Documentary Photo Collections
Young Love
Young Love
Hardcover      ISBN: 9082359332
Who Shot Rock & Roll: A Photographic History, 1955 to the Present
Who Shot Rock & Roll
A Photographic History, 1955 to the Present
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0307270165

More than two hundred spectacular photographs, sensual, luminous, frenzied, true, from 1955 to the present, that catch and define the energy, intoxication, rebellion, and magic of rock and roll; the first book to explore the photographs and the photographers who captured rock's message of freedom and personal reinvention--and to examine the effect of their pictures on the musicians, the fans, and the culture itself.

The only music photographers whose names are well known are those who themselves have become celebrities. But many of the images that have shaped our consciousness and desire were made by photographers whose names are unfamiliar. Here are Elvis in 1956--not yet mythic but beautiful, tender, vulnerable, sexy, photographed by Alfred Wertheimer . . . Bob Dylan and his girlfriend on a snowy Greenwich Village street, by Don Hunstein . . . John Lennon in a sleeveless New York City T-shirt, by Bob Gruen . . . Jimi Hendrix, by Gered Mankowitz, a photograph that became a poster and was hung on the walls of millions of bedrooms and college dorms . . .

For the first time, the work of these talented men and women is brought into the pantheon; we see the musicians they photographed and how the images gave rock and roll its visual identity.

To bring together these images, Gail Buckland, acclaimed photographic editor, curator, and scholar, looked through the archives of one hundred photographers, selecting pictures not on the basis of the usual suspects, but on the power of the images themselves, often picking an image a photographer didn't even remember he or she had taken.

Buckland writes about the photographers, their influences, their relationships with their subjects, how they took the images, how they saw what they saw and captured what they captured: the spirit and essence of rock.

A revelation of an art form whose iconic images changed the world as we knew it.
Old Havana
Old Havana
Hardcover      ISBN: 8572340734
Uncommon Grace: Reminiscences and Photographs of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis
Uncommon Grace
Reminiscences and Photographs of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis
Hardcover      ISBN: 1565660773

Designed and edited by J.C. Suares, who worked with Jackie on various Doubleday projects, this collection of mostly familiar photographs chronicles her life from childhood and school years through marriages, motherhood, and later years. The text that accompanies the 100 b&w photos is largely perfunctory but there are some worthwhile quotes from friends. More revealing is an introduction by stepsister Nina Auchincloss, who offers an intimate look at a more fun-loving Jackie than the remote, ethereal presence who emerges in many of the photos. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.

Dreamland
Dreamland
Hardcover      ISBN: 1576870766

An expert and precisely selective journey through the sunshine noir of greater Los Angeles, Jeff Burton's first American publication documents a well-worn but little-known trail from the Hollywood sign to the San Fernando Valley: that of the porn industry in which he works. Burton's images, veritable picnics of fragmented flesh, feature figures assembled in oblique repose, lounging around poolsides, or drifting through the rococo Valley vernacular of rooms for hire. In amongst the fountains and foliage of L.A. are the pussies, pets, and hairless cushions of human flesh that stud Burton's suburban sets. Photographed in voluptuous and lingering detail, Burton's bizarre but serene compositions proffer an exquisitely refracted take on action in "Dreamland." A book to be savored for repeated viewing pleasure.

Portrait of Historic Carlisle, Pennsylvania and the Cumberland Valley
Portrait of Historic Carlisle, Pennsylvania and the Cumberland Valley
Hardcover      ISBN: 0764343149

This photographic tour of Carlisle and its surrounding communities captures the beauty of its architecture, monuments, and gardens throughout the four seasons. More than 200 color images trace the town's founding and the events that shaped it. Meet historical figures with ties to the town, including James Wilson, a signer of both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, and athlete Jim Thorpe. Tour St. James Square and the Carlisle Barracks and then visit Carlisle's neighbors in the Cumberland Valley, including Newville, Shippensburg, Boiling Springs, and others. This is a beautiful keepsake and resource guide to be treasured and referenced time and again. If you love history, photography, or nature, then this book is for you.

Higher Ground
Higher Ground
Hardcover      ISBN: 9401437726

- A new title by Carl De Keyzer, member of the Magnum collective- The sequel to his magnum opus, Moments Before the Flood- A disturbing yet brilliant imagining of the consequences of climate change, presented alongside a story by top author Philippe ClaudelIn Moments Before the Flood, Carl De Keyzer portrayed a Europe on the cusp of drowning, flooded due to climate change. In Higher Ground, the flood has already passed. His images show people that have fled to the high mountains, depicting a fictional world of tomorrow. A large portion of the work is irony, but it bears an uncomfortably close semblance to scientific predictions of the future. In 2006, when Keyzer first began working on Moments Before the Flood, there were a lot of doubts about the extent of global warming. Since then however, the effects of this inconvenient truth have increased by an alarming degree. Where it was once presumed that the sea level would rise 37 cm by 2050, now scientists estimate that there will be a 3-to-4-meter raise. Higher Ground explores what the world might look like if this happens, encouraging the reader to think about the impact of climate change. The images were taken in Austria, Switzerland, Germany, France and Spain. French top author Philippe Claudel wrote a new fictional story especially for this book. Text in English, French, and Dutch.

Ukraine Series
Ukraine Series
Hardcover      ISBN: 3944874358
Leonard Cohen: Almost Young
Leonard Cohen
Almost Young
Hardcover      ISBN: 3829606648

Good-looking, elegant, bright, and charismatic, Leonard Cohen is a living legend of the contemporary rock scene. Our collection of images by famous and unknown photographers portrays the musician from his "incubative" years on the Greek island of Hydra until his most recent concerts.

#1960now: Photographs of Civil Rights Activists and Black Lives Matter Protests (Social Justice Book, Civil Rights Photography B
#1960now
Photographs of Civil Rights Activists and Black Lives Matter Protests (Social Justice Book, Civil Rights Photography B
Hardcover      ISBN: 145217072x
The fight for equality continues, from 1960 to now. Combining portraits of past and present social justice activists with documentary images from recent protests throughout the United States, #1960Now sheds light on the parallels between the 1960s Civil Rights Movement and the Black Lives Matter movement of today. Shelia Pree Bright's striking black-and-white photographs capture the courage and conviction of '60s elder statesmen and a new generation of activists, offering a powerful reminder that the fight for justice is far from over. #1960Now represents an important new contribution to American protest photography.

- Puts the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960's in direct conversation with Black Lives Matter
- Introduction from Black Lives Matter co-founder Alicia Garza
- Builds on the appeal of #1960Now and @sheepreebright on Instagram

Fans of Training School for Negro Girls, Martha Rosler: Irrespective, and Charles White: A Retrospective will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
- Politically engaged folks of all ages
- Fine art photography buffs
- Black Lives Matter and Civil Rights era activists
- Community organizers