Children's Social Issues General
El Deafo
El Deafo
Paperback      ISBN: 1419712179
The beloved #1 New York Times bestselling and Newbery Honor winning graphic novel memoir from Cece Bell

Starting at a new school is scary, especially with a giant hearing aid strapped to your chest At her old school, everyone in Cece's class was deaf. Here, she's different. She's sure the kids are staring at the Phonic Ear, the powerful aid that will help her hear her teacher. Too bad it also seems certain to repel potential friends.

Then Cece makes a startling discovery. With the Phonic Ear she can hear her teacher not just in the classroom but anywhere her teacher is in the school--in the hallway . . . in the teacher's lounge . . . in the bathroom This is power. Maybe even superpower Cece is on her way to becoming El Deafo, Listener for All. But the funny thing about being a superhero is that it's just another way of feeling different . . . and lonely. Can Cece channel her powers into finding the thing she wants most, a true friend?

Also Available: El Deafo: Superpowered Edition Get a special hardcover collector's edition of Cece Bell's beloved graphic novel with 40 bonus pages of childhood photographs, early sketches, notes from Cece, and much more

Out of My Mind
Out of My Mind
Paperback      ISBN: 1416971718
Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list

"If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it." --The Denver Post
"A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes." --School Library Journal (starred review)
"Unflinching and realistic." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Uplifting...This moving novel will makes activists of us all." --Booklist (starred review)

From award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people--her teachers, her doctors, her classmates--dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it...somehow.
Best Friends
Best Friends
Paperback      ISBN: 1250317460

A National and New York Times Bestseller

The creators of Real Friends Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham are back with a true story about popularity, first crushes, and finding your own path in the graphic novel, Best Friends.

Follow your heart. Find your people.

Sixth grade is supposed to be perfect. Shannon's got a sure spot in the in-crowd called The Group, and her best friend is their leader, Jen, the most popular girl in school.

But the rules are always changing, and Shannon has to scramble to keep up. She never knows which TV shows are cool, what songs to listen to, and who she's allowed to talk to. Who makes these rules, anyway? And does Shannon have to follow them?

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2019
A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of 2019
A National Public Radio (NPR) Best Book of 2019
One of NBC Today's 26 Best Kids' Books of 2019
2020 Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Books of the Year List
Can I Touch Your Hair?: Poems of Race, Mistakes, and Friendship
Can I Touch Your Hair?
Poems of Race, Mistakes, and Friendship
Hardcover      ISBN: 151240442x

Two poets, one white and one black, explore race and childhood in this must-have collection tailored to provoke thought and conversation.

How can Irene and Charles work together on their fifth grade poetry project? They don't know each other . . . and they're not sure they want to.

Irene Latham, who is white, and Charles Waters, who is black, use this fictional setup to delve into different experiences of race in a relatable way, exploring such topics as hair, hobbies, and family dinners. Accompanied by artwork from acclaimed illustrators Sean Qualls and Selina Alko (of The Case for Loving: The Fight for Interracial Marriage), this remarkable collaboration invites readers of all ages to join the dialogue by putting their own words to their experiences.

Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and Her Family's Fight for Desegregation
Separate Is Never Equal
Sylvia Mendez and Her Family's Fight for Desegregation
Hardcover      ISBN: 1419710540
Seven years before Brown v. Board of Education, the Mendez family fought to end segregation in California schools. Discover their incredible story in this picture book from award-winning creator Duncan Tonatiuh

A Pura Belpr Illustrator Honor Book and Robert F. Sibert Honor Book

When her family moved to the town of Westminster, California, young Sylvia Mendez was excited about enrolling in her neighborhood school. But she and her brothers were turned away and told they had to attend the Mexican school instead. Sylvia could not understand why--she was an American citizen who spoke perfect English. Why were the children of Mexican families forced to attend a separate school? Unable to get a satisfactory answer from the school board, the Mendez family decided to take matters into its own hands and organize a lawsuit.

In the end, the Mendez family's efforts helped bring an end to segregated schooling in California in 1947, seven years before the landmark Supreme Court ruling in Brown v. Board of Education ended segregation in schools across America.

Using his signature illustration style and incorporating his interviews with Sylvia Mendez, as well as information from court files and news accounts, award-winning author and illustrator Duncan Tonatiuh tells the inspiring story of the Mendez family's fight for justice and equality.
It Feels Good to Be Yourself: A Book about Gender Identity
It Feels Good to Be Yourself
A Book about Gender Identity
School & Library      ISBN: 1250302951

A picture book that introduces the concept of gender identity to the youngest reader from writer Theresa Thorn and illustrator Noah Grigni.

Some people are boys. Some people are girls. Some people are both, neither, or somewhere in between.

This sweet, straightforward exploration of gender identity will give children a fuller understanding of themselves and others. With child-friendly language and vibrant art, It Feels Good to Be Yourself provides young readers and parents alike with the vocabulary to discuss this important topic with sensitivity.
Best Friends for Frances
Best Friends for Frances
Paperback      ISBN: 0060838035

This sweet friendship story starring America's favorite badger, Frances, is a classic that continues to be loved by children, siblings, and parents everywhere.

Frances doesn't think her little sister can be her friend, but when Frances finds herself left out because of a no-girls rule, she decides to show those boys what girls can do. In the process, she discovers that sisters can indeed be friends . . . maybe even best friends

This Level Two I Can Read book is geared toward kids who read on their own but still need a little help.

What to Do When Good Enough Isn't Good Enough: The Real Deal on Perfectionism: A Guide for Kids
What to Do When Good Enough Isn't Good Enough: The Real Deal on Perfectionism
A Guide for Kids
Paperback      ISBN: 1575422344

Perfectionism may seem like a worthy goal, but it's actually a burden. When you believe you must be perfect, you live in constant fear of making mistakes. Most children don't know what perfectionism is, yet many suffer from it. Nothing they do is ever good enough. School assignments are hard to start or hand in. Relationships are challenging, and self-esteem is low. Written to and for ages 9-13, this book helps kids understand how perfectionism hurts them and how to free themselves. Includes true-to-life vignettes, exercises, and a note to grown-ups.

Three Cups of Tea: Young Readers Edition: One Man's Journey to Change the World... One Child at a Time
Three Cups of Tea: Young Readers Edition
One Man's Journey to Change the World... One Child at a Time
Paperback      ISBN: 0142414123

This young readers edition of the worldwide bestseller Three Cups of Tea has been specially adapted for younger readers and updated by Greg Mortenson to bring his remarkable story of humanitarianism up to date for the present. Includes new photos and illustrations, as well as a special interview by Greg's twelve-year-old daughter, Amira, who has traveled with her father as an advocate for the Pennies for Peace program for children.

What Is a Refugee?
What Is a Refugee?
Hardcover      ISBN: 0593120051
An accessible picture book that oh-so-simply and graphically introduces the term refugee to curious young children to help them better understand the world in which they live.

Who are refugees? Why are they called that word? Why do they need to leave their country? Why are they sometimes not welcome in their new country? In this relevant picture book for the youngest children, author-illustrator Elise Gravel explores what it means to be a refugee in bold, graphic illustrations and spare text. This is the perfect tool to introduce an important and timely topic to children.