English Novel and Short Story
Little Bee
Little Bee
Paperback      ISBN: 1416589643
Presents a tale of a precarious friendship between an illegal Nigerian refugee and a recent widow from suburban London, a story told from the alternating and disparate perspectives of both women.
Everything Under
Everything Under
Paperback      ISBN: 1555978266
An eerie, watery reimagining of the Oedipus myth set on the canals of Oxford, from the author of Fen The dictionary doesn
How to Build a Girl
How to Build a Girl
Paperback      ISBN: 0062335987
The New York Times bestselling author hailed as “the UK’s answer to Tina Fey, Chelsea Handler, and Lena Dunham all rolled into one
The Parisian or Al-Barisi
The Parisian or Al-Barisi
Hardcover      ISBN: 0802129439
Studying medicine and falling in love in 1914 France, the son of a wealthy Palestinian textile merchant returns home to find his loyalties tested by conflicts between the British government and the independence-minded nationalists of his community.
In at the Deep End
In at the Deep End
Hardcover      ISBN: 1328629678
"A fresh, funny, audacious debut novel about a Bridget Jones-like twenty-something who discovers that she may have simply been looking for love -- and, ahem, pleasure -- in all the wrong places (aka: from men)"--
The Book of Dave: A Revelation of the Recent Past and the Distant Future
The Book of Dave
A Revelation of the Recent Past and the Distant Future
Paperback      ISBN: 0802129269
Available from Grove for the first time, Will Self
Dictionary Stories: Short Fictions and Other Findings
Dictionary Stories
Short Fictions and Other Findings
Paperback      ISBN: 0062652613
"A collection of very short stories composed entirely of example sentences from various dictionaries, perfect for fans of The Lover's Dictionary and The Interrogative Mood: A Novel? " Dictionary Stories brings to literature the spirit of the musical mashup, digging in the crates to find old hooks and arrange them into new delights with an appeal that's not merely academic but truly pop. This kind of work reminds us: it's all there, love and disappointment and deep humor, latent in our language and its storehouses; but it takes a keen eye to connect the dots. Jez Burrows is keen indeed."--Robin Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore. One day, while looking up a word in the New Oxford American Dictionary, Jez Burrows was stopped in his tracks by an example sentence: "He perched on the edge of the bed, a study in confusion and misery." It seemed like a tiny piece of fiction had gotten lost, wandered out of another book and settled down in the dictionary. With that spark, and a handful of experimental stories posted to Tumblr, Dictionary Stories was born. Genre-bending and wildly inventive, Dictionary Stories is a giddy celebration of the originality, flexibility, and beauty of narrative. Love stories, horror stories, noir mysteries, recipes, eulogies, confessions, thrillers -- each one a miniature literary remix of unlikely parts hidden in plain sight, created by flipping through the dictionary and knowing where to stop. Burrows is a master of immersive, immediate narratives. Effortlessly transcending sentence level, he lights between the profound and the absurd with a few carefully assembled sentences, transporting readers into moments, worlds, and experiences of remarkable variety. From the everyday (dating, family,jealousy, memory) to the extraordinary (the apocalypse, fantasies, murder, the occult). Organized alphabetically by theme and featuring original illustrations by the author, this continually surprising and wonderfully weird collection glows with humor, emotion, and intellect. Dictionary Stories will speak to language lovers, creative minds, and anyone who has ever appreciated the power of small things. "Jez has long been one of my favorite illustrators, and now he comes up with Dictionary Stories -- sentences stolen from dictionaries and pasted together into tiny, delightful narratives. A brilliant literary remix."--Austin Kleon, New York Times bestselling author of Steal Like an Artist"--
Elmet
Elmet
Paperback      ISBN: 1616208422
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER PRIZE "Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable." —The Economist "Mozley is the breakout star of this year's Man Booker Prize longlist. And with good reason: Elmet, with its rugged landscape, violence and high emotion, recalls Wuthering Heights written with a wholly new voice.This debut is the start of something big." —Stylist In this atmospheric and profoundly moving debut, Cathy and Daniel live with their father, John, in the remote woods of Yorkshire, in a house the three of them built themselves. John is a gentle brute of a man, a former enforcer who fights for money when he has to, but who otherwise just wants to be left alone to raise his children. When a local landowner shows up on their doorstep, their precarious existence is threatened, and a series of actions is set in motion that can only end in violence. Steeped in the natural world of northern England, this is a lyrical commentary on the bonds of siblings and fatherhood, and on the meaning of community in the modern world. Elmet marks the launch of a major new voice in literary fiction.
Espresso Tales
Espresso Tales
Paperback      ISBN: 0307275973
The sequel to 44 Scotland Street continues its study of the lives of the denizens of the converted Edinburgh townhouse, as young Bertie prepares for his first day of kindergarten, former surveyor Bruce contemplates a new career as a wine merchant, and Pat embarks on a new life at the university and a new romance thanks to her worldly wise neighbor, Domenica. Original. 125,000 first printing.
Golden Boy
Golden Boy
Paperback      ISBN: 147670581x
“A dramatic, thoroughgoing investigation of the complexities of sexuality and gender.…A warmly human coming-of-age story…emotionally engaging, and genuinely unforgettable