Sociology of Women
The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks
The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy
A Handbook for Girl Geeks
Hardcover      ISBN: 159474789x
Perfect for ladies living the nerdy life, a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom, filled with interviews with fangirl faves, shows girls how to make nerdy friends, how to rock awesome cosplay, how to defeat Internet trolls, how to attend their first con and much more.
Ain't I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism
Ain't I a Woman
Black Women and Feminism
2nd Edition    Paperback      ISBN: 1138821519
"A classic work of feminist scholarship, Ain't I a Woman has become a must-read for all those interested in the nature of Black womanhood. Examining the impact of sexism on Black women during slavery, the devaluation of Back womanhood, Black male sexism,racism among feminists, and the Black woman's involvement with feminism, hooks attempts to move us beyond racist and sexist assumptions. The result is nothing short of groundbreaking, giving this book a critical place on every feminist scholar's bookshelf. "--
Savage Appetites: Four True Stories of Women, Crime, and Obsession
Savage Appetites
Four True Stories of Women, Crime, and Obsession
Hardcover      ISBN: 1501188887
Four true crime stories explore women, violence and obsession including a 1940s heiress whose dollhouse crime scenes established forensic science as well as a woman who moved into Sharon Tate
We Are Never Meeting in Real Life: Essays
We Are Never Meeting in Real Life
Essays
Paperback      ISBN: 1101912197
Sometimes you just have to laugh, even when life is a dumpster fire. With We Are Never Meeting in Real Life., “bitches gotta eat
We Were Feminists Once: From Riot Grrrl to Covergirl, the Buying and Selling of a Political Movement
We Were Feminists Once
From Riot Grrrl to Covergirl, the Buying and Selling of a Political Movement
Paperback      ISBN: 1610397738
Feminism has hit the big time. Once a dirty word brushed away with a grimace, "feminist" has been rebranded as a shiny label sported by movie and pop stars, fashion designers, and multi-hyphenate powerhouses like Beyoncé. It drives advertising and marketing campaigns for everything from wireless plans to underwear to perfume, presenting what's long been a movement for social justice as just another consumer choice in a vast market. Individual self-actualization is the goal, shopping more often than not the means, and celebrities the mouthpieces. But what does it mean when social change becomes a brand identity? Feminism's splashy arrival at the center of today's media and pop-culture marketplace, after all, hasn't offered solutions to the movement's unfinished business. Planned Parenthood is under sustained attack, women are still paid 77 percent-or less-of the man's dollar, and vicious attacks on women, both on- and offline, are utterly routine. Andi Zeisler, a founding editor of Bitch Media, draws on more than twenty years' experience interpreting popular culture in this biting history of how feminism has been co-opted, watered down, and turned into a gyratory media trend. Surveying movies, television, advertising, fashion, and more, Zeisler reveals a media landscape brimming with the language of empowerment, but offering little in the way of transformational change. Witty, fearless, and unflinching, We Were Feminists Once is the story of how we let this happen, and how we can amplify feminism's real purpose and power.
Choose Your Own Disaster
Choose Your Own Disaster
Paperback      ISBN: 1478970391
A staff writer for Entertainment Weekly revisits all of the terrible and life-changing decisions she made in her 20s while trying to find herself amidst the millennial experience and modern feminism. Original. 25,000 first printing.
No One Tells You This: A Memoir
No One Tells You This
A Memoir
Paperback      ISBN: 1501163140
Featured in multiple “must-read” lists, No One Tells You This is “sharp, intimate…A funny, frank, and fearless memoir…and a refreshing view of the possibilities—and pitfalls—personal freedom can offer modern women” (KirkusReviews). If the story doesn’t end with marriage or a child, what then? This question plagued Glynnis MacNicol on the eve of her fortieth birthday. Despite a successful career as a writer, and an exciting life in New York City, Glynnis was constantly reminded she had neither of the things the world expected of a woman her age: a partner or a baby. She knew she was supposed to feel bad about this. After all, single women and those without children are often seen as objects of pity or indulgent spoiled creatures who think only of themselves. Glynnis refused to be cast into either of those roles, and yet the question remained: What now? There was no good blueprint for how to be a woman alone in the world. It was time to create one. Over the course of her fortieth year, which this ​“beguiling” (The Washington Post) memoir chronicles, Glynnis embarks on a revealing journey of self-discovery that continually contradicts everything she’d been led to expect. Through the trials of family illness and turmoil, and the thrills of far-flung travel and adventures with men, young and old (and sometimes wearing cowboy hats), she wrestles with her biggest hopes and fears about love, death, sex, friendship, and loneliness. In doing so, she discovers that holding the power to determine her own fate requires a resilience and courage that no one talks about, and is more rewarding than anyone imagines. “Amid the raft of motherhood memoirs out this summer, it’s refreshing to read a book unapologetically dedicated to the fulfillment of single life” (Vogue). No One Tells You This is an “honest” (Huffington Post) reckoning with modern womanhood and “a perfect balance between edgy and poignant” (People)—an exhilarating journey that will resonate with anyone determined to live by their own rules.
90s Bitch: Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality
90s Bitch
Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality
Paperback      ISBN: 0062412345
Perfect for fans of Peggy Orenstein, Rebecca Traister, and Lindy West, this incisive, timely book pierces our nostalgic 1990s “girl power” bubble to reveal a decade that drastically undermined a century of gains for American women, creating a toxic culture that persists today. The close of the 20th century promised a new era of gender equality. However, the iconic women of the 1990s—such as Hillary Clinton, Courtney Love, Roseanne Barr, Marcia Clark, and Anita Hill—earned their places in history not as trailblazers, but as whipping girls of the media. During this decade, American society grew increasingly hostile to women who dared to speak up, challenge power, or defy rigid expectations for female behavior. Deeply researched yet thoroughly engaging, 90s Bitch untangles the complex history of women in the 1990s, exploring how they were maligned by the media, vilified by popular culture, and objectified in the marketplace. In an age where even a presidential nominee can be derided as a “nasty woman,” it’s clear that the epidemic of casting women as bitches persists. To understand why we must take a long, hard look back at the 1990s—a decade in which female empowerment was twisted into bitchification and exploitation. Yarrow’s thoughtful, clear-eyed, and timely examination is a must-read for anyone seeking to understand gender politics and how we might end the “bitch epidemic” for the next generation.
A Vindication of the Rights of Woman
A Vindication of the Rights of Woman
Paperback      ISBN: 0141441259
Originally published in 1792, a passionate manifesto for women's rights stresses the need for the education of women, defines the female character, and applies the egalitarian principles of the era to women. Reprint.
Vagina
Vagina
Paperback      ISBN: 0061989177
One of our bestselling and most respected cultural critics, Naomi Wolf, acclaimed author of The Beauty Myth and The End of America, brings us an astonishing work of cutting-edge science and cultural history that radically reframes how we understand the vagina—and, consequently, how we understand women. A “New Biography,