U.s. History - Antebellum Period 1840-1860
Man’s Better Angels: Romantic Reformers and the Coming of the Civil War
Man’s Better Angels
Romantic Reformers and the Coming of the Civil War
Hardcover      ISBN: 0674659546
Banks failed, inequality grew, people were out of work, and slavery threatened to rend the nation in two. The Panic of 1837 drew forth reformers who, animated by self-reliance, became prophets of a new moral order that would make America great again. Philip Gura captures a Romantic moment that was soon overtaken by civil war and postwar pragmatism.
Millard Fillmore
Millard Fillmore
Hardcover      ISBN: 080508715x
A portrait of the 13th President traces his rise from virtual obscurity after the sudden death of Zachary Taylor, evaluating his roles in promoting Southern agendas, dividing the Whig party and setting the groundwork for the American Civil War. By the author of Slavery and the Founders. 25,000 first printing.
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave: Written by Himself
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave
Written by Himself
Paperback      ISBN: 0674034015
No book more vividly explains the horror of American slavery and the emotional impetus behind the antislavery movement than Frederick Douglass’s Narrative. In an introductory essay, Robert Stepto re-examines the extraordinary life and achievement of a man who escaped from slavery to become a leading abolitionist and one of our most important writers. The John Harvard Library text reproduces the first edition, published in Boston in 1845.
The Politics of Black Citizenship: Free African Americans in the Mid-Atlantic Borderland, 1817-1863
The Politics of Black Citizenship
Free African Americans in the Mid-Atlantic Borderland, 1817-1863
Hardcover      ISBN: 0820349372
Considering Baltimore and Philadelphia as part of the Mid-Atlantic borderland, Diemershows that the antebellum effort to secure the rights of American citizenship was central to black politics as it exploited the ambiguities of citizenship and negotiated the complex national, state, and local politics in which that concept was determined.
Polk: The Man Who Transformed the Presidency and America
Polk
The Man Who Transformed the Presidency and America
Paperback      ISBN: 0812976746
In Polk, Walter R. Borneman gives us the first complete and authoritative biography of a president often overshadowed in image but seldom outdone in accomplishment. James K. Polk occupied the White House for only four years, from 1845 to 1849, but he plotted and attained a formidable agenda: He fought for and won tariff reductions, reestablished an independent Treasury, and, most notably, brought Texas into the Union, bluffed Great Britain out of the lion’s share of Oregon, and wrested California and much of the Southwest from Mexico. On reflection, these successes seem even more impressive, given the contentious political environment of the time. In this unprecedented, long-overdue warts-and-all look at Polk’s life and career, we have a portrait of an expansionist president and decisive statesman who redefined the country he led, and we are reminded anew of the true meaning of presidential accomplishment and resolve.
Race Horse Men: How Slavery and Freedom Were Made at the Racetrack
Race Horse Men
How Slavery and Freedom Were Made at the Racetrack
Hardcover      ISBN: 067428142x
Race Horse Men recaptures the vivid sights, sensations, and illusions of nineteenth-century thoroughbred racing, America's first mass spectator sport. Inviting readers into the pageantry of the racetrack, Katherine C. Mooney conveys the sport's inherent drama while also revealing the significant intersections between horse racing and another quintessential institution of the antebellum South: slavery. A popular pastime across American society, horse racing was most closely identified with an elite class of southern owners who bred horses and bet large sums of money on these spirited animals. The central characters in this story are not privileged whites, however, but the black jockeys, grooms, and horse trainers who sometimes called themselves race horse men and who made the racetrack run. Mooney describes a world of patriarchal privilege and social prestige where blacks as well as whites could achieve status and recognition and where favored slaves endured an unusual form of bondage. For wealthy white men, the racetrack illustrated their cherished visions of a harmonious, modern society based on human slavery. After emancipation, a number of black horsemen went on to become sports celebrities, their success a potential threat to white supremacy and a source of pride for African Americans. The rise of Jim Crow in the early twentieth century drove many horsemen from their jobs, with devastating consequences for them and their families. Mooney illuminates the role these too-often-forgotten men played in Americans' continuing struggle to define the meaning of freedom.
