"For everyone who loves Nantucket Island this is the indispensable book." --Russell Baker In his first book of history, Nathaniel Philbrick reveals the people and the stories behind what was once the whaling capital of the world. Beyond its charm, quaint local traditions, and whaling yarns, Philbrick explores the origins of Nantucket in this comprehensive history. From the English settlers who thought they were purchasing a "Native American ghost town" but actually found a fully realized society, through the rise and fall of the then thriving whaling industry, the story of Nantucket is a truly unique chapter of American history.
Had it not been for the building of the railroads in the 1840s, Ayer may not have been established. Originally called South Groton, the town thrived as tanneries, vinegar factories, sawmills, and other industries settled in the area. The rapid economic development and population growth led to the formation of the Town of Ayer in 1871, named for Dr. James Cook Ayer, a producer of hair tonic and patent medicines who had donated money to the town. Ayer thrived, becoming a rail hub for transporting goods and passengers. In 1917, the War Department leased local land to build a new Army training area, Camp Devens, and its opening greatly boosted both Ayer's population and economy. The name changed from Camp Devens to Fort Devens in 1931. Since the closing of Fort Devens in 1996 and the loss of the local support- and service-oriented economy, Ayer has relied on its manufacturing economy to grow and thrive with help from the new commercial and industrial complex at the former Fort Devens site. In addition to Pan Am Southern railroad facilities, Ayer is home to Cain's food products, the Pepsi Bottling Company, and other manufacturing facilities.
In his new book Anthony M. Sammarco outlines the Back Bay of Boston, a neighborhood of the city that is not just the quintessential Victorian neighborhood of the 19th century, but one that was infilled and planned as the premier residential and institutional development.
Begun in the late 1850s when the marshlands west of the Boston Public Garden were infilled through the ingenuity of John Souther, the Back Bay was to become a massive project that took over three decades to complete. With fill brought by gondola cars from Needham, Massachusetts six days a week, twenty-four hours a day, every 45 minutes, the fill had an average depth of 20 feet and the expanse of the Back Bay to be filled was roughly 460 acres. A monumental task, it was said that so successful was the venture that by 1885, only a small area was left to be infilled near the Back Bay Fens.
In this photographic history of the Back Bay of Boston Anthony M. Sammarco, with the contemporary photographs of Peter B. Kingman, has created a fascinating book that chronicles the neighborhood from the late nineteenth century through to today. Walking along Arlington, Boylston, Newbury Streets, Commonwealth, Huntington and Massachusetts Avenues and stopping at Park Square and Copley Square, this visually fascinating book offers a fascinating glimpse of the Back Bay of Boston Through Time.
In 1639, Barnstable was established by the Plymouth Plantation Colony as the third town on Cape Cod. Over time, Barnstable was divided into six distinct villages: Centerville, Cotuit, Hyannis, Marstons Mills, Osterville, and West Barnstable. Each of these communities grew and developed their own libraries, schools, churches, and general stores. Local industry was abundant, and residents were employed as blacksmiths, cobblers, copper smiths, and farmers. Saltworks, cranberry bogs, shipbuilding, and light industry also supported the area. Barnstable documents the evolution of the town between the 1839 centennial celebration and the 1939 tercentenary and shows how the advent of both the railroad and steam-powered ships spurred great change in the town s communities. Today, economic life revolves around Hyannis while the other villages have become more residential in nature."
In 1914 the Boston Braves experienced the greatest come-from-behind season in baseball history. A perennially woeful team, the Braves rose from the ashes of last place-fifteen games behind on July 4th-to battle in the World Series against the Philadelphia Athletics, one of the most dominant teams of all time. Baseball fans witnessed one of sport's most spectacular comebacks, and Boston's National League team earned a new designation: "The Miracle Braves." Baseball's Greatest Comeback: The Miracle Braves of 1914 follows the Boston Braves through this rollercoaster year, from their miserable start to their inspiring finish. A collection of likeable, determined, and highly unconventional ballplayers, the Braves endeared themselves to fans who rooted enthusiastically for the team. Sitting in last place midway through the season, the youthful group of castoffs and misfits, many of whom had been rejected by other major league teams, followed the lead of Walter "Rabbit" Maranville, Johnny "The Crab" Evers, and George "Big Daddy" Stallings to turn things around. The Braves battled their way up the standings, finishing the second half of the season with a miraculous 52 and 14 record. They went on to defeat John McGraw's powerful New York Giants for the pennant and found themselves face-to-face with the talented Philadelphia Athletics in the World Series. On the 100th anniversary of this memorable season, the 1914 Boston Braves are still remembered as one of the greatest comeback teams in baseball history. Full of timeless images and memorable characters-including a fanatically superstitious manager, a cheerfully madcap star, and an obsessively driven, yet highly sensitive captain-this book will inform and entertain baseball fans and sports historians alike.
