Sociology of Women
Vagina
Vagina
Paperback      ISBN: 0061989177
One of our bestselling and most respected cultural critics, Naomi Wolf, acclaimed author of The Beauty Myth and The End of America, brings us an astonishing work of cutting-edge science and cultural history that radically reframes how we understand the vagina—and, consequently, how we understand women. A “New Biography,
90s Bitch: Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality
90s Bitch
Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality
Paperback      ISBN: 0062412345
Perfect for fans of Peggy Orenstein, Rebecca Traister, and Lindy West, this incisive, timely book pierces our nostalgic 1990s “girl power” bubble to reveal a decade that drastically undermined a century of gains for American women, creating a toxic culture that persists today. The close of the 20th century promised a new era of gender equality. However, the iconic women of the 1990s—such as Hillary Clinton, Courtney Love, Roseanne Barr, Marcia Clark, and Anita Hill—earned their places in history not as trailblazers, but as whipping girls of the media. During this decade, American society grew increasingly hostile to women who dared to speak up, challenge power, or defy rigid expectations for female behavior. Deeply researched yet thoroughly engaging, 90s Bitch untangles the complex history of women in the 1990s, exploring how they were maligned by the media, vilified by popular culture, and objectified in the marketplace. In an age where even a presidential nominee can be derided as a “nasty woman,” it’s clear that the epidemic of casting women as bitches persists. To understand why we must take a long, hard look back at the 1990s—a decade in which female empowerment was twisted into bitchification and exploitation. Yarrow’s thoughtful, clear-eyed, and timely examination is a must-read for anyone seeking to understand gender politics and how we might end the “bitch epidemic” for the next generation.
We Are Never Meeting in Real Life: Essays
We Are Never Meeting in Real Life
Essays
Paperback      ISBN: 1101912197
Sometimes you just have to laugh, even when life is a dumpster fire. With We Are Never Meeting in Real Life., “bitches gotta eat
Nine Parts of Desire: The Hidden World of Islamic Women
Nine Parts of Desire
The Hidden World of Islamic Women
1st Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 0385475772
An intimate portrait of the lives of modern Muslim women reveals how male pride and power have distorted the message of Islam to justify the subjugation of women and how a feminism of sorts has flowered in spite of repression
Rage Becomes Her: The Power of Women's Anger
Rage Becomes Her
The Power of Women's Anger
Paperback      ISBN: 1501189565
"A new, conversation-shifting book that encourages women to own their anger and use it as a tool for positive change, written by one of today's most influential feminist thinkers"--
Ain't I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism
Ain't I a Woman
Black Women and Feminism
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1138821519
"A classic work of feminist scholarship, Ain't I a Woman has become a must-read for all those interested in the nature of Black womanhood. Examining the impact of sexism on Black women during slavery, the devaluation of Back womanhood, Black male sexism,racism among feminists, and the Black woman's involvement with feminism, hooks attempts to move us beyond racist and sexist assumptions. The result is nothing short of groundbreaking, giving this book a critical place on every feminist scholar's bookshelf. "--
Me, My Hair, and I
Me, My Hair, and I
Paperback      ISBN: 1616204117
“Untangles the many truths about hair, and the lives we lead underneath it.
The Body Project: An Intimate History of American Girls
The Body Project
An Intimate History of American Girls
Paperback      ISBN: 0679735291
Based on candid journal entries and photographs, the author of Fasting Girls explains how growing up female has changed over the past century and argues that American girls have come to define themselves more and more through their bodies. Reprint. 35,000 first printing.
The Cost of Living: A Working Autobiography
The Cost of Living
A Working Autobiography
Hardcover      ISBN: 163557191x
A searching examination of all the dimensions of love, marriage, mourning, and kinship from two-time Booker Prize finalist Deborah Levy. To strip the wallpaper off the fairy tale of The Family House in which the comfort and happiness of men and children has been the priority is to find behind it an unthanked, unloved, neglected, exhausted woman. The Cost of Living explores the subtle erasure of women's names, spaces, and stories in the modern everyday. In this “living autobiography
Don't Call Me Princess: Essays on Girls, Women, Sex, and Life
Don't Call Me Princess
Essays on Girls, Women, Sex, and Life
Paperback      ISBN: 0062688901
The New York Times bestselling author of Girls & Sex and Cinderella Ate My Daughter delivers her first ever collection of essays—funny, poignant, deeply personal and sharply observed pieces, drawn from three decades of writing, which trace girls’ and women’s progress (or lack thereof) in what Orenstein once called a “half-changed world.” Named one of the “40 women who changed the media business in the last 40 years” by Columbia Journalism Review, Peggy Orenstein is one of the most prominent, unflinching feminist voices of our time. Her writing has broken ground and broken silences on topics as wide-ranging as miscarriage, motherhood, breast cancer, princess culture and the importance of girls’ sexual pleasure. Her unique blend of investigative reporting, personal revelation and unexpected humor has made her books bestselling classics. In Don’t Call Me Princess, Orenstein’s most resonant and important essays are available for the first time in collected form, updated with both an original introduction and personal reflections on each piece. Her takes on reproductive justice, the infertility industry, tensions between working and stay-at-home moms, pink ribbon fear-mongering and the complications of girl culture are not merely timeless—they have, like Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, become more urgent in our contemporary political climate. Don’t Call Me Princess offers a crucial evaluation of where we stand today as women—in our work lives, sex lives, as mothers, as partners—illuminating both how far we’ve come and how far we still have to go.