Hebrew Language Contemporary Fiction
The Diamond Setter
The Diamond Setter
Paperback      ISBN: 1590518918
A young man from Damascus named Fareed crosses illegally into Israel, where he is drawn into Tel Aviv's gay scene and protest movement, and falls in love with an Israeli soldier, while revealing a story of forbidden love from his family's past.
The English Teacher
The English Teacher
Paperback      ISBN: 014312918x
"For readers of John Le Carre and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army. After attending her father's funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears. But when she makes a cryptic phone call to her former handler, Ehud, the Mossad sends him to track her down. Finding no leads, he must retrace her career as a spy to figure out why she abandoned Mossad before she can do any damage to Israel. But he soon discovers that after living under cover for so long, an agent's assumed identity and her real one can blur, catching loyalty, love, and truth between them. In the midst of a high-risk, high-stakes investigation, Ehud begins to question whether he ever knew his agent at all. In The English Teacher, Yiftach R. Atir drew on his own experience in intelligence to weave a psychologically nuanced thriller that explores the pressures of living under an assumed identity for months at a time".--
A Horse Walks into a Bar
A Horse Walks into a Bar
Paperback      ISBN: 1101973498
WINNER OF THE 2017 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE In a dive bar in a small Israeli city, Dov Greenstein, a comedian a bit past his prime, takes the stage for his final show. Over the course of a single evening, Dov’s patter becomes a kind of memoir, taking us back into the terrors of his childhood. And in the dance between comic and audience, a deeper story begins to take shape as Dov confronts the decision that has shaped the course of his life—a story that will alter the lives of several of those in attendance. A poignant exploration of how people confront life’s capricious battering, A Horse Walks into a Bar is a searing story of loss and survival.
All the Rivers
All the Rivers
Hardcover      ISBN: 0375508295
When an Israeli translator named Liat goes to New York for six months of study, she meets Hilmi, a charismatic and kind Palestinian born in Hebron, and their passionate affair grows into something more, forcing them to choose between love and duty.
All Whom I Have Loved
All Whom I Have Loved
Paperback      ISBN: 080521125x
All Whom I Have Loved is the haunting story of a Jewish family in Eastern Europe in the 1930s as seen through the eyes of an unforgettable nine-year-old boy. The beloved only child of divorced parents, Paul watches helplessly as his family and his world dissolve around him. At first he lives with his mother—a secular, assimilated schoolteacher, whom he adores until she “betrays
Bethlehem Road Murder: A Michael Ohayon Mystery
Bethlehem Road Murder
A Michael Ohayon Mystery
Paperback      ISBN: 0060954922
When the murdered body of a young woman is discovered in an attic in the closed Baka neighborhood of Jerusalem, chief superintendent Michael Ohayon navigates the area's complex culture and finds his investigation hampered by a past love. By the author of Murder on a Kibbutz. Reader's Guide available. Reprint. 20,000 first printing.
The Bus Driver Who Wanted to Be God & Other Stories
The Bus Driver Who Wanted to Be God & Other Stories
Paperback      ISBN: 159463324x
Classic warped and wonderful stories from a “genius
The Coincidence Makers
The Coincidence Makers
Hardcover      ISBN: 1250146119
Working for a secret group that orchestrates seemingly coincidental occurrences that actually spark significant changes in the lives of their targets, Guy receives an assignment of the highest level with the capacity to profoundly change lives and teach the true nature of fate, free will and love, in a first U.S. release by an internationally best-selling author from Israel.
The Coincidence Makers
The Coincidence Makers
Compact Disc      ISBN: 1427293708
In this genre-bending audiobook from bestselling Israeli author Yoav Blum, there is no such thing as chance and every action is carefully executed by highly trained agents. Listeners will never look at coincidences the same way again. What if the drink you just spilled, the train you just missed, or the lottery ticket you just found was not just a random occurrence? What if it’s all part of a bigger plan? What if there’s no such thing as a chance encounter? What if there are people we don’t know determining our destiny? And what if they are even planning the fate of the world? Enter the Coincidence Makers—Guy, Emily, and Eric—three seemingly ordinary people who work for a secret organization devoted to creating and carrying out coincidences. What the rest of the world sees as random occurrences, are, in fact, carefully orchestrated events designed to spark significant changes in the lives of their targets—scientists on the brink of breakthroughs, struggling artists starved for inspiration, loves to be, or just plain people like you and me… When an assignment of the highest level is slipped under Guy’s door one night, he knows it will be the most difficult and dangerous coincidence he’s ever had to fulfill. But not even a coincidence maker can see how this assignment is about to change all their lives and teach them the true nature of fate, free will, and the real meaning of love. Part thriller, part mystery, part love story—Kirkus calls The Coincidence Makers “a smart, unpredictable, and heartfelt adventure story.
Let It Be Morning
Let It Be Morning
Paperback      ISBN: 0802170218
In his debut, Dancing Arabs, Sayed Kashua established himself as one of the most daring voices of the Middle East. In his searing new novel, a young Arab journalist returns to his hometown — an Arab village within Israel — where his already vexed sense of belonging is forced to crisis when the village becomes a pawn in the never-ending power struggle that is the Middle East. Hoping to reclaim the simplicity of life among kin, the prodigal son returns home to find that nothing is as he remembers: everything is smaller, the people are petty and provincial. But when Israeli tanks surround the village without warning or explanation, everyone inside is cut off from the outside world. As the situation grows increasingly dire, the village devolves into a Darwinian jungle, where paranoia quickly takes hold and threatens the community's fragile equilibrium.