In 1895, Franklin County Public Hospital (FCPH) was founded by 36 citizens led by Dr. Adams Calhoun Deane. The newly incorporated hospital rented the former home of Rev. Dr. Francis Robbins and served 55 patients in its first year of operation. By 1898, FCPH moved to the larger Converse House and then to purpose-built facilities at 164 High Street in 1910. The hospital trained nurses, including Susie Walking Bear Yellowtail, class of 1927, the first Native American graduate in the United States. In 1968, FCPH opened the architecturally unique "Spokes" wards. Throughout its history, the Board of Organized Work (now the Baystate Franklin Auxiliary) has supported the hospital with fundraising activities. FCPH became Baystate Franklin Medical Center (BFMC) after joining with Baystate Medical Center in Springfield, Massachusetts, to form Baystate Health in 1986. This book celebrates 120 years of service to Franklin County.
Baystate Medical Center was established in 1976 with the merger of the Medical Center of Western Massachusetts and Wesson Memorial Hospital. Baystate s roots extend to 1870, when Springfield City Hospital was one of just 178 acute-care hospitals in the United States. It was renamed Springfield Hospital in 1883 and moved to its current location at 759 Chestnut Street in 1889. The Hampden Homeopathic Hospital was founded in 1900, followed by the Wesson Maternity Hospital eight years later. All three hospitals have a long tradition of training physicians and nurses, and today, Baystate is the Western Campus of Tufts University School of Medicine. Many patient-care innovations have emerged, including one of the country s first chronic-care wards, the first kidney transplant, and fast-track cardiac surgery. Today, Baystate Medical Center is the flagship hospital of Baystate Health, whose 10,000 employees carry out the mission to improve the health of the people in our communities every day, with quality and compassion. "
Berkley, Freetown, and Lakeville began as rural farming communities. Many current residents have lived in the area their entire lives, as did their ancestors for generations before them. There is a deep sense of ownership in the land and a deep interest in its history. Through vintage photographs, Berkley, Freetown, and Lakeville
chronicles the history of this area until the mid-1960s, a time when the character of the towns changed due to increasing populations and industries. Historic images showcase the pride residents took in their families, work, and leisure-time activities. The majority of photographs were provided by the Berkley Historical Society, Freetown Historical Society, and Lakeville Historical Society. Additional images were generously provided by area residents.
Evidence of bygone industrial prowess is scattered across Berkshire County in the far west of Massachusetts. Better known now for its four-season tourist attractions like beautiful scenery, cultural venues, and outdoor sports, the region was once home to an industrial base that helped a growing nation meet its needs in textiles, paper, glass, iron, and a variety of other products. The relics--imposing brick buildings just off the main roads--tell a story of enterprising young men and women harnessing the power of the area's rushing streams to make products and profits. They were inventors and adopters of technology, and they gave back to their communities. Recurring waves of immigrants flowed into the county to take their places at the machinery and try to make a living for their families.
The Beverly Yacht Club, one of the oldest yacht clubs in America, was founded in 1872 by young men who summered in Beverly. They were upset that the newly formed Eastern Yacht Club in Marblehead refused to recognize yachts under 30 feet in length on the waterline for the races that they held. Thus, Edward and Walter Burgess (the famous yacht designer), at a supper party at their home in Boston on February 24, 1872, formally launched the Beverly Yacht Club. The first regatta was held by the club on June 22, 1872, in which 11 boats, 10 catboats, and a sloop started in three classes. For the first 23 years, the Beverly Yacht Club had no fixed abode; they held races and regattas at ports most convenient to the members. By the mid-1880s, regattas were held in Monument Beach and Marblehead, but as the Buzzards Bay membership increased, the Beverly Yacht Club leased its first clubhouse on Wing s Neck in 1895. In 1913, the club moved to Marion, where it has been located ever since."