Children's Biography / Historical
Who Was Alexander Hamilton?
Who Was Alexander Hamilton?
Paperback      ISBN: 0399544275
Read the story of the Founding Father who inspired the smash Broadway musical.

Born in the British West Indies and orphaned as a child, Alexander Hamilton made his way to the American Colonies and studied to become a lawyer. He joined a local militia during the American Revolution, rose to the rank of Major General, and became the chief aide to General George Washington. After the war, he became the first U.S. Secretary of the Treasury. He founded the Bank of New York and The New York Post newspaper. He served as a delegate to the Constitutional Convention and is also celebrated as a co-author of The Federalist Papers, a series of essays that are still used today to interpret the U.S. Constitution.

The end of his life became a national scandal when he was shot and killed in a duel with then-Vice President Aaron Burr.
Who Was Frederick Douglass?
Who Was Frederick Douglass?
Paperback      ISBN: 0448479117

Born into slavery in Maryland in 1818, Frederick Douglass was determined to gain freedom--and once he realized that knowledge was power, he secretly learned to read and write to give himself an advantage. After escaping to the North in 1838, as a free man he gave powerful speeches about his experience as a slave. He was so impressive that he became a friend of President Abraham Lincoln, as well as one of the most famous abolitionists of the nineteenth century.

Who Was P. T. Barnum?
Who Was P. T. Barnum?
Paperback      ISBN: 0448488485
Ladies and Gentlemen, children of all ages, step right up for Who HQ's entertaining biography of P. T. Barnum: politician, businessman, and The Greatest Showman on Earth

After moving from Connecticut to New York City in 1834, twenty-four-year-old Phineas Taylor Barnum launched his now-legendary career as a showman. Even though spectators debated whether his exhibitions were authentic wonders, hoaxes, or a little bit of both, they were always astounded by what they saw. And readers are sure to be amazed by the story of how Barnum went from owning a museum filled with rare and unusual items to transforming the American circus into a popular and thrilling phenomenon.
Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women
Girls Think of Everything
Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women
Paperback      ISBN: 0618195637
Award-winning author-illustrator duo Catherine Thimmesh and Melissa Sweet inspire a new generation of innovators in this fascinating celebration of women inventors from diverse backgrounds. For fans of Women Who Dared and Women in Science.

In kitchens and living rooms, in garages and labs and basements, even in converted chicken coops, women and girls have invented ingenious innovations that have made our lives simpler and better. Their creations are some of the most enduring (the windshield wiper) and best loved (the chocolate chip cookie). What inspired these women, and just how did they turn their ideas into realities?

From Sibert winner Catherine Thimmesh and Caldecott honor winner Melissa Sweet, this collective biography tells the stories of women and girls, their obstacles, and how they changed the world with their inventions.
I Am Martin Luther King, Jr.
I Am Martin Luther King, Jr.
School & Library      ISBN: 0525428526
We can all be heroes. That's the inspiring message of this New York Times Bestselling picture book biography series from historian and author Brad Meltzer.

Even as a child, Martin Luther King, Jr. was shocked by the terrible and unfair way African-American people were treated. When he grew up, he decided to do something about it--peacefully, with powerful words. He helped gather people together for nonviolent protests and marches, and he always spoke up about loving other human beings and doing what's right. He spoke about the dream of a kinder future, and bravely led the way toward racial equality in America.

This lively, New York Times Bestselling biography series inspires kids to dream big, one great role model at a time. You'll want to collect each book.
March Forward, Girl
March Forward, Girl
Paperback      ISBN: 132860392x
From the legendary civil rights activist and author of the million-copy-selling Warriors Don't Cry comes an ardent and profound childhood memoir of growing up while facing adversity in the Jim Crow South.

Long before she was one of the Little Rock Nine, Melba Pattillo Beals was a warrior. Frustrated by the laws that kept African-Americans separate but very much unequal to whites, she had questions. Why couldn't she drink from a "whites only" fountain? Why couldn't she feel safe beyond home--or even within the walls of church? Adults all told her: Hold your tongue. Be patient. Know your place. But Beals had the heart of a fighter--and the knowledge that her true place was a free one.

With emotive photos, this memoir paints a vivid picture of Beals's powerful early journey on the road to becoming a champion for equal rights, an acclaimed journalist, a best-selling author, and the recipient of this country's highest recognition, the Congressional Gold Medal. Includes a Q&A with Melba and bonus audio clip.
Sitting Bull: Lakota Warrior and Defender of His People
Sitting Bull
Lakota Warrior and Defender of His People
School & Library      ISBN: 1419707310
An inspiring picture book biography of the Lakota/Sioux warrior and chief Sitting Bull, from award-winning author and illustrator S. D. Nelson

Sitting Bull (c. 1831-1890) was one of the greatest Lakota/Sioux warriors and chiefs who ever lived. He was eventually named war chief, leader of the entire Sioux nation--a title never before bestowed on anyone. As a leader, Sitting Bull resisted the United States government's attempt to move the Lakota/Sioux to reservations for more than twenty-five years.

