Popular American Fiction
The Orchard Keeper
The Orchard Keeper
Paperback      ISBN: 0679728724

An American classic, The Orchard Keeper is the first novel by one of America's finest, most celebrated novelists. Set is a small, remote community in rural Tennessee in the years between the two world wars, it tells of John Wesley Rattner, a young boy, and Marion Sylder, an outlaw and bootlegger who, unbeknownst to either of them, has killed the boy's father. Together with Rattner's Uncle Ather, who belongs to a former age in his communion with nature and his stoic independence, they enact a drama that seems born of the land itself. All three are heroes of an intense and compelling celebration of values lost to time and industrialization.

The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Paperback      ISBN: 0061537969

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM FOX 2000 STARRING MILO VENTIMIGLIA, AMANDA SEYFRIED, AND KEVIN COSTNER

MEET THE DOG

WHO WILL SHOW THE WORLD

HOW TO BE HUMAN

The New York Times bestselling novel from Garth Stein--a heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope--a captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

"Splendid." --People

"The perfect book for anyone who knows that compassion isn't only for humans, and that the relationship between two souls who are meant for each other never really comes to an end. Every now and then I'm lucky enough to read a novel I can't stop thinking about: this is one of them." --Jodi Picoult

"It's impossible not to love Enzo." --Minneapolis Star Tribune

"This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book." --Sara Gruen

--Entertainment Weekly
Flowers for Algernon
Flowers for Algernon
Paperback      ISBN: 015603008x

Oscar-winning film Charly starring Cliff Robertson and Claire Bloom-a mentally challenged man receives an operation that turns him into a genius...and introduces him to heartache.

Modern Lovers
Modern Lovers
Paperback      ISBN: 1594634688

"It's 'Friends' meets 'Almost Famous' meets the beach read you'll be recommending all summer." -TheSkimm

From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Vacationers, a smart, highly entertaining novel about a tight-knit group of friends from college-- and what it means to finally grow up, well after adulthood has set in.

Friends and former college bandmates Elizabeth and Andrew and Zoe have watched one another marry, buy real estate, and start businesses and families, all while trying to hold on to the identities of their youth. But nothing ages them like having to suddenly pass the torch (of sexuality, independence, and the ineffable alchemy of cool) to their own offspring.

Back in the band's heyday, Elizabeth put on a snarl over her Midwestern smile, Andrew let his unwashed hair grow past his chin, and Zoe was the lesbian all the straight women wanted to sleep with. Now nearing fifty, they all live within shouting distance in the same neighborhood deep in gentrified Brooklyn, and the trappings of the adult world seem to have arrived with ease. But the summer that their children reach maturity (and start sleeping together), the fabric of the adult lives suddenly begins to unravel, and the secrets and revelations that are finally let loose--about themselves, and about the famous fourth band member who soared and fell without them--can never be reclaimed.

Straub packs wisdom and insight and humor together in a satisfying book about neighbors and nosiness, ambition and pleasure, the excitement of youth, the shock of middle age, and the fact that our passions--be they food, or friendship, or music--never go away, they just evolve and grow along with us.
Social Creature
Social Creature
Hardcover      ISBN: 0385543522
One of the Best Books of the Year:
Janet Maslin, The New York Times
Vulture
NPR

"Social Creature is a wicked original with echoes of the greats (Patricia Highsmith, Gillian Flynn)." --Janet Maslin, The New York Times

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.

They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them... They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste...

Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon.

Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.
Legacy: An Off-Color Novella for You to Color
Legacy
An Off-Color Novella for You to Color
Hardcover      ISBN: 1506706150

In his first long-form fiction since Beautiful You in 2014, the author of Fight Club and Choke delivers another biting social satire in this riches-to-rags novella This hardcover edition features beautiful colorable illustrations by Steve Morris (Buffy the Vampire Slayer), who worked on Palahnuik's Bait: Off-Color Stories for You to Color, and Mike Norton (Revival, Battlepug), with a cover by another Bait collaborator, Duncan Fegredo (Hellboy). Legacy is sure to engage readers with its boundary pushing story-telling while challenging their creative side through its visionary and twisted colorable imagery.

