. Perfect for fans of The Right Word and I Dissent. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Nelle Harper Lee grew up in the rocky red soil of Monroeville, Alabama. From the get-go she was a spitfire.

Unlike most girls at that time and place, Nelle preferred overalls to dresses and climbing trees to tea parties. Nelle loved to watch her daddy try cases in the courtroom. And she and her best friend, Tru, devoured books and wrote stories of their own. More than anything Nelle loved words.

This love eventually took her all the way to New York City, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Any chance she had, Nelle sat at her typewriter, writing, revising, and chasing her dream. Nelle wouldn't give up--not until she discovered the right story, the one she was born to tell.

Finally, that story came to her, and Nelle, inspired by her childhood, penned To Kill a Mockingbird. A groundbreaking book about small-town injustice that has sold over forty million copies, Nelle's novel resonated with readers the world over, who, through reading, learned what it was like to climb into someone else's skin and walk around in it.

--School Library Journal