From Sitting Bull's childhood--killing his first buffalo at age ten--to being named war chief, to leading his people against the U.S. Army, and to his surrender, Sitting Bull: Lakota Warrior and Defender of His People brings the story of the great chief to light. Sitting Bull was instrumental in the war against the invasive wasichus (White Man) and was at the forefront of the combat, including the Battles of Killdeer Mountain and the Little Bighorn. He and Crazy Horse were the last Lakota/Sioux to surrender their people to the U.S. government and resort to living on a reservation.

Award-winning author and member of the Standing Rock Sioux tribe S. D. Nelson intersperses archival images with his own artwork, inspired by the ledger-art drawings of the nineteenth-century Lakota. Through the art and riveting story, Nelson conveys how Sitting Bull clung to his belief that the Lakota were a free people meant to live, hunt, and die on the Great Plains.
A Black Woman Did That, 1
A Black Woman Did That, 1
Paperback      ISBN: 1941367518
A Black Woman Did That spotlights vibrant, inspiring black women whose accomplishments have changed the world for the better.

A Black Woman Did That is a celebration of strong, resilient, innovative, and inspiring women of color. With a vibrant mixture of photography, illustration, biography, and storytelling, author Malaika Adero will spotlight well-known historical figures and women who are pushing boundaries today--including Ida B. Wells, Madam CJ Walker, Shirley Chisholm, Serena Williams, Mae Jamison, Stacey Abrams, Jesmyn Ward, Ava DuVernay, and Amy Sherald.

Readers will recognize some names in the book, but will also be introduced to many important black women who have changed history or who are reshaping the cultural landscape. They'll learn:

*how Barbara Harris became the first female bishop of the Episcopal Church
*how Misty Copeland became the first black principal dancer of the American Ballet Theater
*how the work and inventions of Dr. Patricia Bath have saved or restored the eyesight of people around the world
*how Shirley Chisolm changed the face of politics in America
*how Glory Edim has turned her passion for reading into a thriving online community that showcases black women in literature
*how Cathy Hughes founded Radio One (now Urban One) and became the first African-American woman to head a publicly traded sompany

Entries on each woman or group will highlight their accomplishments, their world-changing words, and the ways in which their lives and actions have made the world a better place.

The book will also include a robust resource list of books, audio and visual recordings, and links, inviting readers, parents, and teachers to learn even more about the amazing black women featured in the book.
The Obamas: A Lift-The-Flap Book
The Obamas
A Lift-The-Flap Book
Hardcover      ISBN: 1947458825
In 2009, Barack Obama became the first African-American president of the United States. Side by side with his wife Michelle, the Obamas energized millions of people around the world.

In this book with flaps readers will discover some of the most motivational words and moments that made the Obama presidency a remarkable period in history. Concepts like Peace, Love, Hope, Dreams, the Environment, and Equality are highlighted with large flaps that reveal the Obamas' contributions to the world stage. Lift the flap that says "Hope" and the words "We are the change that we seek" are revealed, while the flap about Dreams reminds us that the Obamas "worked for the world as it should be."

With vibrant illustrations by Violet Lemay and simple text, The Obamas: A Lift-the-Flap Book is the perfect way to introduce young readers to the inspiring life of Barack and Michelle Obama.
Herstory: 50 Women and Girls Who Shook Up the World
Herstory
50 Women and Girls Who Shook Up the World
Hardcover      ISBN: 1534436642
Move aside history--it's time for herstory.

Celebrate fifty inspiring and powerful women who changed the world and left their mark in this lavishly illustrated biography compilation that's perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and She Persisted.

Throughout history, girls have often been discussed in terms of what they couldn't or shouldn't do.

Not anymore.

It's time for herstory--a celebration of not only what girls can do, but the remarkable things women have already accomplished, even when others tried to stop them.

In this uplifting and inspiring book, follow the stories of fifty powerhouse women from around the world and across time who each managed to change the world as they knew it forever. Telling the stories of their childhood, the challenges they faced, and the impact of their achievements, each lavishly illustrated spread is a celebration of girl power in its many forms. From astronauts to activists, musicians to mathematicians, these women are sure to motivate young readers of all backgrounds to focus not on the can'ts and shouldn'ts, but on what they can do: anything