Popular English Fiction
The Music Shop
The Music Shop
Compact Disc      ISBN: 0525626204
The Music Shop
The Music Shop
Large Print    Paperback      ISBN: 0525631526
The owner of a 1988 music shop in a down-at-heel suburban community uses his talent for connecting customers to the music they seek and resists a chance at an intimate relationship with a beautiful young woman who hides a mysterious agenda and compels him to confront painful elements from his past. By a best-selling author. (general fiction). Simultaneous.
The Music Shop
The Music Shop
Paperback      ISBN: 0812986563
“An unforgettable story of music, loss and hope. Fans of High Fidelity, meet your next quirky love story.”—People NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE TIMES (UK) It is 1988. On a dead-end street in a run-down suburb there is a music shop that stands small and brightly lit, jam-packed with records of every kind. Like a beacon, the shop attracts the lonely, the sleepless, and the adrift; Frank, the shop’s owner, has a way of connecting his customers with just the piece of music they need. Then, one day, into his shop comes a beautiful young woman, Ilse Brauchmann, who asks Frank to teach her about music. Terrified of real closeness, Frank feels compelled to turn and run, yet he is drawn to this strangely still, mysterious woman with eyes as black as vinyl. But Ilse is not what she seems, and Frank has old wounds that threaten to reopen, as well as a past it seems he will never leave behind. Can a man who is so in tune with other people’s needs be so incapable of connecting with the one person who might save him? The journey that these two quirky, wonderful characters make in order to overcome their emotional baggage speaks to the healing power of music—and love—in this poignant, ultimately joyful work of fiction. Praise for The Music Shop “Captures the sheer, transformative joy of romance.”—The Washington Post “Love, friendship, and especially the healing powers of music all rise together into a triumphant crescendo. . . . This lovely novel is as satisfying and enlightening as the music that suffuses its every page.”—The Boston Globe “Magnificent . . . If you love words, if you love music, if you love love, this [novel] will be without question one of the year’s best.”—BookPage (Top Pick in Fiction) “Joyce has a knack for quickly sketching characters in a way that makes them stick. [The Music Shop] will surprise you.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune “Rachel Joyce has established a reputation for novels that celebrate the dignity and courage of ordinary people and the resilience of the human spirit. . . . But what really elevates The Music Shop is Joyce’s detailed knowledge of—and passion for—music.”—The Guardian
My (Not So) Perfect Life
My (Not So) Perfect Life
Compact Disc      ISBN: 0399568328
After being unexpectedly fired by, Demeter Farlowe, her brilliant and creative boss, Katie Brenner retreats to her family's farm to help them set up a vacation business, but when Demeter shows up out of the blue, Katie has a new chance at re-evaluating
My Mother's Shadow
My Mother's Shadow
Paperback      ISBN: 1472241169
My Not So Perfect Life
My Not So Perfect Life
Large Print    Hardcover      ISBN: 1410497739
After being unexpectedly fired by Demeter Farlowe, her brilliant and creative boss, Katie Brenner retreats to her family's farm to help them set up a vacation business, but when Demeter shows up out of the blue, Katie has a new chance at re-evaluating—and resetting—her life. By a #1 New York Times best-selling author. (romance). Simultaneous.
The Nanny
The Nanny
Paperback      ISBN: 0060560118
Hoping to escape her small-town life, complex family, and supposed boyfriend Shaun, Jo Green accepts a job as a nanny in London with Dick and Vanessa Fitzgerald, only to find herself in over her head with the Fitzgeralds, the world's most incompatible couple, their terrible children, and their handsome lodger. Original.
A Natural
A Natural
Hardcover      ISBN: 0525508775
An exquisitely crafted coming-of-age novel set in the high-stakes world of English soccer—for readers of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding. After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed. Meanwhile, the team’s popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her. A Natural delves into the heart of a professional soccer club: the pressure, the loneliness, the threat of scandal, the fragility of the body, and the struggle of conforming to the person everybody else expects you to be. Praise from the U.K. for Ross Raisinand A Natural “A layered and subtle exploration of masculinity, fear and desire, A Natural is as good a novel as I’ve read in years. The poignancy of Ross Raisin’s characters is equalled only by the brilliance of his writing.”—John Boyne “A Natural is a brilliant, deft, and moving coming-of-age novel about the nature of masculinity and sexuality set against the backdrop of sport. Sensitively and beautifully drawn, it confirms Ross Raisin as a superb writer.”—Carol Ann Duffy “Admirable . . . genius . . . amazing . . . vertiginous.”—The Sunday Times “Not since Annie Proulx’s Brokeback Mountain has there been a better portrayal of a conflicted male sexuality.”—The Guardian “A powerful evocation of repressed emotion—The Remains of the Day as told by Match of the Day.”—The Daily Telegraph “Supremely accomplished and moving . . . a masterful performance . . . This is a gripping, mature, important novel. It would be a travesty if it doesn’t win prizes.”—The Observer “A believable glimpse into a closed world, from a writer whose outlook is formidably open.”—Esquire “Most novels about football aren’t really about football. . . . They tend to avoid describing the game itself, with its strange mixture of pelting energy and exquisite boredom. Instead they shunt it into the background or repackage it as a metaphor, allowing the simple whacking of a ball into the net to be used as a way of writing about far less tangible goals. . . . Ross Raisin’s latest novel is refreshingly different. Following the fortunes of two lower-league footballers, it is a bold attempt to capture sport in the raw. . . . Pitch-perfect.”—The Times “Ross Raisin has done his homework so well that I spent much of the novel wondering which club had let him inside the changing-room for a season. . . . This may be the most naturalistic rendering of professional football in British fiction since Brian Glanville’s 1971 children’s novel Goalkeepers Are Different.”—Financial Times
New Free Chocolate Sex
New Free Chocolate Sex
Paperback      ISBN: 0743482107
Clashing over their different opinions about the joys and hardships of chocolate, a confectionary businessman and a TV documentary journalist find themselves locked within the close quarters of a chocolate factory, where they are forced to confront the reasons behind their adversarial relationship. By the author of Tunnel Vision. Reader's Guide available. Reprint. 25,000 first printing.
Next Season: A Novel
Next Season
A Novel
Paperback      ISBN: 1557832234
Noted director Michael Blakemore is renowned for such Broadway successes as Joe Egg, Noises Off and City of Angels. In the introduction, Simon Callow says of Blakemore's book, "There have been remarkable novels of the theatre, but no other book has so truly depicted the creative anarchic excitement of acting. Next Season is the finest fictional celebration of the passionate craft of the actor ... about the demands and rewards of acting, what it takes from you, what it gives you back. Acting as work, work as possion!" "An outstanding theatre novel ... extremely readable and informative." - The London Times