Sociology of Women
Ain't I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism
Ain't I a Woman
Black Women and Feminism
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1138821519
"A classic work of feminist scholarship, Ain't I a Woman has become a must-read for all those interested in the nature of Black womanhood. Examining the impact of sexism on Black women during slavery, the devaluation of Back womanhood, Black male sexism,racism among feminists, and the Black woman's involvement with feminism, hooks attempts to move us beyond racist and sexist assumptions. The result is nothing short of groundbreaking, giving this book a critical place on every feminist scholar's bookshelf. "--
Rage Becomes Her: The Power of Women's Anger
Rage Becomes Her
The Power of Women's Anger
Hardcover      ISBN: 1501189557
The director of the Women
The Moment of Lift: How Empowering Women Changes the World
The Moment of Lift
How Empowering Women Changes the World
Hardcover      ISBN: 1250313570
A timely call to action for women's empowerment by the influential co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation identifies the link between women's equality and societal health, sharing uplifting insights by international advocates in the fight against gender bias.
Mother Is a Verb: An Unconventional History
Mother Is a Verb
An Unconventional History
Hardcover      ISBN: 0374213585
A feminist historian explores the concept of maternity across place and time, relying on her own experiences as well as diaries letters, reports, court records, clothing and objects as she herself grapples with whether to have a child or not.
Asking for It: The Alarming Rise of Rape Culture--and What We Can Do About It
Asking for It
The Alarming Rise of Rape Culture--and What We Can Do About It
Paperback      ISBN: 0738217026
"From Congressman Todd Akin's "legitimate rape" gaffe to the high school rapists of Steubenville, Ohio, to the furor at Vanderbilt, sexual violence has been so prominent in recent years that the feminist term "rape culture" has finally entered the mainstream. But what, exactly, is it? And how do we change it? In Asking for It, Kate Harding answers those questions in the same blunt, bullshit-free voice that has made her a powerhouse feminist blogger. Combining in-depth research with practical knowledge, Asking for It makes the case that twenty-first-century America-where it's estimated that out of every 100 rapes only 5 result in felony convictions-supports rapists more effectively than victims. Harding offers ideas and suggestions for how we, as a culture, can take rape much more seriously without compromising the rights of the accused. "--
Rage Becomes Her: The Power of Women's Anger
Rage Becomes Her
The Power of Women's Anger
Paperback      ISBN: 1501189565
"A new, conversation-shifting book that encourages women to own their anger and use it as a tool for positive change, written by one of today's most influential feminist thinkers"--
90s Bitch: Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality
90s Bitch
Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality
Paperback      ISBN: 0062412345
Perfect for fans of Peggy Orenstein, Rebecca Traister, and Lindy West, this incisive, timely book pierces our nostalgic 1990s “girl power” bubble to reveal a decade that drastically undermined a century of gains for American women, creating a toxic culture that persists today. The close of the 20th century promised a new era of gender equality. However, the iconic women of the 1990s—such as Hillary Clinton, Courtney Love, Roseanne Barr, Marcia Clark, and Anita Hill—earned their places in history not as trailblazers, but as whipping girls of the media. During this decade, American society grew increasingly hostile to women who dared to speak up, challenge power, or defy rigid expectations for female behavior. Deeply researched yet thoroughly engaging, 90s Bitch untangles the complex history of women in the 1990s, exploring how they were maligned by the media, vilified by popular culture, and objectified in the marketplace. In an age where even a presidential nominee can be derided as a “nasty woman,” it’s clear that the epidemic of casting women as bitches persists. To understand why we must take a long, hard look back at the 1990s—a decade in which female empowerment was twisted into bitchification and exploitation. Yarrow’s thoughtful, clear-eyed, and timely examination is a must-read for anyone seeking to understand gender politics and how we might end the “bitch epidemic” for the next generation.
Rad Women Worldwide: Artists and Athletes, Pirates and Punks, and Other Revolutionaries Who Shaped History
Rad Women Worldwide
Artists and Athletes, Pirates and Punks, and Other Revolutionaries Who Shaped History
Hardcover      ISBN: 0399578862
"From the authors of the New York Times bestselling book Rad American Women A-Z, comes a bold new collection of 40 biographical profiles, each accompanied by a striking illustrated portrait, showcasing extraordinary women from around the world. In Rad Women Worldwide, writer Kate Schatz and artist Miriam Klein Stahl tell fresh, engaging, and inspiring tales of perseverance and radical success by pairing well researched and riveting biographies with powerful and expressive cut-paper portraits. Featuring an array of diverse figures from Hatshepsut (the great female king who ruled Egypt peacefully for two decades) and Malala Yousafzi (the youngest person to win the Nobel Peace Prize) to Poly Styrene (legendary teenage punk and lead singer of X-Ray Spex) and Liv Arnesen and Ann Bancroft (polar explorers and the first women to cross Antarctica), this progressive and visually arresting book is a compelling addition to women's history"--
A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women: Essays on Art, Sex, and the Mind
A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women
Essays on Art, Sex, and the Mind
Paperback      ISBN: 1501141104
A compelling, radical, “richly explored” (The New York Times Book Review), and “insightful” (Vanity Fair) collection of essays on art, feminism, neuroscience, psychology, and philosophy from prize-winning novelist Siri Hustvedt, the acclaimed author of The Blazing World and What I Loved. In a trilogy of works brought together in a single volume, Siri Hustvedt demonstrates the striking range and depth of her knowledge in both the humanities and the sciences. Armed with passionate curiosity, a sense of humor, and insights from many disciplines she repeatedly upends received ideas and cultural truisms. “A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women” (which provided the title of this book) examines particular artworks but also human perception itself, including the biases that influence how we judge art, literature, and the world. Picasso, de Kooning, Louise Bourgeois, Anselm Kiefer, Susan Sontag, Robert Mapplethorpe, and Karl Ove Knausgaard all come under Hustvedt’s intense scrutiny. “The Delusions of Certainty” exposes how the age-old, unresolved mind-body problem has shaped and often distorted and confused contemporary thought in neuroscience, psychiatry, genetics, artificial intelligence, and evolutionary psychology. “What Are We? Lectures on the Human Condition” includes a powerful reading of Kierkegaard, a trenchant analysis of suicide, and penetrating reflections on the mysteries of hysteria, synesthesia, memory and space, and the philosophical dilemmas of fiction. A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women is an “erudite” (Booklist), “wide-ranging, irreverent, and absorbing meditation on thinking, knowing, and being” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).
The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks
The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy
A Handbook for Girl Geeks
Hardcover      ISBN: 159474789x
Perfect for ladies living the nerdy life, a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom, filled with interviews with fangirl faves, shows girls how to make nerdy friends, how to rock awesome cosplay, how to defeat Internet trolls, how to attend their first con and much more.