Teen's Fiction / Mystery & Detective
Akata Witch
Akata Witch
Paperback      ISBN: 0142420913
"Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things." -- Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods

Affectionately dubbed "the Nigerian Harry Potter," Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone

Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing--she is a "free agent" with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.
Soon she's part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she's finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called "stunning" by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more

Raves for Nnedi Okorafor's writing:

"There's more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafor's work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics." --Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea

"The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read " --Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak

"I always loved science fiction, but I didn't feel I was part of it--until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor." --Whoopi Goldberg

"Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full of color, life, and death. Nnedi Okorafor's work is wonderful " --Diana Wynne Jones, award-winning author of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

"Jam-packed with mythological wonders." --Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

"Okorafor's imagination is stunning." --The New York Times Book Review

Skink--No Surrender
Skink--No Surrender
Paperback      ISBN: 0307930599
Carl Hiaasen serves up his unique brand of swamp justice in the New York Times bestseller Skink--No Surrender.

A National Book Award Longlist Selection

When your cousin goes missing under suspicious circumstances, who do you call? There's only one man for the job: a half-crazed, half-feral, one-eyed ex-governor named Skink. Skink joins 14-year-old Richard on a breakneck chase across Florida, undaunted by lightning storms, poisonous snakes, flying bullets, and giant gators. There are a million places cousin Malley could be, a million unpleasant fates that might have befallen her, but one thing is certain: in the Florida swamp, justice is best served wild.

SUNSHINE STATE AWARD FINALIST
The Lie Tree
The Lie Tree
Paperback      ISBN: 1419726412

Faith Sunderly leads a double life. To most people, she is reliable, dull, trustworthy--a proper young lady who knows her place as inferior to men--but inside, Faith is full of questions and curiosity, and she cannot resist a mystery: an unattended envelope, an unlocked door. She also knows secrets no one suspects her of knowing. For one, she knows that her family moved to the close-knit island of Vane because her famous scientist father was fleeing a reputation-destroying scandal. And when her father is discovered dead shortly thereafter, she knows that he was murdered.

In pursuit of justice and revenge, Faith hunts through her father's possessions and discovers a strange tree. The tree bears fruit only when she whispers a lie to it, and when that fruit is eaten, it delivers a hidden truth. But while the tree might hold the key to her father's murder, it could also lure his murderer directly to Faith.

Seeing and Believing
Seeing and Believing
Paperback      ISBN: 1467726176

Vin swears he had nothing to do with the robbery--or the two people who were shot. But Sal saw Vin running from the scene. Even after Vin is arrested, Mike isn't sure who to believe. He's caught between his two friends--and believing one might mean losing the other . . .

In the Hall with the Knife: A Clue Mystery, Book One
In the Hall with the Knife
A Clue Mystery, Book One
Hardcover      ISBN: 1419738348
A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling YA trilogy based on the board game CLUE

When a storm strikes at Blackbrook Academy, an elite prep school nestled in the woods of Maine, a motley crew of students--including Beth "Peacock" Picach, Orchid McKee, Vaughn Green, Sam "Mustard" Maestor, Finn Plum, and Scarlet Mistry--are left stranded on campus with their headmaster. Hours later, his body is found in the conservatory and it's very clear his death was no accident. With this group of students who are all hiding something, nothing is as it seems, and everyone has a motive for murder. Fans of the CLUE board game and cult classic film will delight in Diana Peterfreund's modern reimagining of the brand, its characters, and the dark, magnificent old mansion with secrets hidden within its walls.
Skink No Surrender
Skink No Surrender
Hardcover      ISBN: 0375870512
Carl Hiaasen serves up his unique brand of swamp justice in the New York Times bestseller Skink--No Surrender.

A National Book Award Longlist Selection

When your cousin goes missing under suspicious circumstances, who do you call? There's only one man for the job: a half-crazed, half-feral, one-eyed ex-governor named Skink. Skink joins 14-year-old Richard on a breakneck chase across Florida, undaunted by lightning storms, poisonous snakes, flying bullets, and giant gators. There are a million places cousin Malley could be, a million unpleasant fates that might have befallen her, but one thing is certain: in the Florida swamp, justice is best served wild.

SUNSHINE STATE AWARD FINALIST
Occultic;nine (Light Novel) Vol. 1
Occultic;nine (Light Novel) Vol. 1
Paperback      ISBN: 162692659x

An all-new supernatural light novel series that inspired a hit anime

What happens when eight eccentrics cross paths on a paranormal blog run by a high school NEET? A whole lot of weird Gamon Yuta runs an occult-related site he hopes will one day make him rich. But before his dreams can come true, strange things occur when the lives of these nine oddballs collide. Can they solve a case that transcends reality and could alter the very fabric of our world?
Dead and Gone
Dead and Gone
Paperback      ISBN: 146772615x

A shallow grave. Human remains. An unsolved murder from years ago. It looks like the past is coming back to wreak havoc on Mike's new life. What's making the usually unshakeable Riel so rattled, and what does a beautiful but manipulative girl have to do with it all?

The Tenth Girl
The Tenth Girl
Hardcover      ISBN: 1250304504

A haunted Argentinian mansion.
A family curse.
A twist you'll never see coming.
Welcome to Vaccaro School.

Simmering in Patagonian myth, The Tenth Girl is a gothic psychological thriller with a haunting twist.

At the very southern tip of South America looms an isolated finishing school. Legend has it that the land will curse those who settle there. But for Mavi--a bold Buenos Aires native fleeing the military regime that took her mother--it offers an escape to a new life as a young teacher to Argentina's elite girls.

Mavi tries to embrace the strangeness of the imposing house--despite warnings not to roam at night, threats from an enigmatic young man, and rumors of mysterious Others. But one of Mavi's ten students is missing, and when students and teachers alike begin to behave as if possessed, the forces haunting this unholy cliff will no longer be ignored... and one of these spirits holds a secret that could unravel Mavi's existence.

An Imprint Book

Layered and challenging, and full to bursting with intelligence, while at the same time exuberantly bizarre, like it's having the best time on its own and daring you to join in.
--Rory Power, New York Times-bestselling author of Wilder Girls

This book envelopes the reader with sweeping beauty and tingling mystery from the very first page.
--Nova Ren Suma, New York Times-bestselling author of The Walls Around Us
Little White Lies
Little White Lies
Hardcover      ISBN: 1368014135
"I'm not saying this is Sawyer's fault," the prim and proper one said delicately. "But."
Eighteen-year-old auto mechanic Sawyer Taft did not expect her estranged grandmother to show up at her apartment door and offer her a six-figure contract to participate in debutante season. And she definitely never imagined she would accept. But when she realizes that immersing herself in her grandmother's "society" might mean discovering the answer to the biggest mystery of her life-her father's identity-she signs on the dotted line and braces herself for a year of makeovers, big dresses, bigger egos, and a whole lot of bless your heart. The one thing she doesn't expect to find is friendship, but as she's drawn into a group of debutantes with scandalous, dangerous secrets of their own, Sawyer quickly discovers that her family isn't the only mainstay of high society with skeletons in their closet. There are people in her grandmother's glittering world who are not what they appear, and no one wants Sawyer poking her nose into the past. As she navigates the twisted relationships between her new friends and their powerful parents, Sawyer's search for the truth about her own origins is just the beginning.
Set in the world of debutante balls, grand estates and rolling green hills, Little White Lies combines a charming setting, a classic fish-out-of-water story, and the sort of layered mystery only author Jennifer Lynn Barnes can pull off.