Special Subjects in Art
Atlantis: Lost Lands, Ancient Wisdom
Atlantis
Lost Lands, Ancient Wisdom
Paperback      ISBN: 0500810516

The mythical lost island of Atlantis has preoccupied thinkers from Plato to Rudolf Steiner (and a fair number of eccentrics as well) for more than two thousand years.

Books of the Dead: Manuals for Living and Dying
Books of the Dead
Manuals for Living and Dying
Paperback      ISBN: 0500810583

Shamans and mystics seeking to enter the afterlife by "dying before dying" have inspired Books of the Dead across continents and millennia, from Egypt and Tibet to Europe and the Americas. Stanislav Grof suggests that these depictions, ritual manuals, and mythic maps for the afterlife are bound by common threads and that modern consciousness research may bring us closer than ever to the realms beyond life.

Art and Spiritual Transformation: The Seven Stages of Death and Rebirth
Art and Spiritual Transformation
The Seven Stages of Death and Rebirth
Paperback      ISBN: 1594772819

The primal role of art in awakening and liberating the soul of humanity

- Presents a seven-stage journey of transformation moving from the darkened soul to the light of spiritual illumination

- Provides a meditation practice to experience the spiritual energy embedded within art

- Includes artists Alex Grey, Jackson Pollock, Mark Rothko, Walter Gaudnek, and others

Art and Spiritual Transformation presents a seven-stage journey from the darkened soul to the light of spiritual illumination that is possible through the world of art. Finley Eversole introduces a meditation practice that moves beyond the visual content of an art form in order to connect with its embedded spiritual energy, allowing the viewer to tap in to the deeper consciousness inherent in the artwork and awaken dormant powers in the depths of the viewer's soul.

Examining modern and postmodern artwork from 1945 onward, Eversole reveals the influences of ancient Egypt, India, China, and alchemy on this art. He draws extensively on philosophy, myth and symbolism, literature, and metaphysics to explain the seven stages of spiritual death and rebirth of the soul possible through art: the experience of self-loss, the journey into the underworld, the experience of the dark night of the soul, the conflict with and triumph over evil, the awakening of new life in the depths of being, and the return and reintegration of consciousness on a higher plane of being, resulting finally in ecstasy, transfiguration, illumination, and liberation. To illustrate these stages, Eversole includes works by abstract expressionists Jackson Pollock, Willem de Kooning, and Mark Rothko and modern visionary artists Alex Grey and Ernst Fuchs, among others, to reveal the powerful and liberating forces art contributes to the transformation and evolution of human consciousness.
Como Te Llamas: Everyday Llamas You Might Know (Funny Llamas Book, Illustrated Animal Book)
Como Te Llamas
Everyday Llamas You Might Know (Funny Llamas Book, Illustrated Animal Book)
Hardcover      ISBN: 1452177775
Some mornings are Claire mornings. Allyn, we know just how you feel...
A funny book of llama illustrations by artist Kristin Llamas (her real name) with personality-rich portraits of named llamas, penned in a realistic and humorous black-and-white style.

Amusing, endearingly modern quips and names lend personality to each llama drawing.

- Finely detailed black and white illustrations of llamas
- An adorable collection of super-relatable llama portraits
- A sweet gift book that allows you to find a llama with your name

Fans of Llamanoes, Have a Little Pun, and Llive, Llaugh, Llove Llike a Llama will love this book.

- Llama fans
- Animal lovers
- Anyone who appreciates modern humor
A History of Pictures: From the Cave to the Computer Screen
A History of Pictures
From the Cave to the Computer Screen
1st Edition    Hardcover      ISBN: 1419722751

A picture, says David Hockney, is the only way that we can communicate what we see. Here, in a collaboration with art critic Martin Gayford, he explores the many ways that artists have pictured the world, sharing sparkling insights and ideas that will delight every art lover and art maker. Readers who thrilled to Hockney's Secret Knowledge know that he has an uncanny ability to get into the minds of artists. In A History of Pictures he covers far more ground, getting at the roots of visual expression and technique through hundreds of images--from cave paintings to frames from movies--that are reproduced. It's a joyful celebration of one of humanity's oldest impulses.

