Mystery and Suspense Fiction
Fatale
Fatale
Paperback      ISBN: 1590173813
A New York Review Books Original Whether you call her a coldhearted grifter or the soul of modern capitalism, there’s no question that Aimée is a killer and a more than professional one. Now she’s set her eyes on a backwater burg—where, while posing as an innocent (albeit drop-dead gorgeous) newcomer to town, she means to sniff out old grudges and engineer new opportunities, deftly playing different people and different interests against each other the better, as always, to make a killing. But then something snaps: the master manipulator falls prey to a pure and wayward passion. Aimée has become the avenging angel of her own nihilism, exacting the destruction of a whole society of destroyers. An unholy original, Jean-Patrick Manchette transformed the modern detective novel into a weapon of gleeful satire and anarchic fun. In Fatale he mixes equal measures of farce, mayhem, and madness to prepare a rare literary cocktail that packs a devastating punch.
Ivory Pearl
Ivory Pearl
Paperback      ISBN: 168137210x
Set in Cuba's Sierra Masestra in the 1950s, in the days leading up to the Revolution--Manchette's unfinished masterpiece with a fearless female protagonist. Four of the ten titles in Jean-Patrick Manchette's celebrated 1970s cycle of hard-boiled novels, which the author originally dubbed néo-polars, or "neo-crime novels," have now appeared in English translation. Manchette is beginning to have a significant following among English-language readers, as witness chatter in cyberspace, favorable reviews, increasing sales, and the fact that the latest entrant, The Mad and the Bad (New York Review Books), won the 2014 French-American Foundation Translation Prize for Donald Nicholson-Smith. Ivory Pearl, aka Princesse du sang, published posthumously -and unfinished - in 1996, is considered by many French critics to be Manchette's masterpiece. In the early 1980s Manchette abandoned his attempt to "press the roman noir into the service of the social revolution" and turned his pen to other things. By the end of that decade, however, he resolved to start anew, though now working on a broader, "geopolitical" canvas. Inspiration came now less from Hammett's Red Harvest than from John Le Carré and, especially, from the works of Ross Thomas that Manchette had been translating. Sadly, Manchette's early death from cancer in 1995 put an end to this grand project. What remains, however, is Ivory Pearl, set mainly in Cuba's Sierra Masestra in the 1950s. The book will not disappoint those who admire Manchette's mastery of suspense and penchant for dauntless feminine protagonists.
The Mad and the Bad
The Mad and the Bad
Paperback      ISBN: 1590177207
Michel Hartog, a sometime architect, is a powerful businessman and famous philanthropist whose immense fortune has just grown that much greater following the death of his brother in an accident. Peter is his orphaned nephew—a spoiled brat. Julie is in an insane asylum. Thompson is a hired gunman with a serious ulcer. Michel hires Julie to look after Peter. And he hires Thompson to kill them. Julie and Peter escape. Thompson pursues. Bullets fly. Bodies accumulate. The craziness is just getting started. Like Jean-Patrick Manchette’s celebrated Fatale, The Mad and the Bad is a clear-eyed, cold-blooded, pitch-perfect work of creative destruction.
Sand
Sand
Paperback      ISBN: 1681372010
Set in the aftermath 1972 Munich Olympics massacre, this darkly sophisticated literary thriller by one of Germany's most celebrated writers is now available in the US for the first time. North Africa, 1972. While the world is reeling from the massacre of Israeli athletes at the Munich Olympics, a series of mysterious events is playing out in the Sahara. Four people are murdered in a hippie commune, a suitcase full of money disappears, and a pair of unenthusiastic detectives are assigned to investigate. In the midst of it all, a man with no memory tries to evade his armed pursuers. Who are they? What do they want from him? If he could just recall his own identity he might have a chance of working it out. . . This is a darkly sophisticated literary thriller from Wolfgang Herrndorf, a master storyteller and star of the German literary scene.
Stray Bullets Sunshine & Roses 1: Kretchmeyer
Stray Bullets Sunshine & Roses 1
Kretchmeyer
Paperback      ISBN: 1534307990
Dark and twisted, funny and heartbreaking,intimate and epic—SUNSHINE & ROSES tells the story of a boy and agirl, how they fell in love and hatched a scheme to blow up the Baltimoreunderworld. There is no crime book remotely like STRAY BULLETS, and withSUNSHINE & ROSES, the uncompromising EISNER AWARD-WINNING team of DAVID& MARIA LAPHAM take the series to a newhigh. Collects STRAY BULLETS:SUNSHINE & ROSES #1-8
The 6th Target
The 6th Target
Paperback      ISBN: 0446179515
When one member of the Women's Murder Club is brutally attacked, her three companions work to keep her attacker behind bars, while Lindsay Boxer investigates a series of kidnappings in which children and their nannies are being abducted without ransom demands.
The Girl Who Lived Twice: A Lisbeth Salander Novel
The Girl Who Lived Twice
A Lisbeth Salander Novel
Hardcover      ISBN: 0451494342
The best-selling author of The Girl in the Spider
The Council of Twelve
The Council of Twelve
Paperback      ISBN: 1328508315
The seventh installment of Oliver Pötzsch's bestselling Hangman's Daughter series.
The Expendable Man
The Expendable Man
Paperback      ISBN: 159017495x
“It was surprising what old experiences remembered could do to a presumably educated, civilized man.” And Hugh Denismore, a young doctor driving his mother’s Cadillac from Los Angeles to Phoenix is eminently educated and civilized. He is privileged, would seem to have the world at his feet. Then why does the sight of a few redneck teenagers disconcert him so? Why is he reluctant to pick up a disheveled girl hitchhiking along the desert highway? And why, when she is discovered, dead, in Arizona, is he the first person the police suspect? Dorothy B. Hughes ranks with Raymond Chandler and Patricia Highsmith as a master of mid-century noir. In books like In a Lonely Place and Ride the Pink Horse she exposed a seething discontent underneath the veneer of 20th-century prosperity. With The Expendable Man, first published in 1963, Hughes upends the conventions of the wrong-man narrative to deliver a story that engages readers even as it implicates them in the greatest of all American crimes.
Lying in Wait
Lying in Wait
Paperback      ISBN: 1501178474
From the author of the international bestseller Unraveling Oliver comes a “truly outstanding” (Crime by the Book), brilliantly plotted, utterly immersive novel lauded by A.J. Finn—#1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window—as “extraordinary…crackles and snaps like a bonfire on a winter’s night.” My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it. On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons's life seems idyllic. Her husband, Andrew, is a prosperous, respected judge; they live in the spacious, comfortable, well-appointed house where she was raised. And she is utterly, obsessively devoted to her son, Laurence—her adored only child, her pride and joy. But Andrew's murder of Annie Doyle, accidental or not, sets into motion a dark downward spiral. It doesn’t take long for Laurence to suspect that something is very, very wrong in the Fitzsimons household—and he is determined to discover the truth. For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, Lying in Wait is “a devastating psychological thriller...an exquisitely uncomfortable, utterly captivating reading experience” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).