The Road to Secession in Antebellum Georgetown and Horry Districts
The Road to Secession in Antebellum Georgetown and Horry Districts
Paperback      ISBN: 1467138983
The road to secession in antebellum Georgetown and Horry Districts was long. Through the use of newspapers and public lectures, local leaders unified their communities against the Second Great Awakening reforms, industrialization, corporate model banks and abolition. The leading statesmen cast a bond of allegiance with the yeoman farmers of the pine forests against slave emancipation and changing economic models to forge Southern Nationalism. Planters and farmers joined forces in the struggle to maintain their agricultural traditions and their sense of identity in a rapidly changing world. Plantation historian Christopher C. Boyle explores the beginning of a critical era in Horry and Georgetown.
The Scorpion's Sting: Antislavery and the Coming of the Civil War
The Scorpion's Sting
Antislavery and the Coming of the Civil War
Paperback      ISBN: 0393351211
Explores the Civil War and the anti-slavery movement, specifically highlighting the plan to help abolish slavery by surrounding the slave states with territories of freedom and discusses the possibility of what could've been a more peaceful alternative to the war. 17,000 first printing.
Southern Womanhood and Slavery: A Biography of Louisa S. Mccord, 1810-1879
Southern Womanhood and Slavery
A Biography of Louisa S. Mccord, 1810-1879
Paperback      ISBN: 0826221718
Southern Womanhood and Slavery is the first full-length biography of Louisa S. McCord, one of the most intriguing intellectuals in antebellum America. The daughter of South Carolina planter and politician Langdon Cheves, and an essayist in her own right, McCord supported unregulated free trade and the perpetuation of slavery and opposed the advancement of women’s rights. This study examines the origins of her ideas. Leigh Fought constructs an exciting narrative that follows McCord from her childhood as the daughter of a state representative and president of the Bank of the United States through her efforts to accept her position as wife and mother, her career as an author and plantation mistress, and the Union invasion of South Carolina during the Civil War, to the end of her life in the emerging New South. Fought analyzes McCord’s poetry, letters, and essays in an effort to comprehend her acceptance of slavery and the submission of women. Fought concludes that McCord came to a defense of slavery through her experience with free labor in the North, which also reinforced her faith in the paternalist model for preserving social order. McCord’s life as a writer on “unfeminine” subjects, her reputation as strong-minded and masculine, her late marriage, her continued ownership of her plantation after marriage, and her position as the matron of a Civil War hospital contradicted her own philosophy that women should remain the quiet force behind their husbands. She lived during a time of social flux in which free labor, slavery, and the role of women underwent dramatic changes, as well as a time that enabled her to discover and pursue her intellectual ambitions. Fought examines the conflict that resulted when those ambitions clashed with McCord’s role as a woman in the society of the South. McCord’s voice was an interesting, articulate, and necessary feminine addition to antebellum white ideology. Moreover, her story demonstrates the ways in which southern women negotiated through patriarchy without surrendering their sense of self or disrupting the social order. Engaging and very readable, Southern Womanhood and Slavery will be of special interest to students of southern history and women’s studies, as well as to the general reader.
Spying on the South: An Odyssey Across the American Divide
Spying on the South
An Odyssey Across the American Divide
Compact Disc      ISBN: 1984888641
A New York Times bestseller The best-selling author of Confederates in the Attic returns to the South and the Civil War era for an epic adventure on the trail of America's greatest landscape architect. In the 1850s, the young Frederick Law Olmsted was adrift, a restless farmer and dreamer in search of a mission. He found it during an extraordinary journey, as an undercover correspondent in the South for the up-and-coming New York Times. For the Connecticut Yankee, pen name "Yeoman," the South was alien, often hostile territory. Yet Olmsted traveled for 14 months, by horseback, steamboat, and stagecoach, seeking dialogue and common ground. His vivid dispatches about the lives and beliefs of Southerners were revelatory for readers of his day, and Yeoman's remarkable trek also reshaped the American landscape, as Olmsted sought to reform his own society by creating democratic spaces for the uplift of all. The result: Central Park and Olmsted's career as America's first and foremost landscape architect. Tony Horwitz rediscovers Yeoman Olmsted amidst the discord and polarization of our own time. Is America still one country? In search of answers, and his own adventures, Horwitz follows Olmsted's tracks and often his mode of transport (including muleback): through Appalachia, down the Mississippi River, into bayou Louisiana, and across Texas to the contested Mexican borderland. Venturing far off beaten paths, Horwitz uncovers bracing vestiges and strange new mutations of the Cotton Kingdom. Horwitz's intrepid and often hilarious journey through an outsized American landscape is a masterpiece in the tradition of Great Plains, Bad Land, and the author's own classic, Confederates in the Attic.