American Satire and Humor
The Funny Thing Is...
The Funny Thing Is...
Paperback      ISBN: 0743247639
A new collection of essays by the comedienne and author of My Point . . . And I Do Have One considers such topics as her coffee addiction, her experiences in church, and the devious tactics of salespeople. Reprint. 150,000 first printing.
Montaigne in Barn Boots: An Amateur Ambles Through Philosophy
Montaigne in Barn Boots
An Amateur Ambles Through Philosophy
Paperback      ISBN: 0062230573
The beloved memoirist and bestselling author of Population: 485 reflects on the lessons he’s learned from his unlikely alter ego, French Renaissance philosopher Michel de Montaigne. "The journey began on a gurney," writes Michael Perry, describing the debilitating kidney stone that led him to discover the essays of Michel de Montaigne. Reading the philosopher in a manner he equates to chickens pecking at scraps—including those eye-blinking moments when the bird gobbles something too big to swallow—Perry attempts to learn what he can (good and bad) about himself as compared to a long-dead French nobleman who began speaking Latin at the age of two, went to college instead of kindergarten, worked for kings, and once had an audience with the Pope. Perry "matriculated as a barn-booted bumpkin who still marks a second-place finish in the sixth-grade spelling bee as an intellectual pinnacle . . . and once said hello to Merle Haggard on a golf cart." Written in a spirit of exploration rather than declaration, Montaigne in Barn Boots is a down-to-earth (how do you pronounce that last name?) look into the ideas of a philosopher "ensconced in a castle tower overlooking his vineyard," channeled by a midwestern American writing "in a room above the garage overlooking a disused pig pen." Whether grabbing an electrified fence, fighting fires, failing to fix a truck, or feeding chickens, Perry draws on each experience to explore subjects as diverse as faith, race, sex, aromatherapy, and Prince. But he also champions academics and aesthetics, in a book that ultimately emerges as a sincere, unflinching look at the vital need to be a better person and citizen.
How to Talk Minnesotan: Revised for the 21st Century
How to Talk Minnesotan
Revised for the 21st Century
Paperback      ISBN: 014312269x
A revised edition of the hilarious Minnesotan culture guide from a former writer for A Prairie Home Companion Fans of the Minnesota-set movie Fargo will love this uproarious culture guide to all-things Minnesotan. With his dry wit and distinctive voice, Howard Mohr won millions of fans across the country on Garrison Keillor’s radio show A Prairie Home Companion. His popular commercials and ad spots, including one for “Minnesota Language Systems,
Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)
Do You Mind If I Cancel?
(Things That Still Annoy Me)
Hardcover      ISBN: 1250225825
""Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart." - Kevin Kwan Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey... meet your new friend Gary Janetti. Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills to the page in a hilarious, and poignant book chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life. Gary spends his twenties in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, "These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me." Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind if I Cancel? is something not to be missed"--
Pop Science: Serious Answers to Deep Questions Posed in Songs
Pop Science
Serious Answers to Deep Questions Posed in Songs
Hardcover      ISBN: 198485626x
A Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist uses data, facts and science to answer to the most famous questions posed in pop songs, revealing the exact points where lowbrow pop culture and the highest science and philosophy meet. Illustrations.
Dress Your Family In Corduroy And Denim
Dress Your Family In Corduroy And Denim
Paperback      ISBN: 0316010790
In a collection of essays, the Rooster gets married at an uproarious wedding, an estrangement occurs over a rubber vs. plastic debate, and the author gets the upper hand during a slumber party game of strip poker.
Food: A Love Story
Food
A Love Story
Paperback      ISBN: 080414043x
“What are my qualifications to write this book? None really. So why should you read it? Here’s why: I’m a little fat. If a thin guy were to write about a love of food and eating I’d highly recommend that you do not read his book.
The New New Rules: A Funny Look at How Everybody But Me Has Their Head Up Their Ass
The New New Rules
A Funny Look at How Everybody But Me Has Their Head Up Their Ass
Hardcover      ISBN: 0399158413
From bestselling author and host of HBO's Real Time, Bill Maher's new book of political riffs serves up a savagely funny set of rules for preserving sanity in an insane world. A follow-up to the New York Times-bestselling New Rules, The New New Rules delivers a series of hilarious, intelligent rants on everything from same-sex marriage to health care, from Republican agendas to celebrity meltdowns, with all the razor-sharp insight that has made Bill Maher one of the most influential comedic voices shaping the political debate today. With another presidential campaign on the horizon and a stellar set of real-life characters to have fun with-"New Rule: If Charlie Sheen's home life means he can't have a TV show, then I say Newt Gingrich can't be president"-this enlightening and important book may be the best thing you pretend to read all year.
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and Other Concerns
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and Other Concerns
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 0307886263
The Emmy-nominated writer and actress best known as Kelly Kapoor on The Office shares her observations on a wide range of topics from favorite male archetypes and her hatred of dieting to her loving relationship with her mother and the haphazard creative process in the Office writers' room. TV tie-in.
Alphabetter Juice: Or, the Joy of Text
Alphabetter Juice
Or, the Joy of Text
Paperback      ISBN: 0374533377
The NPR panelist and humorist author of Alphabet Juice presents a second helping of dexterous and lighthearted vocabulary factoids, fripperies and phenomena compiled to raise awareness about the relationship between words and their various definitions. 50,000 first printing.