English Mystery & Suspense Fiction
Big Four
Big Four
Paperback      ISBN: 0062364618

Famed private eye Hercule Poirot tackles international intrigue and espionage in this classic Agatha Christie mystery.

Framed in the doorway of Hercule Poirot's bedroom stands an uninvited guest, coated from head to foot in dust. The man stares for a moment, then he sways and falls. Who is he? Is he suffering from shock or just exhaustion? Above all, what is the significance of the figure 4, scribbled over and over again on a sheet of paper?

Poirot finds himself plunged into a world of international intrigue, risking his life--and that of his twin brother--to uncover the truth.

--Dorothy L. Sayers
Closed Casket
Closed Casket
Paperback      ISBN: 0062458833

The world's most famous detective - and Agatha Christie's most famous creation - returns in this new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders: a diabolically clever mystery soaked in period atmosphere and loaded with clues, suspense, and danger.

Praise for the New York Times bestseller THE MONOGRAM MURDERS:

"I was thrilled to see Hercule Poirot in such very, very good hands." -Gillian Flynn

"Perfect . . . a pure treat." -Tana French

"As tricky as anything written by Agatha Christie." -Alexander McCall Smith

"Terrific . . . uncanny. Bravo " -The Boston Globe

"Sharply written and rigorously plotted, this Poirot mystery rivals many of Christie's own." -NPR

--Charles Todd, New York Times bestselling author of An Unwilling Accomplice
The Girl on the Train
The Girl on the Train
Paperback      ISBN: 1594634025
The #1 New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Book of the Year, now a major motion picture starring Emily Blunt.

The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives, from the author of Into the Water.

"Nothing is more addicting than The Girl on the Train."--Vanity Fair

"The Girl on the Train has more fun with unreliable narration than any chiller since Gone Girl. . . . It] is liable to draw a large, bedazzled readership."--The New York Times

"Marries movie noir with novelistic trickery. . . hang on tight. You'll be surprised by what horrors lurk around the bend."--USA Today

"Like its train, the story blasts through the stagnation of these lives in suburban London and the reader cannot help but turn pages."--The Boston Globe

"Gone Girl fans will devour this psychological thriller."--People


EVERY DAY THE SAME
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She's even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life--as she sees it--is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

UNTIL TODAY
And then she sees something shocking. It's only a minute until the train moves on, but it's enough. Now everything's changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?
Hallowe'en Party: A Hercule Poirot Mystery
Hallowe'en Party
A Hercule Poirot Mystery
Paperback      ISBN: 0062073958

When a Halloween Party turns deadly, it falls to Hercule Poirots to unmask a murderer in Agatha Christie's classic murder mystery, Hallowe'en Party.

At a Halloween party, Joyce--a hostile thirteen-year-old--boasts that she once witnessed a murder. When no one believes her, she storms off home. But within hours her body is found, still in the house, drowned in an apple-bobbing tub.

That night, Hercule Poirot is called in to find the evil presence'. But first he must establish whether he is looking for a murderer or a double-murderer...
Berlin Red: An Inspector Pekkala Novel of Suspense
Berlin Red
An Inspector Pekkala Novel of Suspense
Hardcover      ISBN: 1623160901

April 1945 - Inspector Pekkala is in a race against time as he heads to Berlin to capture the plans for a secret weapon that could change the course of the war. "Excellently plotted and paced, with a lively cast, real and fictional." - The London Times (Book of the Month) Berlin Red is the seveneth and final novel in this "gripping series of literary thrillers" (Booklist) by Sam Eastland, the nom de plume of acclaimed novelist and memoirist Paul Watkins. The previous Inspector Pekkala suspense novels published by Opus were Red Iconand The Beast in the Red Forest.