An amoral investment banker named Vincent receives an inheritance promising immortality. Unfortunately for Vincent to obtain imortality he has to contend with a flame-retardant stripper, a ruthless stalker, and a bloodthirsty horde of other aspiring immortals dead set in their desire to separate Vincent from his destiny.

Praise for Bait: Off-Color Stories for You to Color

"The conceit is a blast. Ingenious...Palahniuk likes to involve his readers, and maybe even have them be co-conspirators. I loved this book. It's smart in a new way that deserves to be recognized. Congratulations once again to Palahniuk for showing us a new way to do things...and to make us involved."--FORCES OF GEEK

"Chuck Palahniuk is pushing boundaries again."--COMICBOOK.COM
Survivor
Survivor
Paperback      ISBN: 0393355934

Tender Branson--last surviving member of the Creedish Death Cult--is dictating his life story into the recorder of Flight 2039, cruising on autopilot at 39,000 feet somewhere over the Pacific Ocean. He is all alone in the airplane, which will crash shortly into the vast Australian outback. But before it does, Branson will unfold the tale of his journey from an obedient Creedish child and humble domestic servant to an ultra-buffed, steroid- and collagen-packed media messiah.

Infinite Jest
Infinite Jest
Paperback      ISBN: 0316306053
This deluxe paperback edition -- featuring flaps, new cover art, and a new foreword by Tom Bissell -- celebrates the 20th anniversary of the original publication of Infinite Jest.

A gargantuan, mind-altering comedy about the Pursuit of Happiness in America set in an addicts' halfway house and a tennis academy, and featuring the most endearingly screwed-up family to come along in recent fiction, Infinite Jest explores essential questions about what entertainment is and why it has come to so dominate our lives; about how our desire for entertainment affects our need to connect with other people; and about what the pleasures we choose say about who we are.

Equal parts philosophical quest and screwball comedy, Infinite Jest bends every rule of fiction without sacrificing for a moment its own entertainment value. It is an exuberant, uniquely American exploration of the passions that make us human - and one of those rare books that renew the idea of what a novel can do.
Young Jane Young
Young Jane Young
Paperback      ISBN: 1616208694
"SLY, EXHILARATING . . . HILARIOUS."
--People (Book of the Week)

This is the story of five women . . .

Meet Rachel Grossman.
She'll stop at nothing to protect her daughter, Aviva, even if it ends up costing her everything.

Meet Jane Young.
She's disrupting a quiet life with her daughter, Ruby, to seek political office for the first time.

Meet Ruby Young.
She thinks her mom has a secret. She's right.

Meet Embeth Levin.
She's made a career of cleaning up her congressman husband's messes.

Meet Aviva Grossman.
The Internet won't let her or anyone else forget her past transgressions.

This is the story of five women . . .
. . . and the sex scandal that binds them together.

From Gabrielle Zevin, the bestselling author of The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry, comes another story with unforgettable characters that is particularly suited to the times we live in now . . .
Wonder Boys
Wonder Boys
Paperback      ISBN: 0812979214

A modern classic, now in a welcome new edition, Wonder Boys firmly established Michael Chabon as a force to be reckoned with in American fiction. At once a deft parody of the American fame factory and a piercing portrait of young and old desire, this novel introduces two unforgettable characters: Grady Tripp, a former publishing prodigy now lost in a fog of pot and passion and stalled in the midst of his endless second book, and Grady's student, James Leer, a budding writer obsessed with Hollywood self-destruction and struggling with his own searching heart. All those who love Michael Chabon's The Yiddish Policemen's Union and his Pulitzer Prize-winning The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay will find the same elegant imagination, bold humor, and undeniable warmth at work in Wonder Boys.

" A] wise, wildly funny story . . . Chabon is a flat-out wonderful writer- evocative and inventive, pointed and poignant."
-Chicago Tribune

"Whether making us laugh or making us feel the breathtaking impermanence of things, Michael Chabon keeps us wide awake and reading."
-All Things Considered

"Beguiling and wickedly smart . . . There is first-rate satirical farce in Chabon's novel but essentially it is something rarer: satirical comedy."
-Los Angeles Times Book Review