Black American Sociology
Heavy: An American Memoir
Heavy
An American Memoir
Paperback      ISBN: 1501125664
An essayist and novelist explores what the weight of a lifetime of secrets, lies, and deception does to a black body, a black family, and a nation teetering on the brink of moral collapse.
So You Want to Talk About Race
So You Want to Talk About Race
Paperback      ISBN: 1580058825
In this New York Times bestseller, Ijeoma Oluo offers a hard-hitting but user-friendly examination of race in America Widespread reporting on aspects of white supremacy--from police brutality to the mass incarceration of Black Americans--has put a media spotlight on racism in our society. Still, it is a difficult subject to talk about. How do you tell your roommate her jokes are racist? Why did your sister-in-law take umbrage when you asked to touch her hair--and how do you make it right? How do you explain white privilege to your white, privileged friend? In So You Want to Talk About Race, Ijeoma Oluo guides readers of all races through subjects ranging from intersectionality and affirmative action to "model minorities" in an attempt to make the seemingly impossible possible: honest conversations about race and racism, and how they infect almost every aspect of American life. "Oluo gives us--both white people and people of color--that language to engage in clear, constructive, and confident dialogue with each other about how to deal with racial prejudices and biases." --National Book Review "Generous and empathetic, yet usefully blunt . . . it's for anyone who wants to be smarter and more empathetic about matters of race and engage in more productive anti-racist action." --Salon (Required Reading)
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?: And Other Conversations About Race
Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?
And Other Conversations About Race
Paperback      ISBN: 0465060684
Shares examples and current research that support the author's recommendations for "straight talk" about racial identity, identifying practices that contribute to self-segregation in childhood groups.
Known and Strange Things: Essays
Known and Strange Things
Essays
Paperback      ISBN: 0812989783
Provides essays on politics, photography, travel, history, and literature, as well as new interpretations of art, people, and historical moments.
African American Religious Studies: An Interdisciplinary Anthology
African American Religious Studies
An Interdisciplinary Anthology
Paperback      ISBN: 0822309262
Readings from a course taught by Wilmore (Interdenominational Theological Center, Atlanta) at New York Theological Seminary. The book develops a coherent, interdisciplinary theory of the black religious experience in America for use by students preparing for the ministry, and to guide them in communicating that experience to lay people. Cloth edition not seen. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.
Sidewalk
Sidewalk
Paperback      ISBN: 0374527253
An exceptional ethnography marked by clarity and candor, Sidewalk takes us into the socio-cultural environment of those who, though often seen as threatening or unseemly, work day after day on “the blocks” of one of New York’s most diverse neighborhoods. Sociologist Duneier, author of Slim’s Table, offers an accessible and compelling group portrait of several poor black men who make their livelihoods on the sidewalks of Greenwich Village selling secondhand goods, panhandling, and scavenging books and magazines. Duneier spent five years with these individuals, and in Sidewalk he argues that, contrary to the opinion of various city officials, they actually contribute significantly to the order and well-being of the Village. An important study of the heart and mind of the street, Sidewalk also features an insightful afterword by longtime book vendor Hakim Hasan. This fascinating study reveals today’s urban life in all its complexity: its vitality, its conflicts about class and race, and its surprising opportunities for empathy among strangers. Sidewalk is an excellent supplementary text for a range of courses: INTRODUCTION TO SOCIOLOGY: Shows how to make important links between micro and macro; how a research project works; how sociology can transform common sense. RACE AND ETHNIC RELATIONS: Untangles race, class, and gender as they work together on the street. URBAN STUDIES: Asks how public space is used and contested by men and women, blacks and whites, rich and poor, and how street life and political economy interact. DEVIANCE: Looks at labeling processes in treatment of the homeless; interrogates the “broken windows” theory of policing. LAW AND SOCIETY: Closely examines the connections between formal and informal systems of social control. METHODS: Shows how ethnography works; includes a detailed methodological appendix and an afterword by research subject Hakim Hasan. CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY: Sidewalk engages the rich terrain of recent developments regarding representation, writing, and authority; in the tradition of Elliot Liebow and Ulf Hannerz, it deals with age old problems of the social and cultural experience of inequality; this is a telling study of culture on the margins of American society. CULTURAL STUDIES: Breaking down disciplinary boundaries, Sidewalk shows how books and magazines are received and interpreted in discussions among working-class people on the sidewalk; it shows how cultural knowledge is deployed by vendors and scavengers to generate subsistence in public space. SOCIOLOGY OF CULTURE: Sidewalk demonstrates the connections between culture and human agency and innovation; it interrogates distinctions between legitimate subcultures and deviant collectivities; it illustrates conflicts over cultural diversity in public space; and, ultimately, it shows how conflicts over meaning are central to social life.
Diversity, Inc.: The Failed Promise of a Billion-Dollar Business
Diversity, Inc.
The Failed Promise of a Billion-Dollar Business
Hardcover      ISBN: 1568588224
An award-winning journalist describes how well-intentioned and often costly workplace diversity initiatives have given way to a misguided industry and reveals the large gap between the rhetoric of inclusivity and actual accomplishments. 15,000 first printing.
The Souls of Black Folk
The Souls of Black Folk
Paperback      ISBN: 1632060973
Restless Classics presents The Souls of Black Folk: W. E. B. Du Bois’ seminal work of sociology, with searing insights into America's complex, corrosive obsession with race and the African-American conscience. Reconsidered for the era of Obama and #blacklivesmatter, the new edition includes an incisive introduction from rising cultural critic Vann R. Newkirk II and stunning illustrations by the artist Steve Prince. Published in 1903, exactly forty years after the Emancipation Proclamation, W.E.B. Du Bois’s The Souls of Black Folk fell into the hands of an American nation that had still not yet found “peace from its sins.
The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates
The Other Wes Moore
One Name, Two Fates
Paperback      ISBN: 0385528205
Traces the parallel lives of two youths with the same name born a year apart in the same community, describing how the author grew up to be a Rhodes Scholar, White House Fellow and promising business leader while his counterpart suffered a life of violence and imprisonment. Reprint. A best-selling book.
Transcending the Talented Tenth: Black Leaders and American Intellectuals
Transcending the Talented Tenth
Black Leaders and American Intellectuals
Paperback      ISBN: 0415917638
In Transcending the Talented Tenth, Joy James provocatively examines African American intellectual responses to racism and the role of elitism, sexism and anti-radicalism in black leadership politics throughout history. She begins with Du Bois' construction of "the Talented Tenth" as an elite leadership of race managers and takes us through the lives and work of radical women in the anti-lynching crusades, the civil rights and black liberation movements, as well as explores the contemporary struggles among black elites in academe.