Red Icon: An Inspector Pekkala Novel of Suspense
Red Icon
An Inspector Pekkala Novel of Suspense
Hardcover      ISBN: 1623160863

A big satisfying Stalin-era thriller from the master of the genre, the perfect read for fans of Phillip Kerr, Erik Larson or Robert Harris. The German Army begins to shatter before the advancing Soviet forces in 1944. Two Russian soldiers burrow into the crypt of a German church, where, clutched in the hands of a priest's skeleton, they discover a priceless icon last seen in the grasp of Rasputin, the mad monk who mesmerized the Romanovs. When news of the discovery reaches Moscow, Stalin calls upon his most trusted investigator, Inspector Pekkala, to unravel the secret of the icon's past.

The Cuckoo's Calling
The Cuckoo's Calling
Paperback      ISBN: 0316206857
Published under a pseudonym, J. K. Rowling's brilliant debut mystery introduces Detective Cormoran Strike as he investigates a supermodel's suicide in "one of the best books of the year" (USA Today).
After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, creditors are calling, and after a breakup with his longtime girlfriend, he's living in his office.
Then John Bristow walks through his door with a shocking story: His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry -- known to her friends as the Cuckoo -- famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.
You may think you know detectives, but you've never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous, but you've never seen them under an investigation like this.
Fast-paced and sharply drawn, this dazzling detective novel inspired Strike, the BBC crime drama series that has captivated millions of viewers worldwide.
The Beast in the Red Forest: An Inspector Pekkala Novel of Suspense
The Beast in the Red Forest
An Inspector Pekkala Novel of Suspense
Hardcover      ISBN: 1623160499

An American auto worker, disillusioned with the stubborn, stagnant inequality in America, moves his family to Russia. His letters home are glowing arias about Stalin's New Man in Soviet Paradise. Then, suddenly, the letters stop. Inspector Pekkala thrills again By best selling Sam Eastland. The world of Soviet espionage is shaken with the shocking disappearance of Stalin's invincible Inspector Pekkala whose charred remains are reported from the frontlines. But Stalin refuses to accept the demise of his indomitable lieutenant and dispatches Pekkala's assistant deep into the wild forests of Western Russia, to follow a wilderness trail of clues, each one leading to a more tortured turn of fate. A new enemy has emerged from the fog of war, more deadly than any Pekkala has ever faced before. Meanwhile, Pekkala's Nemesis is closing in for the kill.

Ordeal by Innocence
Ordeal by Innocence
Paperback      ISBN: 0062073524

Soon to be a limited streaming series starring Anna Chancellor and Bill Nighy

Considered by critics as one of the best of Agatha Christie's later novels, and a personal favorite for Christie herself, Ordeal by Innocence is a psychological thriller involving crimes from both past and present.

According to the courts, Jacko Argyle bludgeoned his mother to death with a poker. The sentence was life imprisonment. But when Dr. Arthur Calgary arrives with the proof that confirms Jacko's innocence, it is too late--Jacko died behind bars following a bout of pneumonia. Worse still, the doctor's revelations reopen old wounds in the family, increasing the likelihood that the real murderer will strike again.

--New York Times
The Unbearable Lightness of Scones
The Unbearable Lightness of Scones
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0307454703
44 SCOTLAND STREET - Book 5

The residents and neighbors of 44 Scotland Street and the city of Edinburgh come to vivid life in these gently satirical, wonderfully perceptive serial novels, featuring six-year-old Bertie, a remarkably precocious boy--just ask his mother.

Featuring all the quirky characters we have come to know and love, The Unbearable Lightness of Scones, finds Bertie, the precocious six-year-old, still troubled by his rather overbearing mother, Irene, but seeking his escape in the Cub Scouts. Matthew is rising to the challenge of married life with newfound strength and resolve, while Domenica epitomizes the loneliness of the long-distance intellectual. Cyril, the gold-toothed star of the whole show, succumbs to the kind of romantic temptation that no dog can resist and creates a small problem, or rather six of them, for his friend and owner Angus Lordie.

With his customary deftness, Alexander McCall Smith once again brings us an absorbing and entertaining tale of some of Scotland's most quirky and beloved characters--all set in the beautiful, stoic city of Edinburgh.