Economic History - 20th Century
Lords of Finance: The Bankers Who Broke the World
Lords of Finance
The Bankers Who Broke the World
Paperback      ISBN: 0143116800
Argues that the stock-market crash of 1929 and subsequent Depression era occurred as a result of poor decisions on the part of four bankers from England, France, New York and Germany who jointly attempted to reconstruct international finance by reinstating the gold standard. Reprint. A best-selling book.
The Great Crash, 1929
The Great Crash, 1929
Paperback      ISBN: 0547248164
Of Galbraith's classic examination of the 1929 financial collapse, the Atlantic Monthly said: "Economic writings are seldom notable for their entertainment value, but this book is. Galbraith's prose has grace and wit, and he distills a good deal of sardonic fun from the whopping errors of the nation's oracles and the wondrous antics of the financial community." Originally published in 1955, Galbraith's book has risen once again as Americans look for perspective on the current global financial crisis. This new edition will be published on the 80th anniversary of the Great Crash with a new introduction by the author's son, economist, James K. Galbraith. He is the author of The Predator State: How Conservatives Abandoned the Free Market and Why Liberals Should Too.
Glass House: The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town
Glass House
The 1% Economy and the Shattering of the All-American Town
Paperback      ISBN: 1250165776
For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land **A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017** "A devastating read...For anyone wondering why swing-state America voted against the establishment in 2016, Mr. Alexander supplies plenty of answers." —The Wall Street Journal "This book hunts bigger game." —Laura Miller, Slate In 1947, Forbes magazine declared Lancaster, Ohio the epitome of the all-American town. Today it is damaged, discouraged, and fighting for its future. In Glass House, journalist Brian Alexander uses the story of one town to show how seeds sown 35 years ago have sprouted to give us Trumpism, inequality, and an eroding national cohesion. The Anchor Hocking Glass Company, once the world’s largest maker of glass tableware, was the base on which Lancaster’s society was built. As Glass House unfolds, bankruptcy looms. With access to the company and its leaders, and Lancaster’s citizens, Alexander shows how financial engineering took hold in the 1980s, accelerated in the 21st Century, and wrecked the company. We follow CEO Sam Solomon, an African-American leading the nearly all-white town’s biggest private employer, as he tries to rescue the company from the New York private equity firm that hired him. Meanwhile, Alexander goes behind the scenes, entwined with the lives of residents as they wrestle with heroin, politics, high-interest lenders, low wage jobs, technology, and the new demands of American life: people like Brian Gossett, the fourth generation to work at Anchor Hocking; Joe Piccolo, first-time director of the annual music festival who discovers the town relies on him, and it, for salvation; Jason Roach, who police believed may have been Lancaster’s biggest drug dealer; and Eric Brown, a local football hero-turned-cop who comes to realize that he can never arrest Lancaster’s real problems.
The Money Culture
The Money Culture
Paperback      ISBN: 0393338657
Drawing on his experience as a trainee at Salomon Brothers in New York, an investment banker and a financial journalist, the author of Liar's Poker and The Big Short examines the turbulent business landscape of the 1980s. Reissue.
The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression
The Forgotten Man
A New History of the Great Depression
Paperback      ISBN: 0060936428
A reinterpretation of the Great Depression seeks to demonstrate how the failures of Hoover and Roosevelt to understand the prosperity of the 1920s directly contributed to massive national burdens that marginalized everyday citizens, in an account that shares the survival stories of lesser-known historical figures from the period. Reprint. 50,000 first printing.
