Spanish Language Contemporary Fiction
In the Time of the Butterflies
In the Time of the Butterflies
Paperback      ISBN: 0452274427

A story based on actual events evokes the horror of the Dominican Republic under dictator General Trujillo, as three sisters die in a jeep "accident"

A Heart So White
A Heart So White
Paperback      ISBN: 030795076x

Winner of the IMPAC Dublin Award, and widely considered Javier Mar as's masterpiece, A Heart So White is a breathtaking novel about family secrets that chronicles the relentless power of the past.

Juan knows little of the interior life of his father Ranz; but when Juan marries, he begins to consider the past anew, and begins to ponder what he doesn't really want to know. Secrecy--its possible convenience, its price, and even its civility--hovers throughout the novel. A Heart So White becomes a sort of anti-detective story of human nature. Intrigue; the sins of the father; the fraudulent and the genuine; marriage and strange repetitions of violence: Mar as elegantly sends shafts of inquisitory light into shadows and onto the costs of ambivalence.
Doce Cuentos Peregrinos
Doce Cuentos Peregrinos
Spanish    Paperback      ISBN: 1400034949

En Barcelona, una prostituta que va entrando en la vejez entrena su perro a llorar ante la tumba que ha escogido para s misma. En Viena, una mujer se vale de su don de ver el futuro para convertirse en la adivina de una familia rica. En Ginebra, el conductor de una ambulancia y su esposa acogen al abandonado y aparentemente moribundo ex presidente de un pa s caribe o, s lo para descubrir que sus ambiciones pol ticas siguen intactas.

En estos doce relatos magistrales acerca de las vidas de latinoamericanos en Europa, Garc a M rquez logra transmitir la amalgama de melancol a, tenacidad, pena y ambici n que forma la experiencia del emigrante.
Paula
Paula
Paperback      ISBN: 0060927216

With an enchanting blend of magical realism, politics, and romance reminiscent of her classic bestseller The House of the Spirits, Isabel Allende presents a soul-baring memoir that seizes the reader like a novel of suspense.

Written for her daughter Paula when she became ill and slipped into a coma, Paula is the colorful story of Allende's life -- from her early years in her native Chile, through the turbulent military coup of 1973, to the subsequent dictatorship and her family's years of exile. In the telling, bizarre ancestors reveal themselves, delightful and bitter childhood memories surface, enthralling anecdotes of youthful years are narrated and intimate secrets are softly whispered.

In an exorcism of death and a celebration of life, Isabel Allende explores the past, questions the gods, and creates a magical book that carries the reader from tears to laughter, from terror to sensuality to wisdom. In Paula, readers will come to understand that the miraculous world of her novels is the world Isabel Allende inhabits -- it is her enchanted reality.

The German Girl
The German Girl
Paperback      ISBN: 1501121235
AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

"An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II." --Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "engrossing and heartbreaking" (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and We Were the Lucky Ones.

Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.
Revolution Sunday
Revolution Sunday
Paperback      ISBN: 1612196616
14 "BEST OF DECEMBER 2018" Lists

Including Entertainment Weekly, BBC.com, New York Magazine / Vulture, Bustle, The Millions, Crimereads / LitHub, Book Riot, Asymptote Journal, Vol. 1 Brooklyn, Bust, Pop Sugar and Words Without Borders

A novel of glamour, surveillance, and corruption in contemporary Cuba, from an internationally bestselling author--who has never before been translated into English

Cleo, scion of a once-prominent Cuban family and a promising young writer in her own right, travels to Spain to collect a prestigious award. There, Cuban expats view her with suspicion--assuming she's an informant for the Castro regime. To Cleo's surprise, that suspicion follows her home to Cuba, where she finds herself under constant surveillance by the government. When she meets and falls in love with a Hollywood filmmaker, she discovers her family is not who she thought they were . . . and neither is the filmmaker.
Complicados Amores de Las Hermanas Valverde
Complicados Amores de Las Hermanas Valverde
Spanish    Paperback      ISBN: 0718092295

Tres historias divertidas y complicadas que transcurren en Venezuela durante el a o 2012.

Esta es la primera novela que revela lo que ocurre dentro de los calabozos del SEBIN (c rcel venezolana de presos pol ticos). El lector se entretendr con las historias de las hermanas al mismo tiempo que descubre la verdad de lo que es ser prisionero pol tico.

Julia, la mayor de las hermanas Valverde, es una joven de veintidos a os, recta, prudente y religiosa.En una fiesta a la que no quiere asistir, conoce a Octavio, un muchacho simp tico cuya compa a disfruta. Las dudas de Julia comienzan cuando Octavio le revela que es ateo, pues enamorarse de alguien ateo nunca hab a sido una posibilidad para ella.

La segunda hermana, Cristina, de veinte a os, visita una c rcel de presos pol ticos para un proyecto universitario. En la c rcel, Cristina conoce a Salvador. Ambos son personas de personalidades muy fuertes que se enamoran contra todo pron stico y con el obst culo de que Salvador est preso y sin esperanzas de salir en libertad.

La tercera de las hermanas, Luna, una joven radiante de diecisiete a os con un gran coraz n, necesita un tutor de matem tica. Su madre contrata a B reas, el vecino, a quien Luna jam s se hab a molestado en considerar como su tutor.

Lo que comienza como unas aburridas clases de matem tica evoluciona en una historia que es tan rom ntica como inesperada para ambos.

2666
2666
Spanish    Paperback      ISBN: 0307475956
Uno de los 10 libros del a o del
New York Times Book Review

Cuatro acad micos tras la pista de un enigm tico escritor alem n; un periodista de Nueva York en su primer trabajo en M xico; un fil sofo viudo; un detective de polic a enamorado de una esquiva mujer --estos son algunos de los personajes arrastrados hasta la ciudad fronteriza de Santa Teresa, donde en la ltima d cada han desaparecido cientos de mujeres.

Publicada p stumamente, la ltima novela de Roberto Bola o no s lo es su mejor obra y una de las mejores del siglo XXI, sino uno de esos excepcionales libros que trascienden a su autor y a su poca para formar parte de la literatura universal.
Berta Isla
Berta Isla
Hardcover      ISBN: 0525521364
From the award-winning, internationally best-selling Spanish writer, author of The Infatuations, comes a gripping new novel of intrigue and missed chances--at once a spy story and a profound examination of a marriage founded on secrets and lies.

When Berta Isla was a schoolgirl, she decided she would marry Tom s Nevinson--the dashing half-Spanish, half-English boy in her class with an extraordinary gift for languages. But when Tom s returns to Madrid from his studies at Oxford, he is a changed man. Unbeknownst to her, he has been approached by an agent from the British intelligence services, and he has unwittingly set in motion events that will derail forever the life they had planned. With peerless insight into the most shadowed corners of the human soul, Mar as plunges the reader into the growing chasm between Berta and Tom s and the decisions that irreversibly change the course of the couple's fate. Berta Isla is a novel of love and truth, fear and secrecy, buried identities, and the destinies we bring upon ourselves.
The Book of Embraces the Book of Embraces
The Book of Embraces the Book of Embraces
Paperback      ISBN: 0393308553

Eduardo Galeano's is considered a passionate literary voice. In The Book of Embraces, he employs parable and paradox, anecdote and dream, and fragments of autobiography to construct a passionate, ironic and joyful world view. The world reveals itself in a multiplicity of voices; what emerges is a brief for love, friendship, courage, perseverance and imagination. Galeano also wrote Memory of Fire.