Dance: American Art, 1830-1960
Dance
American Art, 1830-1960
Hardcover      ISBN: 0300211619
A landmark examination of the art and artists inspired by American dance from 1830 to 1960

As an enduring wellspring of creativity for many artists throughout history, dance has provided a visual language to express such themes as the bonds of community, the allure of the exotic, and the pleasures of the body. This book is the first major investigation of the visual arts related to American dance, offering an unprecedented, interdisciplinary overview of dance-inspired works from 1830 to 1960.

Fourteen essays by renowned historians of art and dance analyze the ways dance influenced many of America's most prominent artists, including George Caleb Bingham, William Sidney Mount, Winslow Homer, John Singer Sargent, Cecilia Beaux, Isamu Noguchi, Aaron Douglas, Malvina Hoffman, Edward Steichen, Arthur Davies, William Johnson, and Joseph Cornell. The artists did not merely represent dance, they were inspired to think about how Americans move, present themselves to one another, and experience time. Their artwork, in turn, affords insights into the cultural, social, and political moments in which it was created. For some artists, dance informed even the way they applied paint to canvas, carved a sculpture, or framed a photograph. Richly illustrated, the book includes depictions of Irish-American jigs, African-American cakewalkers, and Spanish-American fandangos, among others, and demonstrates how dance offers a means for communicating through an aesthetic, static form.
The Splendor of Birds: Art and Photographs from National Geographic
The Splendor of Birds
Art and Photographs from National Geographic
Hardcover      ISBN: 1426219679
An elegant collection of the best artwork and photography from the National Geographic archives depicting the magnificence of birds.

Bird, nature, and art lovers alike will treasure this sumptuous visual celebration of the colors, forms, and behaviors of the winged wonders who share our world as they have been explored, displayed, and revealed throughout the years by National Geographic. The book moves chronologically so readers witness the tremendous growth in our knowledge of birds over the last 130 years, as well as the new frontiers in technology and observation--from luminous vintage paintings and classic black and white photographs to state-of-the art high-speed and telephoto camera shots that reveal moments rarely seen and sights invisible to the human eye. The wide diversity of pictures captures beloved songbirds outside the kitchen window, theatrical courtship dance of birds of paradise, tender moments inside a tern's nest, or the vivid flash of a hummingbird's flight. Readers will delight in seeing iconic species from around the world through the eyes of acclaimed National Geographic wildlife photographers such as Chris Johns, Frans Lanting, Joel Sartore, and Tim Laman and reading excerpted passages from Arthur A. Allen, Roger Tory Peterson, Douglas Chadwick, Jane Goodall, and other great explorers. Exquisitely produced and expertly curated, this visual treasury displays as never before the irresistible beauty, grace, and intelligence of our feathered friends.
The Goblins of Labyrinth
The Goblins of Labyrinth
Hardcover      ISBN: 0810970554

In 1986, the movie Labyrinth introduced the world to a set of unforgettable goblins from the minds of Brian Freud and Jim Henson. This book chronicles each of the creatures in detail, with all the artistry and originality for which Froud and Henson are known.

The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning
The Art of Cruelty
A Reckoning
Paperback      ISBN: 0393343146

Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

True Perception: The Path of Dharma Art
True Perception
The Path of Dharma Art
Paperback      ISBN: 1590305884

Genuine art has the power to awaken and liberate. The renowned meditation master and artist Ch gyam Trungpa called this type of art "dharma art"--any creative work that springs from an awakened state of mind, characterized by directness, unselfconsciousness, and nonaggression. Dharma art provides a vehicle to appreciate the nature of things as they are and express it without any struggle or desire to achieve. A work of dharma art brings out the goodness and dignity of the situation it reflects--dignity that comes from the artist's interest in the details of life and sense of appreciation for experience. Trungpa shows how the principles of dharma art extend to everyday life: any activity can provide an opportunity to relax and open our senses to the phenomenal world.

An expanded edition of Trungpa's Dharma Art (1996), this book includes a new introduction and essay.