A Rabble of Dead Money: The Great Crash and the Global Depression: 1929-1939
A Rabble of Dead Money
The Great Crash and the Global Depression: 1929-1939
Hardcover      ISBN: 1610395344
In this new book, Charles Morris tackles the white whale of economic history, the Crash of 1929 and the Great Depression, which has become a palimpsest of competing fads and trends in thinking about financial policy-making. During the past few decades, there has been a vast amount of high quality research into the causes and effects of the Crash and Great Depression, most of it by economists. But it is often marred by abstruse arguments between schools of economics, often with implicit political agendas. There is no single theory of what caused the Great Depression, and never will be, Morris argues. Macreconomics is a social science, and such a massive event always takes its shape from a terrible confluence of factors. The mismanagement of the gold standard, the growth in consumer credit, the insistence on deflation by some of the best minds in finance, the spread of ?Fordism
The Age of Turbulence
The Age of Turbulence
Hardcover      ISBN: 1594201315
The former Federal Reserve Board chairman reveals the financial close call that nearly resulted in an economic disaster after September 11, his behind-the-scenes efforts to safeguard American interests in the face of new millennium challenges, and the personal and educational history that informed his choices.
America's Bank: The Epic Struggle to Create the Federal Reserve
America's Bank
The Epic Struggle to Create the Federal Reserve
Hardcover      ISBN: 1594205493
The tumultuous era and remarkable personalities that unexpectedly birthed the Federal Reserve, from renowned financial writer Roger Lowenstein Until the election of Woodrow Wilson the United Statesalone among developed nationslacked a central bank. Ever since the Revolutionary War, Americans had desperately feared the consequences of centralizing the nation’s finances under government control. However, in the aftermath of a disastrous financial panic, Congress was persuadedby a confluence of populist unrest, widespread mistrust of bankers, ideological divisions, and secretive lobbyingto approve the landmark 1913 Federal Reserve Act. Writing in a rich and untapped historical vein, Roger Lowensteinacclaimed financial journalist and bestselling author ofWhen Genius Failed and The End of Wall Streetreveals the drama-filled, unlikely story of how America created the Federal Reserve, thereby taking its first steps onto the world stage as a global financial power.America’s Bank showcases Lowenstein at his very finest: illuminating complex financial and political issues with striking clarity, infusing the debates of our past with all the gripping immediacy of today, and painting unforgettable portraits of Gilded Age bankers, presidents, and politicians. With America’s Bank, Lowenstein focuses on the four men at the heart of the drama to create the Federal Reserve. These are Paul Warburg, a refined, German-born financier, recently relocated to New York, who was horrified at America’s primitive finances; Rhode Island’s Nelson W. Aldrich, the reigning power broker in the U.S. Senate and an archetypal Gilded Age legislator; Carter Glass, the ambitious but little-known Virginia congressman who chaired the House Banking and Currency Committee at a crucial moment of political transition; and, of course, President Woodrow Wilson, who forced Glass to reconcile his deep-seated differences with bankers en route to landmark and controversial legislation which that finally gave America a central bank. Weaving a slice of American politics together with a storied financial collapse and intrigue at the highest levels of Washington and Wall Street, Lowenstein delivers a gripping historical narrative.America’s Bank reveals the improbable origins of the Federal Reserve in a way that will make readers wonder whether they are reading about one hundred years ago or about the still-seething conflicts that mark our discussions of banking and politics today. A powerful and intelligent story told by one of our most accomplished financial experts,America’s Bank puts readers into the cockpit at a time of financial turmoil and political transformation, bringing the beginnings of one of the country’s most crucial institutions to vivid and unforgettable life.
Anxious Decades: America in Prosperity and Depression 1920-1941
Anxious Decades
America in Prosperity and Depression 1920-1941
Paperback      ISBN: 0393311341
"Impressively detailed. . . . An authoritative and epic overview." -- Publishers Weekly
Fromms: How Julius Fromm's Condom Empire Fell to the Nazis
Fromms
How Julius Fromm's Condom Empire Fell to the Nazis
Hardcover      ISBN: 1590512960
A book with dozens of photos and documents recounts the history of the first branded condoms in Germany and the culture that allowed them to thrive, the machinations by which the Nazis robbed Jews of their businesses, and the tragedy of a man whose love for his country was betrayed by its government and his fellow citizens.